Related Guides
Background Sources
- Archaeology of Mediterranean Prehistory This book offers a comprehensive introduction to the archaeology of Mediterranean prehistory and an essential reference to the most recent research and fieldwork.
- Classical Archaeology The fully revised second edition of this successful volume includes updates on the latest archaeological research in all chapters, and two new essays on Greek and Roman art. It retains its unique, paired essay format, as well as key contributions from leading archaeologists and historians of the classical world.
- The Oxford Handbook of Ancient Anatolia, 10,000-323 B.C.E The Oxford Handbook of Ancient Anatolia is a unique blend of comprehensive overviews on archaeological, philological, linguistic, and historical issues at the forefront of Anatolian scholarship in the twenty-first century. Anatolia is home to early complex societies and great empires, and was the destination of many migrants, visitors, and invaders. The offerings in this book bring this reality to life, as the articles unfold nearly 10,000 years (ca. 10,000–323 BCE) of peoples, languages, and diverse cultures who lived in or traversed Anatolia over these millennia.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
- A Companion to the Archaeology of Early Greece and the Mediterranean Presents an in-depth exploration of the society and material culture of Greece and the Mediterranean, from the 14th to the early 7th centuries BC. The two-volume companion sets Aegean developments within their broader geographic and cultural context, and presents the wide-ranging interactions with the Mediterranean. The companion bridges the gap that typically exists between Prehistoric and Classical Archaeology and examines material culture and social practice across Greece and the Mediterranean.
- Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites Summaries of excavation results with references to full reports. Europe, Middle East, and Africa. Glossary, maps, map indexes, illustrations. Also available at Mugar Stacks DE 59 P7.
- The Ancient City of Athens A publication of The Stoa: A Consortium for Electronic Publication in the Humanities
Regional Databases
- L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window L'Année Philologique is the international critical and analytical bibliography of works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialities such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes journal articless, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews.
- NESTOR: Bibliography of Aegean Prehistory and Related Areas Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. The primary geographic nexus of Nestor is the Aegean, including all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey.
- TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%).
- FastiOnline A database of archaeological excavations since the year 2000. Fasti Online is a project of the International Association of Classical Archaeology (AIAC) and the Center for the Study of Ancient Italy of the University of Texas at Austin (CSAI).
- Perseus Digital Library Classics Department, Tufts University. “…an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world and beyond”. Begun as a collection of textual and visual materials on the Archaic and Classical Greek world, it now contains Latin texts and tools and Renaissance materials. Features include Art and Archaeology Catalogs for architecture, sites, coins, vases, and sculpture, and an Encyclopedia.
- Propylaeum-DOK Digital Archive for Classical Studies.
- ZENON DAI Catalog and index of scholarly literature on Greek and Roman culture; Etruscan, Minoan and Mycenaean culture; the Anatolian cultures; and prehistory and ancient history including epigraphy and numismatics. Includes monographs, journal articles, conference proceedings, festschriften, and selected reviews.
