Featured Title
- Archaeology of a Brothel in Nineteenth-Century Boston, MA: Erotic Facades Archaeology of a Brothel in Nineteenth-Century Boston, MA provides an accessible and thought-provoking account of the archaeological understanding of nineteenth-century prostitution in Boston, Massachusetts. The book explores how the practice of nineteenth-century sex work involved a careful construction of fantasy for brothel customers.
Related Guides
Background Sources
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is invaluable for those interested in the rich heritage of this land. Encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods,
- Archaeology in America: An Encyclopedia Archaeology in America is the first resource that provides students, researchers, and anyone interested in their local history with a survey of the most important archaeological discoveries in North America. Leading scholars, most with an intimate knowledge of the area, have written in-depth essays on over 300 of the most important archaeological sites that explain the importance of the site, the history of the people who left the artifacts, and the nature of the ongoing research. Archaeology
- The Oxford Handbook of North American Archaeology This book explores 15,000 years of indigenous human history on the North American continent, drawing on the latest archaeological theories, time-honored methodologies, and rich datasets.
- Encyclopedia of Caribbean Archaeology ncyclopedia of Caribbean Archaeology offers a comprehensive overview of the available archaeological research conducted in the region. Beginning with the earliest native migrations and moving through contemporary issues of heritage management, the contributors tackle the usual questions of colonization, adaptation, and evolution while embracing newer research techniques, such as geoinformatics, archaeometry, paleodemography, DNA analysis, and seafaring simulations.
- Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America : an Encyclopedia A reference devoted to the pre-Columbian archaeology of Mesoamerica features in-depth articles on the major cultural areas of ancient Mexico and Central America, coverage of important sites, articles on day-to-day life of ancient peoples in these regions, and several b&w regional and site maps and photographs.
- Encyclopedia of the Ancient Maya Encyclopedia of the Ancient Maya offers an A-to-Z overview of the ancient Maya culture from its inception around 3000 BC to the Spanish Conquest after AD 1600.
- The A to Z of Ancient Mesoamerica The A to Z of Ancient Mesoamerica covers some of the major discoveries throughout ancient Mesoamerica from the last 100 years. The results of previous and continuing research and explorations, plus recent interpretations of ancient cultures and new work at archaeological sites in Mesoamerica are summarized here.
- The Oxford Handbook of Mesoamerican Archaeology The Oxford Handbook of Mesoamerican Archaeology provides a current guide to the recent and on-going archaeology of Mesoamerica.
- Handbook of Middle American Indians. Volume 10 and 11 : Archaeology of Northern Mesoamerica Archaeology of Northern Mesoamerica comprises the tenth and eleventh volumes in the Handbook of Middle American Indians, published in cooperation with the Middle American Research Institute of Tulane University under the general editorship of Robert Wauchope (1909-1979
- Handbook of Middle American Indians, Volumes 2 And 3 : Archaeology of Southern Mesoamerica Archaeology of Southern Mesoamerica comprises the second and third volumes in the Handbook of Middle American Indians, published in cooperation with the Middle American Research Institute of Tulane University under the general editorship of Robert Wauchope (1909-1979).
- Encyclopedia of the Incas The Inca Empire existed for fewer than 100 years, yet ruled more subjects than either the Aztecs or the Maya and occupied a territory stretching nearly 3000 miles. The Incas left no system of writing; what we know of them has been gleaned from the archaeological record and accounts written following the Spanish invasion. In this A-to-Z encyclopedia, Gary Urton and Adriana von Hagen, together with over thirty contributors, provide a broad introduction to the fascinating civilization of the Incas, including their settlements, culture, society, celebrations, and achievements.
- Andean Archaeology This book addresses the need to explore the history of this region in a manner that is illuminating not only to Andean scholars, but also to those reader who may be less familiar with Andean prehistory and its non-Western principles of organization.
Regional Databases
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present times; indexes journal articles, book titles and chapters, reviews from numerous multilingual sources; all abstracts in English.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean. Scope ranges from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
- Digitalia Hispánica This link opens in a new window Digitalia Hispánica is a database comprising over 27,000 e-books and e-journals in Spanish, from publishers located in Spain and Latin American countries. Resources are organized in different subject collections, including History, Political Science, Business and Economics, Religion, Social Sciences, and Philosophy.
- SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) Provides access to journals from Latin America, South Africa, Spain, and Portugal. Strongest in science, medicine and public health, but also includes applied social sciences and humanities.
- Redalyc (Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe,España y Portugal) Provides access to over 500 journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
- Bibliografia Mesoamericana The Bibliografía Mesoamericana, jointly supervised by John Weeks of the Museum Library of the University of Pennsylvania and Sandra Noble of the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. (FAMSI), provides a comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window HLAS is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly monographs, journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and electronic resources dealing with Latin America. New entries, alternating between humanities and social sciences, are added annually. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
Browse Books
Featured Films
- Science or sacrilege : Native Americans, archaeology and the law (streaming, Academic Video Online) Well into the 20th century, Native American physical remains were frequently harvested like trophies, and ritual objects and artwork often reached museums under questionable circumstances. Such glaring offenses of “imperial archaeology” ultimately motivated Congress to pass the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA) in 1990.
- Horizon: Bones of Contention (Academic Video Online) In the USA, a law has been passed forcing anthropologists, archaeologists and museums to return ethnic artifacts and ancestral remains to the American Indian communities. The film explores how scientists are responding to the loss of their specimens: their world is collapsing, and they are being forced to question the value of what they do. For the infant science of palaeopathology, it means a subject snuffed out before it can prove its worth.
- Digging for the Truth. Mystery of the Anasazi (streaming, Academic Video Online) The people who became known as the Anasazi began to farm the Four Corners Region as early as 1 A.D. For most of their history, they lived in small, scattered villages on the mesas and in the valleys. But in the middle of the 13th century, something happened.
- The Americas Before The Europeans (streaming, Academic Video Online) The Maya, Aztec & Inca civilizations that existed in Central and South America built remarkable cities and places of worship. Their intellectual achievements were equally impressive. But none of these great empires survived the Spanish conquistadors.
- The Feathered Serpent (streaming, Academic Video Online) The Olmec, Toltec, Mayan and Aztec Cultures ... built their high pyramids and great cities on the dusty plains of Mexico and in the steaming jungles of the isthmus. This episode views the striking skeletons of these complex communities.
- Olmec Heads (streaming, Academic Video Online) Over three thousand years ago, in the fertile jungles of lowland Mexico, the first civilisation in the Americas was born. Five hundred years before Rome was founded, the Olmec were building great cities with pyramids and ball courts. Considered by most archaeologists to be the ‘mother culture’of Mexico, the roots of the later Maya and Aztec cultures lie with the Olmec. One of the most extraordinary feats of the ancient Olmec was their monumental sculptures.
- The Ancient Maya: The Tools of Astronomy (streaming, Academic Video Online) Travel to Mexico's Yucatan peninsula to get a first hand look at the ancient world's most skilled astronomers: the Maya. Host Michael Guillen studies the giant pyramid of Kukulkan and explains how, it functioned as a giant solar observatory.
- Mystery of the Maya (streaming, Academic Video Online) Archaeologists piece together clues as to why the ancient civilization of Copan abruptly ended after flourishing for hundreds of years.
- Belize and Guatemala: Legacy of the Maya (streaming, Academic Video Online) The Maya was one of the most culturally dynamic societies in history. Today, we are still fascinated with this incredible civilization, which had a fully developed language and a command of mathematics and astronomy.
- Machu Picchu (streaming, Academic Video Online) The engineering marvel Machu Picchu sits perched on a ridge in the Peruvian Andes. Originally built by the Incas, this magnificent structure remains a mystery. Was it an observatory? Pleasure retreat? Fortress? This program presents the most current theories.
- Time Team America series (streaming, Academic Video Online) TIME TEAM AMERICA plunges the viewer into the grime and glory of real-life archaeology: epiphany and exhaustion, discovery, and disappointment. The team endures dirt, sweat, dust, and rain to explore the mysteries of the past through what they find buried below the ground. Part adventure, part hard science, part reality show, TIME TEAM AMERICA applies the latest technology and the team's collective expertise to solving the riddles of the past--against a ticking clock. The team has just three days to find out what it can at each site.
- The Moche Route (streaming, Academic Video Online) We journey through the north coast of Peru following the archaeological remains of the Moche culture, which thrived from the 1st Century BC to the 6th Century AD. Starting from the colonial city of Trujillo, this documentary reveals to us everything that can be seen along this route covering the desert, the Pacific Ocean, and the Andes. We discover spectacular island landscapes, parched wastelands, forests, inlets, beaches, canyons, and perpetually snowy peaks. We visit cities steeped in history and small villages near the archaeological digs, which unveil this mysterious land's past since the dawn of time.
- Nova. Season 49, episode 16, Nazca Desert mystery (streaming, Academic Video Online) Who created the Nazca lines, one of archaeology’s greatest enigmas, and why? Recent finds of long-hidden lines and figures etched into the Peruvian desert offer new clues to the origins and purpose behind these giant desert symbols.
