Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by Location: Online
Encyclopedia of Psychology by Location: Mugar Reference X BF31 .E524 2000 and onlinePublication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity by
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity is the first encyclopedia to reflect the changes in the mission of human services professionals as they face today's increasingly diverse service population. Diversity encompasses a broad range of human differences, including differences in ability and disability, age, education level, ethnicity, gender, geographic origin, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic class, and values. Understanding the needs and problems of Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, the deaf, the blind, the LGBT community, and many other groups demands an up-to-date and cutting-edge reference. This three-volume encyclopedia provides human services students, professors, librarians, and practitioners the reference information they need to meet the needs of an increasingly diverse population.Features: 600 signed entries are organized A-to-Z across three volumes. Entries, authored by key figures in the field, conclude with cross references and further readings. A Reader's Guide groups related articles within broad, thematic areas, such as aging, community mental health, family and child services, substance abuse, etc. A detailed index, the Reader's Guide, and cross references combine for search-and-browse in the electronic version. A helpful Resource Guide guides students to classic books, journals, and web sites, and a glossary assists them with the terminology of the field. Available in both print and electronic formats, Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity is an ideal reference for students, practitioners, faculty and librarians.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care by
This new edition has been fully revised and updated to provide over 1,800 A-Z definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field. Covering social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as keyterms from interdisciplinary topics overlapping with health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available. It also provides extended entries on specialisms such as children and families, domestic violence, and residential care, and has been extensively updated toinclude new legislation. Useful appendices include a glossary of acronyms and a Table of Legislation, Regulations, and Codes of Practice, cross-referenced to Dictionary entries. Entry-level bibliographies and web links provide further resources and the web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companionwebsite. Written by two leading figures in the field, and a team of eleven contributors, A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care is a must-have for students of social work, social care, and related subjects, as well as for qualified social workers undertaking continuing professional developmentprogrammes.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2018
The Social Work Dictionary by
The dynamic vocabulary of social work, like the profession itself, continues to grow and become more complex. Since the first edition of 'The Social Work Dictionary' in 1987, this essential reference work has been recognised as the definitive lexicon of social work. Now in its fifth edition, the dictionary captures over 9,000 terms, cataloguing and cross-referencing the nomenclature, concepts, organisations, historical figures, and values that define the profession. A special historical section represents a chronology of the significant developments in the United States and the world toward social welfare policies, practices, and the betterment of humanity. Used extensively in schools of social work, social service agency libraries, and in social work offices world-wide, this is a staple in professional libraries. It is unequalled as a study tool for preparing for licensing and certification exams. Every social worker -- from professor to student, from novice to experienced professional -- should own this unparalleled resource for understanding the language of social work and related disciplines.
Location: Mugar Reference XHV12 B37 2014Publication Date: 2014
Professional Resources
- American Association of State Social Work BoardsStudy guide : a guide for candidates preparing for the ASWB social work examination Provides information on the examination program and test-taking strategies. Also provides the examination content outline and a practice test.
- An Author's Guide to Social Work Journals Journals are arranged by subject category. Information provided about each journal includes editorial focus, circulation, frequency of publication, how to submit manuscripts, format of manuscripts, and review process.
- Journals in Social Work and Related Disciplines Compiled by Patrick Leung and Monit Cheung. Includes Impact Factors, Five-Year Impact Factors, and H-indexes
- Effective Grant Writing and Program Evaluation for Human Service Professionals Provides information about basic research methods and program evaluation as well as information on how to write grant proposals. Includes sample proposals.
