Related Guides
Featured Resources: Trowelblazers and Sapiens
- Trowelblazers At TrowelBlazers, we believe that if you can see it, you can be it. We are dedicated to highlighting the contributions of women in the ‘digging’ sciences: archaeology, geology, and palaeontology, and to outreach activities aimed at encouraging participation, especially from under-represented minorities.
- Sapiens: Two Pioneering Female Archaeologists Hannah Marie Wormington and Cynthia Irwin-Williams grew up in a time when women were banned from some anthropology classrooms, yet they forged successful careers and set examples as supportive and inspiring leaders.
Biographical Sources
- Encyclopedia of Archaeology. The Great Archaeologists Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists features 58 remarkable biographies written by some of the world's best-known archaeologists. These essays are arranged chronologically and thus constitute a history of archaeology from its beginnings in the Renaissance to the present day. Especially exciting is the coverage of figures little known to readers in the West: Russian, Chinese, and Mexican archaeologists receive their due.
- Being and Becoming Indigenous Archaeologists his volume tells the stories--in their own words-- of 37 indigenous archaeologists from six continents, how they became archaeologists, and how their dual role affects their relationships with their community and their professional colleagues.
- Cultural Negotiations : The Role of Women in the Founding of Americanist Archaeology This meticulously researched reference work documents the role of women who contributed to the development of Americanist archaeology from 1865 to 1940.
- Girl Archaeologist: Sisterhood in a Sexist Profession Girl Archaeologist recounts Alice Kehoe's life, begun in an era very different from the twenty-first century in which she retired as an honored elder archaeologist. She persisted against entrenched patriarchy in her childhood, at Harvard University, and as she did fieldwork with her husband in the northern plains. A senior male professor attempted to quash Kehoe's career by raping her. Her Harvard professors refused to allow her to write a dissertation in archaeology. Universities paid her less than her male counterparts. Her husband refused to participate in housework or childcare. Working in archaeology and in the histories of American First Nations, Kehoe published a series of groundbreaking books and articles. Although she was denied a conventional career, through her unconventional breadth of research and her empathy with First Nations people she gained a wide circle of collaborators and colleagues. Throughout her career Kehoe found and fostered a sisterhood of feminists-strong, bright women archaeologists, anthropologists, and ethnohistorians who have been essential to the field. Girl Archaeologist is the story of how one woman pursued a professional career in a male-dominated field during a time of great change in American middle-class expectations for women.
- Breaking Ground : Pioneering Women Archaeologists This book presents twelve fascinating women whose contributions to the development and progress of Old World archaeology---in an area ranging from Italy to Mesopotamia---have been immeasurable
- Archaeologists : Explorers of the Human Past Including eccentric professors and adventuring fortune hunters of old and highly trained scientists of today, Archaeologists collects together biographies of more than 30 archaeologists of the past two centuries.
- The Great Archaeologists Organized into six thematic sections, this book gives short biographies and assessments of the achievements of 70 of the worlds greatest practitioners, written by a 40-strong team of contributors, themselves all eminent archaeologists and authors.
- The Pastmasters : Eleven Modern Pioneers of Archaeology V. Gordon Childe, Stuart Piggott, Charles Phillips, Christopher Hawkes, Seton Lloyd, Robert J. Braidwood, Gordon R. Willey, C.J. Becker, Sigfried J. De Laet, J. Desmond Clark, D.J. Mulvaney.
- The Makers of Classical Archaeology : a Reference Work Designed for teachers and students of classical archaeology, as well as for scholars from other areas of classical studies, this one-of-a-kind reference work on the history of classical archaeology focuses on the key contributors to the field. Reviewing the lives and accomplishments of archaeologists who lived from the sixteenth to the twentieth century, this gold mine of information covers more than just the well-known "giants" of classical archaeology; it also discusses the achievements of many lesser known archaeologists, as well as scholars from the related fields of art history, ancient numismatics, and epigraphy.
- Excavating Women: A History of Women in European Archaeology Archaeologists are increasingly aware of issues of gender when studying past societies; women are becoming better represented within the discipline and are attaining top academic posts. Excavating Women discusses the careers of women archaeologists such as Dorothy Garrod, Hanna Rydh and Marija Gimbutas, who against all odds became famous, as well as the many lesser-known personalities who did important archaeological work.
- The World of India's First Archaeologist: Letters from Alexander Cunningham to JDM Beglar Alexander Cunningham, India's first professional archaeologist, became the first Director General of the Archaeological Survey of India in 1871. This book contains a collection of 193 letters he wrote between 1871 and 1888 to his Archaeological Assistant, J. D. M. Beglar. The letters offer exciting, new insights into Cunningham's life and career, telling the story of the birth of Indian archaeology and some of its greatest discoveries in real time, in Cunningham's own words.
Find more books on Archaeologists -- Biography and Women archaeologists -- United States -- Biography
Biographical Sources (General)
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window Biographical dictionary of notable deceased American men and women from all eras of American history. Includes illustrations and links to other web resources.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window Grove Art Online is an encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art and all aspects of visual culture. Articles include bibliographies and searchable images. As part of Oxford Art Online, keywords also are simultaneously searched in The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century." Does not include living people or those recently deceased. Limited to one (1) concurrent user.
