Skip to main content

Social Work

Find Articles: Core Databases

Other Relevant Databases

Search Tips

When searching the databases be as specific as possible in terms of search terms and if you don’t have good results with one term or combination of terms, think of synonyms that could also be used. A thesaurus is available in some databases, including PsycINFO.  Use the dropdown menus in the search boxes to limit to subject(s) if you are getting too many irrelevant items with the default search. The EBSCO databases, including PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection can be searched at the same time by clicking Choose Databases next to the title of a database and then choosing the additional databases you wish to search. Use the various limiters in the databases to limit to peer-reviewed articles, limit by date, and in databases such as PsycINFO, to limit by methodology,  including empirical studies, literature reviews, case studies, etc  Some limiters may disappear when a number of  databases are searched together because not all databases provide the same limiters.

Saving Search Results in EBSCO Databases

EBSCOhost logoMany of the databases provided by the BU Libraries use the EBSCO interface. This video shows how to save search results in EBSCO databases to a folder and to then print, email, save, or export those results.

Using the Find @ BU Button

Find @ BU
In many of our databases you will sometimes see a Find @ BU button that appears with some article search results. That means the full article is not available in the database, but we may have access to it anyway. This video shows you how that works.

Librarian

Meredith Kirkpatrick's picture
Meredith Kirkpatrick
Contact:
meredith@bu.edu
Mugar Library
771 Commonwealth Ave.
Boston, MA 02215
617-358-3956