Skip to Main Content
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Eyewitness accounts of historical events, ads and genealogical records published in popular 19th century newspapers including African-American publications.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable digital images of newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries. Date coverage: 1690 -1876.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 (London) This link opens in a new window
Date coverage: 1785 - 1985. An online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Times (London) to 1985. Full page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text. NOTE: For 1985+ use Nexis Uni.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for date coverage and to search that publication separately.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005.
History of American Magazines, 1741-1930, by Frank Luther Mott
A comprehensive history of the general development of American magazines and separate sketches of individual magazines. Many of the magazines are available full text in the American Periodicals database.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907
See also: Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature., 1890-1899, with supplementary indexing., 1900-1922. Mugar Reference XA13.F44.
Cumulated magazine subject index, 1907-1949. Mugar Reference XA13 .F64.
Harper's Weekly: Journal of Civilization
For entire run:
Harper’s Weekly (1857-1912)
Full-text searchable page reproductions of the leading 19th century U.S. illustrated journal, browsable by date, subject, and page thumbnails.
Only available at Boston Public Library.
Modernist Journal Project - Brown University & University of Tulsa
"The historical scope of the project has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922, and a geographical range that extends to wherever English language periodicals were published."
Pulp Magazine Project: an [open access] archive of all-fiction pulpwood magazines from 1896-1946
The Pulp Magazines Project is an open-access digital archive dedicated to the study and preservation of one of the twentieth century's most influential literary & artistic forms: the all-fiction pulpwood magazine.
Google Books (magazines online 1936-1972)