Anthologies of fiction
The author of this guide owes a debt of gratitude to the following works:
Arab Women Writers by
A collection of sixty short stories by women writers from across the Arab world.
Publication Date: 2005-05-19
Oranges in the Sun by
Already widely known in the Gulf region, the stories in Oranges in the Sun are now available in English for the first time. Tales of hope and love, bereavement and acceptance, wonder and dismay reflect the new challenges confronting traditional tribal societies. Topics range from class struggle to immigration to the first Gulf War to the complexities of life transitions in the context of modern life. The authors - from Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen - include Yassir Abdul-bagi, Muhammad Abdel Malek, Wajdi Al Ahdal, Abdul Hamid Ahmed, Amer Al-Amara, Saud Al Arimi, Ali Awad Badheeb, Muhammed Bahahah, Saud Balochi, Ahmed Bellal, Zaid Mottra Dammaj, Hamdan Dummag, Zaid Saleh Al Fakiah, Jamal Farz, Muhammed Al Gharbi, Muhsin Al Hajiri, Hammad Al-Hammad, Nasser Al Hilabi, Ibrihim Nassir Al Humadan, Abdullah Hussain, Kaltham Jabbir, Talib Al Kaffa'i, Wadad Abdel-latif Al-Kawari, Jamal Khayyat, Suliman Al-Mamare, Mohammed Al Miri, Abdel-aziz Mishri, Yahya bin Salam Al-Mundhri, Huda Al Noami, Layla Al-Othman, BadrAbou Raghabai, Mohammad Bin Saif Ra'i, Hassan Rasheed, Ali Mohammed Rashid, Laila Mohammad Salehi, Mona Al-Shafai, and Assma Al Zar
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ8000.82.E5 O73 2008Publication Date: 2004-05-01
Global Voices by
This exciting anthology of fiction, poetry, and drama provides students with a window into the cultures and literatures of the Caribbean, Latin America, the Middle East, sub-Saharan Africa, South Asia, and East Asia. The selections for the six parts of the book were assembled by a team of six regional experts under the general editorship of Arthur W. Biddle. The regional editors have also provided introductions, headnotes, and footnotes, apparatus that is designed to give students the information they need without overwhelming them.
Publication Date: 1994-12-27
Opening the Gates by
An anthology of feminist writings by Arab women.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (HQ1784 .O64 2004 )Publication Date: 2004-04-01
Contemporary Iraqi Fiction by
'Contemporary Iraqi Fiction' gathers work from 16 Iraqi writers. Shedding a light on the diversity of Iraqi experience, the anthology includes selections by Iraqi women, Jews, Christians and Muslims, both those living in Iraq and abroad. The stories are united in writing about a homeland that has known suffering.
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ8046.5.E5 C66 2008Publication Date: 2009-01-01
In the House of Silence by
To complement the novels in Garnet’s award-winning Arab Women Writers series, In the House of Silence is a collection of autobiographical writings by thirteen leading Arab women authors. Through these testimonies the women describe their experiences and expose the often-difficult conditions under which their narratives were woven. Patterns emerge, which run throughout their testimonies – experiences of confinement, subjugation, the struggle for education and the eventual use ofwriting as a way out. They speak of their own reasons for writing, of how experiences in family life, politics, exile and even imprisonment have affected them and their work, and of how their motivation has been both tested and reinforced by various setbacks and the struggle for recognition. Startlingly honest, these testimonies will be essential reading for all those interested in women’s roles in Arab society and the ways that these roles are changing.
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ7525.2 .I5 1998ISBN: 9781859640234Publication Date: 1998-10-06
Arab Women Novelists by
This book assesses the contribution of women to the Arabic novel, both in subject matter and form. It begins by tracing the struggle over women s rights in the Arab world, particularly the gradual improvement in women s access to education the first area in which women made significant gains. Subsequent chapters discuss Arab women writers remarkable talents and determination to overcome the barriers of a male-dominated culture; survey the 1950s and 1960s, during which women s writing gained momentum and more women writers emerged; and address the shift in emphasis and attitude that women s literature underwent in the late 1960s, especially following the 1967 Arab-Israeli war, when women novelists began to place more stress on international politics. Zeidan adapts Western-based feminist literary theory to a discussion of Arab women s literature but refrains from imposing that theory inappropriately on literature whose context differs significantly. He compares the women s movements in Arab and Western cultures and the development of women s literature in those cultures, and uses these comparisons to highlight similarities and differences between them as well as to consider how one affected the other. His analysis culminates in the early 1980s the end of the formative years when women s writing had become a familiar part of Arabic literature in general and a positive reflection on the collective Arab consciousness."
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ7525.2 .Z45 1995Publication Date: 1995-03-16
Modern Arabic Fiction by
Beginning with the late-nineteenth-century cultural resurgence and continuing through the present day, short stories and novels have given voice to the personal and historical experiences of modern Arabs. This anthology offers a rich and diverse selection of works from more than one hundred and forty prominent Arab writers of fiction. The collection reflects Arab writers' formal inventiveness as well as their intense exploration of various dimensions of modern Arab life, including the impact of modernity, the rise of the oil economy, political authoritarianism, corruption, religion, poverty, and the Palestinian experience in modern times. Salma Khadra Jayyusi, a renowned scholar of Arabic literature, has included short stories and excerpts from novels from authors in every Arab country. Modern Arabic Fiction contains writings stretching from the pioneering work of late-nineteenth- and early-twentieth-century authors to the novels of Naguib Mahfouz and the stories of contemporary Arab writers. In addition to familiar names such as Mahfouz, the anthology presents excerpts from writers well known in the Arab world but just beginning to find an audience in the West, including early twentieth century Christian Lebanese writer Jurji Zaydan, whose historical epics were eye-openers for generations of Arab readers to the achievements of medieval Islamic civilization; Yusuf Idris's complex and brilliant portrait of Egypt's poor; 'Abd al-Rahman Muneef's searing exploration of the ecological and social impact of oil production; Palestinian writer Jabra Ibrahim Jabra's sophisticated description of the dilemma's of modern Arab intellectuals; and Jamal al-Ghitani's impressive employment of mythical time and the continuity of the past in the present. Jayyusi provides biographical information on the writers as well as a substantial and illuminating introduction to the development of modern Arabic fictional genres that considers the central thematic and aesthetic concerns of Arab short story writers and novelists.
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ7694.E8 M59 2005ISBN: Mugar Stacks PJ7694.E8 M59 2005Publication Date: 2005-05-04
Middle Eastern Muslim Women Speak by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (HQ1170 .M53 )Publication Date: 1977-02-01
Under the Naked Sky by
Drawing on an intimate knowledge of modern Arabic writing, Denys Johnson-Davies brings together in this collection a colorful mosaic of life as lived and portrayed by Arabs from Morocco to Iraq. From a diverse area of the world with the common factor of a written language, these thirty stories tell of an old Moroccan peasant woman who kills snakes; an Iraqi soldier who returns home as a stranger after years as a prisoner-of-war; a repairer of lost virginities in a Tunisian village; a typically Mahfouzian start to a train journey; the steamy meeting of two women and a cat at the height of an Iraqi summer; the ill-fated attraction of a boy to a magical bird in the Tuareg deserts of Libya; and a novel way of hunting ducks in the Nile Delta. The purveyors of this strange and delightful cornucopia of fictions include Naguib Mahfouz, Yusuf Idris, Gamal al-Ghitani, and Mohamed El-Bisatie from Egypt; Fuad al-Takarli and Mohamed Khudayyir from Iraq; Zakaria Tamer from Syria; Hanan al-Shaykh from Lebanon; and Ibrahim al-Kouni from Libya.
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ7694.E8 U534 2000Publication Date: 2001-04-01
The Anchor Book of Modern Arabic Fiction by
This dazzling anthology features the work of seventy-nine outstanding writers from all over the Arab-speaking world, from Morocco in the west to Iraq in the east, Syria in the north to Sudan in the south. Edited by Denys Johnson-Davies, called by Edward Said “the leading Arabic-to-English translator of our time,” this treasury of Arab voices is diverse in styles and concerns, but united by a common language. It spans the full history of modern Arabic literature, from its roots in western cultural influence at the end of the nineteenth century to the present-day flowering of Naguib Mahfouz’s literary sons and daughters. Among the Egyptian writers who laid the foundation for the Arabic literary renaissance are the great Tawfik al-Hakim; the short story pioneer Mahmoud Teymour; and Yusuf Idris, who embraced Egypt’s vibrant spoken vernacular. An excerpt from the Sudanese writer Tayeb Salih’s novel Season of Migration to the North, one of the Arab world’s finest, appears alongside the Libyan writer Ibrahim al-Koni’s tales of the Tuaregs of North Africa, the Iraqi writer Mohamed Khudayir’s masterly story “Clocks Like Horses,” and the work of such women writers as Lebanon’s Hanan al-Shaykh and Morocco’s Leila Abouzeid.
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ7694.E8 A53 2006Publication Date: 2006-10-17
Arabic Short Stories by
An alleyway of Tangier as seen through the eyes of a prostitute, the price paid by a sophisticated Cairene philanderer for his infatuation with a young bedouin girl, the callous treatment a young wife receives from the man to whom she has been married. These are some of the themes of the twenty-four stories in this volume, each by a different author and rendered into English by one of the finest translators of Arabic fiction. Among the authors represented are Edward El-Kharrat, Bahaa Taher, Alifa Rifaat, and Ghassan Kanafani. Through the eyes of insiders, these stories show us the intimate texture of life throughout the diverse countries and cultures of the Arabic world.
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ7694.E8 A73 1994Publication Date: 1994-12-22
Arab Women Writers by
An invaluable new reference source and critical review of Arab women writers from the last quarter of the nineteenth century to the end of the twentieth century .Arab women's writing in the modern age began with 'A'isha al-Taymuriya, Warda al-Yaziji, Zaynab Fawwaz, and other nineteenth-century pioneers in Egypt and the Levant. This unique study-first published in Arabic in 2004-looks at the work of those pioneers and then traces the development of Arabwomen's literature through the end of the twentieth century, and also includes a meticulously researched, comprehensive bibliography of writing by Arab women. In the first section, in nine essays that cover the Arab Middle East from Morocco to Iraq and Syria to Yemen, critics and writers from the Arab world examine the origin and evolution of women's writing in each country in the region, addressing fiction, poetry, drama, and autobiographical writing. The second part of the volume contains bibliographical entries for over 1,200 Arab women writers from the last third of the nineteenth century through 1999. Each entry contains a short biography and a bibliography of each author's published works. This section also includes Arab women's writing inFrench and English, as well as a bibliography of works translated into English. With its broad scope and extensive research, this book is an indispensable resource for anyone interested in Arabic literature, women's studies, or comparative literature.
Location: Available Online and Mugar Reference X PJ7525.2 .D413 2008Publication Date: 2008-11-01
