Guides to South Asian Literature
Browse books and ebooks on:
-
A History of Indian Literature in English
by
Location: Mugar Stacks PR9489.6 .H57 2003Publication Date: 2003From Ram Mohan Ray to Arundhati Roy, two hundred years of Indian literature in English are covered in this volume, essential for anyone interested in this increasingly important literary tradition. Spanning a period from 1800 to the present, this collection of historical essays covers the canonical Indian poets, novelists, and dramatists writing in English--names like Rudyard Kipling, Rabrindanath Tagore, R.K. Narayan, and Salman Rushdie--as well as lesser-known literary figures--scientists, social reformers, anthropologists--who have made significant contributions to the evolution of Indian literature in English. -
Handbook of Twentieth-Century Literatures of India
by
Location: Mugar Stacks PK5416 .H27 1996Publication Date: 1996India has a rich literary assemblage produced by its many different regional traditions, religious faiths, ethnic subcultures and linguistic groups. The published literature of the 20th century is a particularly interesting subject and is the focus of this book, as it represents the provocative conjuncture of the transitions of Indian modernity. -
Modern Indian Poetry in English
by
Location: Mugar Stacks ; PR9490.5 .K5 2004Publication Date: 2005This book, now in a revised edition, is a comprehensive study of modern Indian poetry in English. It is a history and analysis of the most important poets (such as Nissim Ezekial, A.K. Ramanujan and Dom Moraes), books and journals, along with an analysis of the social basis of Indian English-language poetry. -
Poetry of Kings: The Classical Hindi Poetry of Mughal India
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2011This in-depth study of the classical Hindi tradition brings the world of Mughal-era poetry and court culture alive for an English readership. Allison Busch draws on the perspectives of literary, social, and intellectual history to elucidate one of premodern India's most significant textualtraditions, documenting the dramatic rise of a new type of professional Hindi writer while providing critical insight into the motives that animated this literary community and its patrons.
South Asian Literature - Anthologies
-
Folktales from India : a selection of oral tales from twenty-two languages byLocation: Mugar Stacks GR305 .F64 1991Publication Date: 1991Collection of the oral tales compiled from a vast array of sources and translated from twenty-two languages of the country.
-
Mapping the Nation: an anthology of Indian poetry in English, 1870-1920
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2013Focusing specifically on the poetic construction of India, 'Mapping the Nation' offers a broad selection of poetry written by Indians in English during the period 1870-1920. Centering upon the "mapping" of India - both as a regional location and as a poetic ideal - this unique anthology presents poetry from various geographical nodal points of the subcontinent, as well as that written in the imperial metropole of England, to illustrate how the variety of India's poetical imagining corresponded to the diversity of her inhabitants and geography. -
Anglophone Poetry in Colonial India, 1780-1913
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2011Anglophone Poetry in Colonial India, 1780-1913: A Critical Anthology makes accessible for the first time the entire range of poems written in English on the subcontinent from their beginnings in 1780 to the watershed moment in 1913 when Rabindranath Tagore won the Nobel Prize in Literature.
Postcolonial Literature
-
The Postcolonial Indian Novel in English
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2011Indian writers of English such as G. V. Desani, Salman Rushdie, Amit Chaudhuri, Amitav Ghosh, Vikram Seth, Allan Sealy, Shashi Tharoor, Arundhati Roy, Vikram Chandra and Jhumpa Lahiri have taken the potentialities of the novel form to new heights. Against the background of the genre's macro-history, this study attempts to explain the stunning vitality, colourful diversity, and the outstanding but sometimes controversial success of postcolonial Indian novels in the light of ongoing debates in postcolonial studies. -
Out of Bounds: Anglo-Indian Literature and the Geography of Displacement
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2011Out of Bounds focuses on the crucial role that conceptions of iconic colonial Indian spaces--jungles, cantonments, cities, hill stations, bazaars, clubs--played in the literary and social production of British India. Author Alan Johnson illuminates the geographical, rhetorical, and ideological underpinnings of such depictions and, from this, argues that these spaces operated as powerful motifs in the acculturation of Anglo-India. -
Acts of Angry Writing: on citizenship and orientalism in postcolonial India
by
Location: Mugar Stacks PK5410.S63 M36 2015Publication Date: 2015From Aristotle to Seneca, ancient philosophers considered anger to be aggressive and incompatible with rational conduct, and later thinkers associated this "illogical" emotion with femininity and its flaws. In Acts of Angry Writing: On Citizenship and Orientalism in Postcolonial India, author Alessandra Marino looks at anger differently, as an essential condition for writing in contexts of struggle. -
Between the Lines: South Asians and Postcoloniality
by
Location: Mugar Stacks E184.S69 B48 1996Publication Date: 1996This ground-breaking collection of new interviews, critical essays, and commentary explores South Asian identity and culture. Sensitive to the false homogeneity implied by "South Asian," "diaspora," "postcolonial," and "Asian American," the contributors attempt to unpack these terms.
South Asian Diaspora
-
South Asian Atlantic Literature, 1970-2010
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2011A major interpretation of recent South Asian diasporic writing and cinema in specifically transatlantic terms, Ruth Maxey provides readings of canonical and less well-known South Asian American and British Asian texts and key cinematic works. -
Exploring Gender in the Literature of the Indian Diaspora
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2015Reflecting the continuing interest in the diaspora and transnationalism, this collection of critical essays is located at the intersection of gender and diaspora studies, exploring the multiple ways in which the literature of the Indian diaspora negotiates, interprets and performs gender within established and emerging ethnic spaces. -
Our Feet Walk the Sky: women of the South Asian diaspora
by
Location: Mugar Stacks PS153.A84 O97 1993Publication Date: 2008The first anthology of its kind: includes essays, memoir, and fiction.
Finding Articles
-
BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window
BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
Literature Databases
-
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
-
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after Jan. 1, 2000.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Humanities/Social Science Databases
-
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
-
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes journal articless, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
An index to works, primarily in the humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, and books.
-
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides full text of articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes several film reference books. Abstracts late 19th century - present; full text 1930s - present.
-
Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Screen Studies Collection brings the Film Periodicals Database, Film Index International, and the AFI Catalog together in one site.
e-Text Collections
-
GRETIL - Göttingen Register of Electronic Texts in Indian LanguagesGRETIL is intended as a cumulative register of the numerous download sites for electronic texts in Indian languages.
-
SARIT: Search and Retrieval of Indic TextsAccess to electronic editions of texts in Sanskrit and other Indian languages.
-
Gita SupersiteA digital repository of Indian philosophical texts. This website has the aphorisms of the Brahma Sutra together with Sankara's commentary.
-
Sanskrit Documents CollectionCompilation of Sanskrit Documents displayed in Devanagari and other Indian scripts, and in transliteration format.
-
Internet Indian History SourcebookThe Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
Literary Biography
-
Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new windowA bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
-
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
-
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
Browse books and ebooks on:
-
Pity of Partition: Manto's life, times, and work across the India-Pakistan divide
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2013Saadat Hasan Manto (1912-1955) was an established Urdu short story writer and a rising screenwriter in Bombay at the time of India's partition in 1947, and he is perhaps best known for the short stories he wrote following his migration to Lahore in newly formed Pakistan. Today Manto is an acknowledged master of twentieth-century Urdu literature, and his fiction serves as a lens through which the tragedy of partition is brought sharply into focus. -
Imaginary Homelands: essays and criticism 1981-1991
by
Location: Mugar Stacks PR6068.U757 I4 1992Publication Date: 1992Salman Rushdie's Imaginary Homelands is an important record of one writer's intellectual and personal odyssey. The seventy essays collected here, written over the last ten years, cover an astonishing range of subjects -the literature of the received masters and of Rushdie's contemporaries; the politics of colonialism and the ironies of culture; film, politicians, the Labour Party, religious fundamentalism in America, racial prejudice; and the preciousness of the imagination and of free expression. -
Elusive Lives: Gender, Autobiography, and the Self in Muslim South Asia
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2018Muslim South Asia is widely characterized as a culture that idealizes female anonymity: women's bodies are veiled and their voices silenced. Challenging these perceptions, Siobhan Lambert-Hurley highlights an elusive strand of autobiographical writing dating back several centuries that offers a new lens through which to study notions of selfhood. -
South Asian Writers in Twentieth-Century Britain
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2007South Asian Writers in Twentieth-Century Britain is the first book to provide a historical account of the publication and reception of South Asian anglophone writing from the 1930s to the present, based on original archival research drawn from a range of publishing houses. -
Writing Resistance: The Rhetorical Imagination of Hindi Dalit Literature
by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014Writing Resistance is the first close study of the growing body of contemporary Hindi-language Dalit (low caste) literature in India. The Dalit literary movement has had an immense sociopolitical and literary impact on various Indian linguistic regions, yet few scholars have attempted to situate the form within contemporary critical frameworks.
Bibliographies
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
An index to works, primarily in the humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, and books.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
-
National Bibliography of Indian Literature (NBIL)The National Bibliography of Indian Literature (NBIL) is a compilation of works "of literary merit, and important and significant books on Philosophy, Religion, History and the other aspects of the Humanities" The Bibliography covers the period from 1901-1953.
