Demographics and Psychographics: Target Markets
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Mintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles. For instructions see the Mintel Tutorial.
- MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window Contains detailed consumer product and media data collected from a national sample of U.S. consumers. Data includes: demographics, product usage and media exposure. See MRI-Simmons Catalyst for instructions.
Marketing Book Collection (Pardee Library Reference)
These books offer detailed breakdowns on various consumer segments within the United States. They can be found in the Reference collection on the 3rd floor of Pardee Library.
Here are some sample target market books by category:
- Consumer Expenditure Surveyfrom the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the original source for some of the statistics in these texts. See: Consumer Expenditures in 2022 (latest)
You can also follow these links to consult the Library’s Research Guides:
Population Data and Statistics
Key Sources for U.S. Population Statistics:
- Census Data
Access data about the nation's people and economy including demographic data and the Economic Census.
- Census Publications
Various Census reports, issued irregularly. Reports summarize data from demographic surveys of the US population.
- Social & Demographic Trends
Reports & datasets from the Pew Research Center include population statistics.
Boston Statistics
Local Reports - Boston and Massachusetts
- Massachusetts Indicators (Kids Count Data Center) Has data for state, county, school district, city (Boston), Congressional district. Depending on location, includes economic well-being, education indicators, family & community, health.
- State of Early Education and Care (Analyze Boston) The State of Early Education and Care in Boston: Supply, Demand, Affordability, and Quality, is the first in what is planned as a recurrent landscape survey of early childhood, preschool and childcare programs in every neighborhood of Boston. It focuses on potential supply, demand and gaps in child-care seats (availability, quality and affordability).
- Child Opportunity Index 2.0 database (diversitydatakids.org) Composite index measured at the census tract level that captures neighborhood resources and conditions that matter for children's healthy development in a single metric. The index focuses on contemporary features of neighborhoods that are affecting children. It is based on 29 indicators spanning 3 domains: education, health and environment, and social and economic. COI 2.0 data is available for virtually all U.S. census tracts for 2010 and 2015.
- WIC Enrollment (mass.gov) WIC enrollment numbers and numbers eligible for Boston.
- National Database of Childcare Prices (NDCP) The National Database of Childcare Prices (NDCP) is the most comprehensive federal source of childcare prices at the county level. The database offers childcare price data by childcare provider type, age of children, and county characteristics. Data are available from 2008 to 2018.
- Boston’s Child-Care Supply Crisis (The Boston Foundation) Boston’s state of child care was in a crisis long before COVID-19. The pandemic further disrupted this fragile system and had an impact on the spaces where young children receive developmental screenings and intervention services. Using the best data available, this research brief contextualizes the pandemic impact across Boston neighborhoods on: 1) licensed child-care supply for children ages 0 to 5 years in center-based and family child-care (FCC) programs; and 2) utilization of Ages
- Child & Family Data Archive (CFData) Launched in 2019, the Child and Family Data Archive (CFData) preserves and disseminates data on topics related to young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them. CFData holds hundreds of datasets and accompanying documentation for secondary data analysis on important issues of policy and practice relevance, including data previously housed with Child Care and Early Education Research Connections (CCEERC).
