Research: South Asian Language & Literature: South Asian Literature @ BU

South Asian Language & Literature at BU

BU Special Collections

Central Asian and Islamic Rare Book Collection
The Central Asian and Islamic Rare Book Collection at BU’s Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center Library combines four of the world’s best private scholarly libraries that were created by renowned Western scholars of the region.
more...less...
They include:

1. Iran & Central Asia: The Library of Richard N. Frye. Ca. 6,500 books, 110 journal titles (3,500 volumes)
2. Languages & Literatures of Central Asia: The Library of Karl H. Menges. Ca. 3,080 books, 50 journal titles (1,150 volumes), 5000 off-prints
3. The Cultures of the Karakorum Highway: The Library of Karl Jettmar. Ca. 6,500 books, 118 journal titles (2,500 volumes), 3,500 off-prints
4. The library of Professor Mohsin Mahdi
Indian, Pakistani, and Bangladeshi Collections subject guide
Bhabani Bhattacharyna Collection
The Bhabani Bhattacharya collection includes manuscripts and other material.
more...less...
Manuscripts by Bhattacharya in the collection includes drafts of Socio-Political Currents in Bengal: A Nineteenth Century Perspective, Bhattacharya’s Ph.D. dissertation (1934); his novel Shadow from Ladakh (1965), typed with handwritten corrections; his semi-autobiographical novel The Dream in Hawaii; and various speeches, articles, and other short pieces.
Ruskin Bond Collection
The Ruskin Bond collection consists of manuscripts, correspondence, printed material, personal memorabilia, diaries, and photographs.
Amiya Chakravarty Collection
The Amiya Chakravarty collection primarily consists of correspondence to and from him with various significant individuals. Also present are photographs and other items.
more...less...
The correspondence to Chakravarty dates, on the whole, from 1915 to 1974. These are primarily personal letters, with a few manuscript fragments and printed pieces included. Notable correspondents include e. e. cummings, Albert Einstein, Robert Frost, Indira Gandhi, Mohandas Gandhi, Aldous Huxley, Robert Lowell, Thomas Mann, Thomas Merton, Jawaharlal Nehru, Robert Oppenheimer, Boris Pasternak, Ezra Pound, Satyajit Ray, Diego Rivera, Albert Schweitzer, George Bernard Shaw, and H. G. Wells.
R.K. Narayan Collection
The R. K. Narayan Collection (1906-2001) contains manuscripts for many of Narayan’s works, particularly short pieces of fiction and non-fiction. The collection also contains various manuscripts drafts of some of Narayan’s later novels, plays, his autobiography, and translations.

Librarian

Barbara Maratos

Contact:

bkmarato@bu.edu
Room 501B
Mugar Library
(617) 353-9319

Subjects: Language & Linguistics, Literature