Grammar Resources
Hindi by
This book presents the structure of Hindi keeping in view the sociolinguistic context of language use. It includes descriptions of sounds, devices of word formation, rules of phrase and sentence construction and conventions of language use in spoken and written texts incorporating the insights gained by application of recent linguistic theories. The account presented here, however, is free from abstruse technical vocabulary and modes of presentation that aim at justifying a particular linguistic model. This volume is primarily designed as a source of reference for linguists and educators who want to be better informed about the forms and functions of Hindi, and a resource for students and teachers of Hindi. Hindi, the official language of the Republic of India, is the second most widely spoken language with approximately three hundred and fifty million speakers. In its diasporic contexts, it is spoken in Africa, Australia, Europe, Fiji, Guyana, Surinam, Trinidad, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom and United States. An Indo-European language by genetic affiliation, Hindi shares many characteristics with Austro-Asiatic, Dravidian, and Sino-Tibetan languages of the subcontinent. In addition, Hindi has assimilated features of Arabic, Persian and English in a variety of its functionally determined styles.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2006
Essential Hindi: speak Hindi with confidence by
This portable, user-friendly Hindi language guide and phrasebook is the cheapest and easiest way to learn Hindi before and during your trip. If you only want to purchase one Hindi language book--Essential Hindi is the way to go. Part of Tuttle Publishing's Essential Series, it is a great first introduction and beginner guide to the language of India and is also designed as a Hindi phrasebook, making it the most versatile Hindi language learning tool on the market. Perfect for business people or tourist traveling to India or for students who want to supplement their learning, this book's easy indexing feature allows it to act as a Hindi phrase book or as an English-Hindi Dictionary. A clever "point to" feature allows you to simply point to a phrase translated in Hindi without the need to say a single word or read a single character. Terms and phrases cover all your conversations via mobile phones, internet, and social media in a way that will help you make the most of the language. In addition, sentences on the essentials of travel make it easier for visitors to navigate the basics of arranging accommodations, dining out, dealing with transportation and emergencies, and much more. Essential Hindi includes: Over 1,500 necessary sentences for everyday use. A glossary containing over 2,000 terms and expressions. Extensive notes on Hindi grammar and pronunciation. A handy format for finding the information you need quickly and easily. Look up the latest Hindi vocabulary and phrases for smart phones, blogging, Facebook and Twitter. Let Essential Hindi guide you in making the right word choices when communicating with friends and business colleagues, and the world!
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Hindi: how to communicate without fuss or fear - instantly! by
A handy Hindi phrasebook and guide to the Hindi language, Survival Hindi contains basic vocabulary necessary for getting around. This book contains all the necessary words and phrases for speaking Hindi in any kind of setting. Perfect for students, tourists, or business people learning Hindi or travelling to India, it also contains a beginner guide to the Indian language, allowing for a deeper understanding of Hindi than a typical Hindi phrasebook or Hindi dictionary. The book is broken into eight basic sections, covering everything from common Hindi expressions and key words to ordering in a restaurant. All Hindi words and phrases are written in Romanized form as well phonetically, making pronouncing Hindi a breeze. This phrasebook includes: Hundreds of useful Hindi words and expressions. An A-Z index with more than 1,000 words allowing the book to function as an English to Hindi dictionary. Romanized forms, phonetic spellings, and Hindi script (Devanagari) for all words and phrases. A concise background and history of the Hindi language. An introduction to the Hindi Alphabet. A pronunciation guide for Hindi. A guide to Hindi grammar.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2013
Hindi-Urdu Readers
- Digital Urdu Ghazal Reader The Digital Urdu Ghazal Reader is a digital version of a semester-long Urdu course reader created and used by Frances W. Pritchett at Columbia University. It can be used as the reader for a semester-long advanced Urdu class or as supplementary material for a first or second-year class. The interactive on-line reader aids students in orthography, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, and cultural and literary context.
- Readings in Urdu: Prose and Poetry byLocation: Mugar Stacks PK1975 .F65 and OnlinePublication Date: 1965
