Related Guides
Background Sources
- Handbook of Archaeological Sciences, 2nd. ed. In the newly revised Second Edition of the Handbook of Archaeological Sciences, a team of more than 100 researchers delivers a comprehensive and accessible overview of modern methods used in the archaeological sciences. The book covers all relevant approaches to obtaining and analyzing archaeological data, including dating methods, quaternary paleoenvironments, human bioarchaeology, biomolecular archaeology and archaeogenetics, resource exploitation, archaeological prospection, and assessing the decay and conservation of specimens.
- The Oxford Companion to Archaeology The Oxford Companion to Archaeology has firmly established itself as the standard reference work in the field of archaeology, remaining a favorite among students, scholars, and anyone interested in archaeology. In close to 800 entries, the second edition provides thorough coverage of historical archaeology, the development of archaeology as a field of study, and the ways the discipline works to explain the past. In addition to these theoretical entries, other entries describe the major
- Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology This multi-volume work provides a comprehensive and systematic coverage of archaeology that is unprecedented, not only in terms of the use of multi-media, but also in terms of content. It encompasses the breadth of the subject along with key aspects that are tapped from other disciplines. It includes all time periods and regions of the world and all stages of human development. Mostly importantly, this encyclopedia includes the knowledge of leading scholars from around the world.
- Encyclopedia of Archaeology : History and Discoveries This three-volume work bridges a long-existing gap by successfully filling the space between scholarly and popular coverage. Taking a global perspective, this 500-entry set contains articles on the full range of archaeological knowledge, including great discoveries, significant archaeologists, important organizations, major geographical areas, and key concepts.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology (3 ed.) his dictionary is the most wide-ranging and comprehensive of its kind, covering the essential vocabulary for everyday archaeological work in the English language. There is coverage of principles, theories, techniques, artefacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, and descriptive terms. The dictionary focuses especially on Europe, the Old World, and the Americas, and covers legislation relating to the United Kingdom and the USA, though this third edition does add a fair number of
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology represents a new way of conceiving of the relationship between archaeology and biblical studies that allows the results of a wide cross-section of excavations and regional studies to contribute to the interpretation of the biblical text through an elucidation of the lifeways of the ancient world.
- Milestones in Archaeology : A Chronological Encyclopedia Organized around personalities, techniques, controversies, and conflicts, the encyclopedia brings to life the history of archaeology. It broadens the general reader's knowledge by detailing the professional significance of widely known discoveries while introducing to wider knowledge obscure but important moments in archaeology.
- The Cambridge Companion to Historical Archaeology The Cambridge Companion to Historical Archaeology provides an overview of the international field of historical archaeology (c.AD 1500 to the present) through seventeen specially-commissioned essays from leading researchers in the field. The volume explores key themes in historical archaeology including documentary archaeology, the writing of historical archaeology, colonialism, capitalism, industrial archaeology, maritime archaeology, cultural resource management and urban archaeology.
- Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology The Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology is a ground-breaking compendium of information about this ever-growing field. Concentrating on the post-1400 period as well as containing generic explanations of historical archaeology where needed, the encyclopedia is compiled by over 120 experts from around the world and contains more than 370 entries covering important concepts and sites.
- Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology This comprehensive, fully illustrated Companion answers the need for an in-depth archaeology reference that provides authoritative coverage of this complex and interdisciplinary field. The work brings together the myriad strands and the great temporal and spatial breadth of the field into two thematically organized volumes. In twenty-six authoritative and clearly-written essays, this Companion explores the origins, aims, methods and problems of archaeology.
- A Companion to Gender Prehistory An authoritative guide on gender prehistory for researchers, instructors and students in anthropology, archaeology, and gender studies
- Dictionary of Artifacts Containing close to 3,000 words and definitions, Dictionary of Artifacts is an indispensable reference for anyone working within the field of archaeology. Entries detail artifact's classification and typology; raw materials; methods and techniques of creation; principles and techniques of examination and identification; and instructions for the care and preservation of specimens.
- A Dictionary of Archaeology This dictionary provides those studying or working in archaeology with a complete reference to the field.
- Archaeology of Food: An Encyclopedia What are the origins of agriculture? In what ways have technological advances related to food affected human development? How have food and foodways been used to create identity, communicate meaning, and organize society? In this highly readable, illustrated volume, archaeologists and other scholars from across the globe explore these questions and more. The Archaeology of Food offers more than 250 entries spanning geographic and temporal contexts and features recent discoveries alongside the results of decades of research.
- Encyclopedia of Geoarchaeology This encyclopedia defines terms, introduces problems, describes techniques, and discusses theory and strategy, all in a format designed to make specialized details accessible to the public as well as practitioners. It covers subjects in environmental archaeology, dating, materials analysis, and paleoecology, all of which represent different sources of specialist knowledge that must be shared in order to reconstruct, analyze, and explain the record of the human past.
- The Oxford Handbook of Zooarchaeology The Oxford Handbook of Zooarchaeology offers a cutting-edge compendium of zooarchaeology the world over that transcends environmental, economic, and social approaches, seeking instead to provide a holistic view of the roles played by animals in past human cultures.
- Archaeological Method and Theory : an Encyclopedia This Encyclopedia brings together the most recent scientific information on a collection of subjects that are too often - and inconveniently - treated in separate publications. It provides a survey of archaeological method and theory, as well as the application of physical and biological sciences in archaeological research.
- The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Industrial Archaeology his encyclopedia covers the US and Europe in particular, (with some entries on other parts of the developed world) with entries on nations, cities, individual sites, as well as a comprehensive set of entries on industrial processes themselves, from civil engineering to mining, from steelworking to transportation. Theoretical entries survey museums, conservation, adaptive reuse and other topics.
- Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory The Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory provides the most complete context possible for understanding the 65-million-year story of humankind's origins. The Encyclopedia gathers the work of 49 internationally recognized scholars, each a leading authority writing under the guidance of a distinguished team of editors from the American Museum of Natural History. They have prepared over 800 entries, ranging from brief definitions of technical terms to in depth, lengthy essays on broad topics such as evolutionary theory, genetics and Paleolithic archaeology.
- The Oxford Handbook of Maritime Archaeology The Oxford Handbook of Maritime Archaeology is a survey of the field as seen through the eyes of nearly fifty scholars at a time when maritime archaeology has established itself as a mature branch of archaeology. This volume draws on many of the distinct and universal aspects of maritime archaeology, bringing them together under four main themes: the research process, ships and shipwrecks, maritime and nautical culture, and issues of preservation and management.
- Handbook of Archaeological Theories This handbook gathers original, authoritative articles from leading archaeologists to compile the latest thinking about archaeological theory. The authors provide a comprehensive picture of the theoretical foundations by which archaeologists contextualize and analyze their archaeological data.
- Archaeological 3D GIS Archaeological 3D GIS provides archaeologists with a guide to explore and understand the unprecedented opportunities for collecting, visualising, and analysing archaeological datasets in three dimensions. With platforms allowing archaeologists to link, query, and analyse in a virtual, georeferenced space information collected by different specialists, the book highlights how it is possible to re-think aspects of theory and practice which relate to GIS.
Atlases
- Mapping Past Societies (Harvard University) Formerly called The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC), this resource is freely available on the internet . It contains the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds.
- Atlas of World Archaeology The Atlas of World Archeology takes readers on an archeological journey around the globe, from the origins of humankind to early historical times. Written by an international team of experts in the field, the atlas combines authoritative yet lively text with a wealth of full-color maps and features.
- Digital Atlas of Economic Plants in Archaeology The third part of the Digital Plant Atlas presents illustrations of subfossil remains of plants with economic value. These plant remains mainly derive from excavations in the Old World (Europe, Western Asia and North Africa) that the Deutsches Arch#65533;ologisches Institut (DAI, Berlin) and the Groningen Institute of Archaeology (GIA) have conducted or participated in.
- Comparative Skeletal Anatomy : A Photographic Atlas for Medical Examiners, Coroners, Forensic Anthropologists, and Archaeologists Forensic scientists working with human skeletal remains must be able to differentiate between human and non-human bones. Comparative Skeletal Anatomy: A Photographic Atlas for Medical Examiners, Coroners, Forensic Anthropologists, and Archaeologists fills a void in the literature by providing a comprehensive photographic guide of both human and non-human bones that is useful to those working in the fields of archaeology or the forensic sciences.
- Zooarchaeology and Field Ecology : A Photographic Atlas This photographic atlas, developed over twenty years of teaching in the field, expedites the work of the zooarchaeologist by integrating both osteology and wildlife ecology into a single volume.
