Selected Books
The Field Guide to Fundraising for Nonprofits by
With this book in hand, nonprofits can increase their fundraising potential--and their overall impact--by learning how to ramp up nearly every aspect of their fundraising programs in new and creative ways. Today's competitive and ever-shifting environment demands that nonprofits adopt a new approach to raising money. This book will show them how, in part by changing the way those charged with fundraising think about this all-important task. The book will help nongovernmental organizations plan better, write more powerful grants, craft more compelling appeals and other communications, engage board members and donors--and brag about all the great work they're doing in just the right way. It offers readers a fresh perspective on fundraising, as well as clear, practical strategies to build essential connections using varied tactics, including social media. Equally helpful is an eye-opening discussion about beliefs and attitudes that can stand in the way of fundraising success. Unlike books that focus on a single strategy such as grant writing, board development, or major gifts appeals, this volume is unique in that it details fundraising strategies that generate the highest return on investment. In doing so, the author provides a theoretical framework, creative ideas for taking best practices to the next level, and specific tools that can be applied to reach fundraising goals. By adopting the new framework, enhancing skills, and taking a fresh look at their task, nonprofits can raise the money they need to make a significant difference, regardless of their mission or cause. Adopts a comprehensive approach to nonprofit fundraising for board members, executives, and those specifically charged with raising money Explores nonprofits' attitudes and limiting beliefs Examines best practices related to fundraising, then takes those practices to the next level through creativity and innovation Provides concrete ways to leverage boards, strategic planning, and communications to improve fundraising outcomes Shares case studies, worksheets, samples, and tools to help nonprofits move from knowing to doing
Publication Date: 2017
The Forgotten Foundations of Fundraising by
An entertaining, informative, and eminently useful guide that draws on psychology, data, and real-world experience to explain what really drives successful fundraising. In The Forgotten Foundations of Fundraising, Jeremy Beer and Jeff Cain, cofounders of American Philanthropic, a leading consulting firm for nonprofit organizations, offer practical lessons and unconventional wisdom for both nonprofit leaders and novices in the art and science of raising money. Drawing upon a wealth of experience, deploying an army of anecdotes, and using eye-opening American Philanthropic survey data, the authors provide a brisk, irreverent, and supremely useful introduction to fundraising for charities and nonprofits. The book explains the hows and whys of a variety of fundraising techniques, from direct mail to planned giving programs. It explores the benefits and pitfalls of prospect research, the keys to donor retention, and the essential elements of a healthy nonprofit culture. It gives insightful advice on making personal meetings count, soliciting foundations, and training young fundraisers. And it does so with sprightly prose and sharp observations. You'll never read another fundraising book quite like this one. Expertly deflating the pretensions of those who would make fundraising a bureaucratic and esoteric profession, Beer and Cain elucidate the practical knowledge and relationship skills that still matter more than anything else. They make an impassioned plea for the importance of civil society to American democracy and build a compelling case for fundraising as an honorable component of a healthy civic culture. Philanthropy is not about bottom lines and return on investment--successful fundraisers provide a platform for donors to affirm their ideals, values, and morals. Fundraising is serious, but learning about it needn't be a chore. The Forgotten Foundations of Fundraising is at once eminently practical and absolutely delightful.
Publication Date: 2019
The Complete Guide to Fundraising Management by
The real-world guide to successfully funding your nonprofit program The Complete Guide to Fundraising Management is the comprehensive handbook for successful fundraising, with a practical focus that applies across the nonprofit sector. With a focus on planning, self-assessment, continual improvement, and high-payoff strategies, this book provides more than just ideas--it shows you the concrete, real-world actions that make it all happen, and gives you the tools you need to bring these concepts to life. This new fourth edition features the latest information about social media campaigning, internet fundraising, crowdfunding, and more. Timelines, checklists, and forms help you streamline management tasks to focus on effective development, and updated sample reports and budget information help you begin implementing these approaches quickly. The nonprofit world is becoming increasingly competitive in terms of funding, and fundraisers are being asked to perform miracles more than ever before. This book offers a time-tested framework for fundraising success, with step-by-step guidance through the entire process from prospect to program. Understand and apply the major principles and best practices of fundraising Manage information, resources, development, and volunteers Adopt new approaches to relationship-building and prospect identification Write grants and fundraising materials that make a rock-solid case for support There is never enough funding to go around. To survive and thrive, nonprofits must revitalize interest and generate more support. Gone are the days of door-knocking and bake sales; strategy is critical, and execution must be top-notch. The Complete Guide to Fundraising Management shows you the real-world strategies that get your programs funded.
Publication Date: 2017
Philanthropy, Innovation and Entrepreneurship An Introduction by Publication Date: 2020
Related Guides
Grant Makers
- Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window Foundation Directory Online, part of Candid, provides information on grantmakers and their grants. It covers U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, plus a growing number of non-U.S. grantmakers. Features include a database of recently awarded grants and a keyword-searchable database of recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
- NEA (National Endowment for the Arts): Grants The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) is the only arts funder in the United States—public or private—that provides access to the arts in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. jurisdictions. Each year, we award thousands of grants to provide everyone in the United States with diverse opportunities for arts participation.
- GIA (Grantmakers in the Arts) Grantmakers in the Arts is a national association of public and private arts funders - providing members with resources and leadership to support artists and arts organizations.
- CECP (Chief Executives for Corporate Purpose) Chief Executives for Corporate Purpose® (CECP) is a trusted advisor to companies on their corporate purpose journeys to build long-term sustainable value and tell their impact stories.
- AGM (Associated Grant Makers) Founded in 1969, Associated Grant Makers, Inc. is the only regional association of grant makers, both foundations and corporations with giving programs, serving in, or making grants in Massachusetts and surrounding areas. AGM connects new and established donors, their trustees and staff to each other, to their communities and to emerging and relevant issues in the field. AGM serves as a bridge between funders and fund applicants for better understanding, efficiency and impact.
- BU Arts Initiative: Grants To encourage the continued development of an intellectual community around the arts and arts practice at BU and enhance our student-life experience, the BU Arts Initiative offers research grants for graduate and undergraduate research, as well as grants to faculty, students, and staff for projects that directly engage students in the arts.
- Kickstarter Kickstarter campaigns make ideas into reality. It’s where creators share new visions for creative work with the communities that will come together to fund them.
- IMLS (Institute of Museum & Library Services) The mission of IMLS is to advance, support, and empower America’s museums, libraries, and related organizations through grantmaking, research, and policy development.
Additional Information Sources
- Chronicle of Philanthropy A news source, in print and online, for charity leaders, fund raisers, grant makers, and other people involved in the philanthropic enterprise.
- Boston University Research Support: Find Funding Funding comes from a variety of sources, including government agencies, foundations, and corporations. Chasing opportunities can lead to questions and paperwork. We’ve simplified and streamlined the process so you can focus more on the work and less on the hunt.
Donor Research
- SOI (Statistics of Income Bulletin (IRS)) - Summer of 1981 to present Statistics based on federal estate tax returns.
- GuideStar: The National Database of Nonprofit Organizations This link opens in a new window Guidestar, part of Candid, provides information on the missions, finances, programs, and management of nonprofit organizations, including foundations, public charities, and others. Search by name, keyword, city or state, nonprofit type (public charity, private operating foundation, or private nonoperating foundation), or income range.
- GuideStar Nonprofit Compensation Report This link opens in a new window The GuideStar Nonprofit Compensation Report reviews key employee’s compensation practices at charitable nonprofit organizations. PDF available only on public terminal in Pardee Library. See Reference staff for assistance.
Statistics & Data
- NCCS (National Center for Charitable Statistics), Urban Institute National clearinghouse of data on the nonprofit sector in the U.S.
- Getting Started with NCCS Data This project contains guides, walkthroughs, and code for users to get started using NCCS Data.
- NADAC (National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture) Hosted by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), part of the University of Michigan's Institute for Social Research. NADAC is funded by the National Endowment for the Arts.
Professional Organization
- AFP (Association of Fundraising Professionals) Publishes Advancing Philanthropy, free to members.
