Skip to Main Content
Archival Collections & Manuscripts
AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
AM Explorer is a cross-collection search of the entire corpus of Adam Matthew's digitized arts and cultural heritage material in subjects including Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. Topics include U.S. foreign policy, U.S. civil rights, global affairs and colonial studies, and modern history. Select more... for specific collections.
more... less... American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
Black Economic Empowerment: the National Negro Business League
Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation
Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress
Final Accountability Rosters of Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946
Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945
Grassroots Civil Rights and Social Action: Council for Social Action
Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes
Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie and Company
Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military
James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
Japanese American Internment: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1918
Lincoln at the Bar: Extant Case Files from the U.S. District and Circuit Courts, Southern District of Illinois 1855-1861
Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S.
Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981
Price Control in the Courts: The U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals, 1941-1961
Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979
Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project
Reconstruction, Jim Crow, and the Enforcement of Federal Law in the South, 1871-1884
Spiro T. Agnew Case: The Investigative and Legal Documents
U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: Integration of the University of Mississippi and the Use of Military Force, 1961-1963
U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: The Little Rock Integration Crisis, 1957-1958
U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: The Military Response to the March on Washington, 1963
War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824
We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Eyewitness accounts of historical events, ads and genealogical records published in popular 19th century newspapers including African-American publications.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, including information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. Over 1,000 different archival institutions are represented. ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Smithsonian Institution Research Information System
ibrary Catalog, Art Inventories Catalog, Archives & Manuscripts Catalog, Research/Bibliographies Catalog, and the Smithsonian Chronology Catalog.
Manuscript Reading Room, Library of Congress
Catalog records of manuscripts pertaining to American history and culture. Links to special online exhibits and digitized historical material.
National Archives and Records Administration
Historical records of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the federal government.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
Library of Congress. Archives and manuscript repositories throughout the United States.
Building Technology Heritage Library
"...primarily a collection of American and Canadian, pre-1964 architectural trade catalogs, house plan books and technical building guides."
Baker Library Historical Collections (Harvard University)
Manuscript material and a collection of over 30,000 photographs and engraved images documenting U.S. industrial history.