Video Spotlight
Open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, the Gurudwara Bangla Sahib temple in New Delhi, India, feeds 30,000 to 40,000 people every day for free.
Foundational Sources
- Food Culture in India
- Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia
- Countries and their Cultures
- The Food and Culture around the World Handbook
- The Oxford Companion to Food
- "Food Preparation: South Asia," in Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
- "India, " in Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia
- "India," in Sweet Treats Around the World
- "India," in Street Food Around the World
- "India," in Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
- "Hinduism and Food," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
- "Jainism and Food," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
- "India," in Ethnic American Food Today
- Pepper: a history of the world's most influential spice
Ethnic Fermented Foods and Beverages of India: Science History and Culture by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2020This book provides detailed information on the various ethnic fermented foods and beverages of India.
Curried Cultures by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2012A wide-ranging collection of essays-explores the relationship between globalization and South Asia through food, covering the cuisine of the colonial period to the contemporary era, investigating its material and symbolic meanings.
Feasts and Fasts by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2014Examines the diet of the Indian subcontinent for thousands of years, describing the country's cuisine in the context of its religious, moral, social, and philosophical development.
Culinary culture in colonial India : a cosmopolitan platter and the middle-class by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2015This book utilizes cuisine to understand the construction of the colonial middle class in Bengal.
Indian Community Cookbook Project
Indian Community Cookbook Project: We are three undergraduate students of FLAME University who started this website as part of our Digital Humanities course, but then it became so much more. The idea behind this was to represent the lesser known cuisines of India, but it soon evolved to the digitization of Indian cookbooks, especially ones that have been passed down through several generations. Cookbooks, we feel, do not only contain recipes, but familial love and nostalgia. Hence, they are very special archives of the past.
Indian Diaspora
- "Chinese and Indian Restaurants in the San Francisco Bay Area since the 1960s," in California History 94 (Winter 2017)
- "India," in Ethnic American Food Today: A Cultural Encyclopedia
- "The North American Indian Restaurant Menu: The Triumph of Inauthenticity," in Authenticity in the Kitchen: Proceedings of the Oxford Symposium on Food and Cookery 2005
Films
- Maharajah Burger (streaming, Ethnographic Video Online)
- Kerala (India) - The Land of Spices and Coconuts (streaming, Academic Video Online)
- The Lunchbox (streaming, Alexander Street)
- Cooking in the Danger Zone: India (streaming, Academic Video Online)
- India: Sanjeev Kapoor (streaming, Academic Video Online)
- Dal puri diaspora (streaming, Academic Video Online)
