Featured Title
- Conflicted Antiquities : Egyptology, Egyptomania, Egyptian Modernity Conflicted Antiquities is a rich cultural history of European and Egyptian interest in ancient Egypt and its material culture, from the early nineteenth century until the mid-twentieth.
Related Guides
Background Sources
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization.
- The Oxford Handbook of African Archaeology This handbook provides a comprehensive and up-to-date synthesis of African archaeology, covering the entirety of the continent's past from the beginnings of human evolution to the archaeological legacy of European colonialism.
- African Archaeology: A Critical Introduction A landmark introduction to the archaeology of Africa that challenges misconceptions & claims about Africa’s past and teaches students how to evaluate these claims.
- Egyptian Archaeology Egyptian Archaeology explores ancient Egypt using a uniquely archaeological approach, drawing on original research to both synthesize and challenge existing scholarship. Written by leading Egyptologists, based on original research and fieldwork Illustrates how practical research is a vital component of any theory-based discussion about the ancient world Examines the cultural and historical processes of ancient Egypt from a global perspective Visually engaging with over 80 illustrations
- Handbook to the Iron Age : the Archaeology of Pre-colonial Farming Societies in Southern Africa This detailed handbook to the Iron Age covers the last 2000 years in Southern Africa. Handbook to the Iron Age is an abundantly illustrated study that is accessible to a wide range of people interested in African prehistory.
- The Archaeology of Southern Africa Southern Africa has one of the longest histories of occupation by modern humans and their ancestors anywhere in the world: over three million years. Research in Southern Africa is central to many key debates in contemporary archaeology, including hominid origins, the origins of anatomically modern humans and modern forms of behavior, and the development of ethnographically informed perspectives for understanding its rich heritage of rock art. This is the first attempt at a synthesis of the sub-continent's past in over forty years.
- East African Archaeology : Foragers, Potters, Smiths, and Traders The goal of this volume is to impart an appreciation of the many facets of East Africa's cultural and archaeological diversity over the last 2,000 years. It brings together chapters on East African archaeology, many by Africa-born archaeologists who review what is known, present new research, and pinpoint issues of debate and anomaly in the relatively poorly known prehistory of East Africa.
Regional Databases
- Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window Africa-Wide Information searches across bibliographic databases from around the world to provide citations and abstracts on all facets of Africa and African studies. This includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes journal articless, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews.
Browse Books
Featured Films
- H.O.N. mission : searching for man's origins (streaming, Academic Video Online) A voyage through time to find our origins in the heart of the Namibian Bush! The goal of the Human Origins in Namibia mission is to have Namibia recognized as the "Cradle of Humankind," as is South Africa.
- Human journey. Out of Africa (streaming, Academic Video Online) Exploring the origins of humans, this program considers how the first humans survived in the dangerous environment of prehistoric Africa, traces the technological development of the species, and shows how a tiny group of prehistoric humans left Africa around 70,000 years ago.
- The Tree of Iron (streaming, Kanopy) This is one of the few films to document archaeological work on ancient civilizations in Africa. It also deals with an important subject, African iron smelting, and presents convincing evidence for early indigenous technologies far more complex than previously expected.
- Mozambique : the out of time island (streaming, Academic Video Online) Off the coast of southern Africa and the Indian Ocean, the island of Mozambique, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, was for three centuries the capital of the country whose name it bears. As essential crossroad of the Indian route, it has been shaped by trade exchanges and Arab, Persian, European as well as Indian influences. Embark on a journey to discover the many facets of this bewitching island, between heritage preservation, archaeological excavations and the valorisation of local traditional cultures.
- Tutankhamun. Episode 1 (streaming, Academic Video Online) El Shazly and Rashad speak to leading scholars at the Egyptian Museum of Cairo, which houses Tutankhamun’s treasures; enjoy exclusive, behind-the-scenes access to his tomb in the Valley of the Kings; and visit several active dig sites across Egypt, including Saqqara and Luxor. Featuring insight from Secretary General of the Supreme Council of Antiquities Dr.Mostafa Waziry and more.
- Tutankhamun. Episode 2 (streaming, Academic Video Online) El Shazly and Rashad continue their investigation into the boy king's life, looking closely at his advisors as he sought to reverse his infamous father's religious and cultural revolution, and the factors surrounding his untimely death. Featuring commentary from leading Egyptologists Dr. Zahi Hawass, Fayza Haikal, Salima Ikram and more.
- Egypt : what lies beneath (streaming, Academic Video Online) The ancient Egyptians have fascinated us for centuries. The Pyramids of the Pharaohs and the Sphinx are fabulous monuments to their past glory. But according to one scientist, Dr Sarah Parcak, the astonishing antiquities already discovered are just a tiny percentage of what was left behind. This visually stunning film takes viewers on a remarkable voyage of discovery to unlock the history of ancient Egypt.
- Mummies of gold (streaming, Academic Video Online) Mummies of Gold journeys back in time with Dr. Zahi Hawass, archaeologist and Director of the Pyramids, as he excavates the graves at Baharia oasis and reveals the secrets of the culture that dominated the known world when pharaohs ruled the Nile.
- Mummies: tales from the Egyptian crypts (streaming, Academic Video Online) Egyptologists and the latest computer technology bring the wonders of ancient Egypt to life.
