Related Guides
Background Sources
- Encyclopedia of American Studies Contains about 660 alphabetically arranged articles in which specialists and scholars examine topics related to American studies, providing diverse perspectives on American history, culture, and society, and includes a comprehensive index.
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture The entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance (which include theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance). The entries analyze each topic or person's significance in and relevance to American popular culture; in addition to basic factual information, readers will gain perspective on the cultural context in which the topic or person has importance.
- The Oxford Handbook of Material Culture Studies The Oxford Handbook of Material Culture Studies introduces and reviews thinking in the interdisciplinary field of material culture studies. Drawing together approaches from archaeology, anthropology, geography, and science and technology studies, through twenty-eight specially-commissioned articles, the volume explores contemporary issues and debates in a series of themed sections.
- American Chronicle : six decades in American life, 1920-1980 All the news, radio, television, movie, popular and classical music, theater, art, dance, literary, science and technology, sports, and fashion highlights of every year from 1920 to 1980 are recorded. Facts and figures, headlines, quotas, ads, fads, firsts, and anecdotes-- as well as more than 250 photographs--supplement the listings.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History offers a record of the nation’s values, aspirations, anxieties, and beliefs as expressed in both everyday life and formal bodies of thought.
- Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns An annual publication that profiles important marketing campaigns of the 20th century.
- Encyclopedia of American Industries Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. The work consists of more than 1,000 detailed profiles of the manufacturing and service industries.
- The Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film Comprising over 90 essays and richly illustrated with over 200 images, the Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film provides a chronological portrait of American film history from its origins to the present day. Taken as a whole, the essays in this collection represent a comprehensive and nuanced overview of American film history from the intersecting perspectives of industry, audiences, aesthetics, culture, politics, issues, and ideology.
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Covers a wide range of U.S. history from the arrival of Vikings in North America, through the American Revolution, the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Includes reference works, magazine articles, and primary source documents ranging from slave journals to presidential papers.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Published by Oxford University Press, it is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database containing dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.
Biographical Sources
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window Biographical dictionary of notable deceased American men and women from all eras of American history. Includes illustrations and links to other web resources.
- Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window Letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories; much material was unpublished. Date coverage:1840-, focusing heavily on the period from 1890 to 1920.
- Diaries of Girls and Women : A Midwestern American Sampler "Diaries of Girls and Women" captures and preserves the diverse lives of forty-seven girls and women who lived in Minnesota, Iowa, and Wisconsin between 1837 and 1999--young schoolgirls, adolescents coming of age, newlywed wives, mothers grieving the loss of children, teachers, nurses, elderly women, Luxembourger immigrant nuns, and women traveling abroad.
- American diaries : an annotated bibliography of published American diaries and journals v. 1. Diaries written from 1492 to 1844 -- v. 2. Diaries written from 1845 to 1980.
Find more American diaries
