Image & Digital Collections
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- ArchNet This link opens in a new window Archnet is an open access digital library of the art, architecture, urban design, and built environment of the Muslim world. Resources include donated photo collections, international journals, monographs and architect’s archives that are linked to sites, people, publications and other related materials.
- Neanderthal Museum Digital Archive ne & On Site The Neanderthal Museum takes care of various collections of Ice Age tools, faunal remains, cave art and casts of human fossils on its premises. In the spirit of digitisation, our museum has made those collections available online in our Digital Archive since February 2022.
- Photo Archives at the Oriental Institute, University of Chicago The Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago is among the leaders in the recovery of the history, languages, and cultures of the ancient Near East. In the halcyon days of the 1930s, when universities and museums conducted expeditions on a scale now unheard of, Oriental Institute teams worked in nearly every country of the Near East. An integral part of each excavation was the expedition photographer, who was entrusted with capturing not only the routine of each day’s work but also the moments of discovery and exploration. These images recount some of these memorable moments, as the Oriental Institute sifted the sands of time.
- Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser - Perseus Digital Library Browse images of buildings, coins, gems, sculptures, sites, and vases in the Greco-Roman world.
- Australian Archaeology (Australian Museum) The Australian Museum holds a large number of items obtained from Aboriginal archaeological sites in New South Wales, as well as items from various regions throughout Australia.
- Pre-Columbian Photograph and Fieldwork Archives (Dumbarton Oaks) The Pre-Columbian Photograph and Fieldwork Archives comprise images of Pre-Columbian objects, archaeological sites, architecture, monuments, maps, major codices, and illustrations. The holdings document places and objects from Mesoamerica, the Intermediate Area, and the Andes, and cover around two thousand years of history.
- MayaVase The photographs in Mayavase.com were created with few exceptions by Justin Kerr over a period of thirty years. The vessels and objects depicted are in museums and collections across the United States, Europe, Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, and Belize. Many of the photographs have been published in books and papers by scholars so that information about them is readily available.
- Precolumbian Portfolio Archive of photographs of archaeological site locations, cultures. and materials.
- Moche Iconography An essential step in the study of Moche iconography has involved the rendering of the imagery wrapped around vessels into two-dimensional images or “rollout” drawings. Between 1968 and the early 2000s, Christopher B. Donnan photographed vessels with fineline painting from over two hundred museums and collections. While slowly rotating the vessel, Donnan photographed the entire surface from a set focal point. Donna McClelland then worked from the photographs to create rollout
- American Museum of Natural History Collections database Over 250,000 ethnographic and archaeological objects representing the peoples of the Americas, Africa, Asia, Europe and the Pacific Islands have been digitally imaged and are accessible online.
- Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History Collections The collections of the Department of Anthropology are a vast and unparalleled resource for inquiry into the cultures, arts, and technologies of the world's peoples, from deep in prehistory to the present day.
- Penn Museum Online Collections Welcome to the Penn Museum online collections—here you can explore collections information, images, archival films, and more.
- Kelsey Museum of Archaeology digital collection The Kelsey Museum of Archaeology digital collection represents the art and archaeological artifacts of the ancient Mediterranean world and its supporting archival collection, held at the Kelsey Museum at the University of Michigan
- Arachne - iDAI.objects (all projects) iDAI.objects arachne (short form: Arachne) is the central object database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne.
- Online Coins of the Roman Empire (OCRE) Online Coins of the Roman Empire (OCRE), a joint project of the American Numismatic Society and the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University, is a revolutionary new tool designed to help in the identification, cataloging, and research of the rich and varied coinage of the Roman Empire. The project records every published type of Roman Imperial Coinage from Augustus in 31 BC, until the death of Zeno in AD 491. This is an easy to use digital corpus, with
- Ancient World Image Bank (on flickr). A collaborative effort to distribute and encourage the sharing of free digital imagery for the study of the ancient world. Started by the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, New York University.
- Byzantine Seals Collection (Dumbarton Oaks) Dumbarton Oaks is home to the most important collection of Byzantine lead seals in the world, numbering some 17,000 specimens.
- Theban Mapping Project (American Research Center in Egyot) Mapping project of archaeological sites of the Valley of the Kings, West Bank, Luxor.
- MediaValet (BU) Computing Services maintains a image database for use by members of the Boston University community. Consisting of over 70,000 history of art & architecture images this collection is currently under migration to a new platform and is expected to launch in Fall 2022. In order to access the database, you will first need to apply for a user account. The forms and details about the process and restrictions will appear in this space as the new database is launched in 2022.
