Skip to Main Content
Advertisements
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America (AM Explorer)
The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
Ad*Access, 1911-1955 - Duke University
"The advertisements on this website have been made available for use in research, teaching, and private study. For these purposes under fair use, you may reproduce (print, make photocopies, or download) materials from this web site without prior permission, on the condition that you provide proper attribution of the source in all copies."
..."For other uses of materials from this web site - i.e. commercial products, publication, broadcast, mirroring, and anything else that doesn't fall under "fair use" - we require that:
Users must obtain permission from the current copyright holder.
Individuals wishing to publish or broadcast any advertisement included on this website must assume all responsibility for identifying and satisfying any claimants of copyright, trademarks, or service marks.
Users must also obtain permission from the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History to reproduce materials held in its archive that are featured on this website.
A letter granting permission from the current copyright holder must be submitted along with the request to the Hartman Center."
AdClassix.com
"Q. Can I use your images on my site?
A. Yes. Please credit each image used from our site as follows:
Image courtesy AdClassix.com
Please ensure the hyperlink returns to our home page at: http://www.adclassix.com.
IMPORTANT: Usage of our images is at your own risk. The ads may or may not be subject to additional copyright from their original creators. Due to the large amount of images documented on our site from thousands of different companies, we do not provide copyright clearance of any kind, nor do we maintain ownership information. Please consult your legal department if you have any further questions."
Ad Council
Public service communications.
Adflip, 1940-2001
"The images available on this site are presented for historical research and educational purposes only. The adflip site is not endorsed by any of the respective copyright owners. The creators and maintainers of this web site take no responsibility for the information provided herein. All products and brand names mentioned are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. All characters and all related slogans and indica are trademarks of the respective copyright owners. The use of such material falls under Fair use provisions.
This web site or any portion of this web site may not be reproduced, duplicated, copied, sold, resold, or otherwise exploited for any commercial purpose that is not expressly permitted by adflip."
Advertising Archives, mid-19th century to present
"The thumbnail and preview images available on the site are for research purposes only and may not be reproduced without prior permission from AA." Please read Terms of Use.
"British & American Press Adverts
British & American Magazine Covers and Artwork including story Illustrations
Rare French & Spanish Magazine Art
British TV Advertising Stills
Mail Order Catalogues
Posters, Postcards, Menus, Theatre Programmes & other Ephemera
Wide selection of Vintage Magazines
Sears Archives, 1886 to present
Images of homes, products, brands
Stanford Research Into the Impact of Tobacco Advertising (SRITA)
Plus Pods, Heat, E-Cigs, Chewing, Marijuana, Hookah, Pipe/Cigars
Vintage Ad Browser
"Vintage ads are shown here in fair use context. Every gallery's images are © by their
original company or artist. This site does not endorse any advertisement."
Magazines
American Periodicals
Advanced Search. Limit to Document Type=Advertisement, Illustration, Image/Photograph.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing.
Gallery of Graphic Design, 1930-1969 (magazines)
Summary (filter) by magazine, product, illustrator, keyword, magazine year, magazine issue.
Magazines: Life, Woman's Day, Good Housekeeping, Time, Saturday Evening Post, Ladies' Home Journal, Newsweek, Family Circle, Better Homes and Gardens, Sports Illustrated, Look, Liberty, Woman's Home Companion, Photoplay, The Home Magazine, Coronet, Popular Science
Harper's Weekly
"Search within this publication" - Limit to Document Type=Advertisement.
Life Magazine, 1883-1936
Click on Advanced Search. Limit to Document Type=Advertisements.
LIFE Magazine, 1936-1972
In "Search Inside" box, type Advertisement and the name of the product or keyword.
Databases
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
