Industry Classifications – SIC, NAICS…
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is used by U.S. statistical agencies to facilitate the collection, tabulation, presentation, and analysis of data relating to economic establishments by sector and industry. The websites below can help you identify your industry by NAICS code, and the older SIC code.
- Census DataAccess data about the nation's people and economy including demographic data and the Economic Census.
- U.S. Census NAICS-SIC Concordance TablesFind your NAICS code, and you will find the corresponding SIC code. Click on Concordances located under Reference Files.
- North American Industry Classification Search (NAICS)Search by keyword to find the NAICS code for the industry you are researching. Includes 2022, 2017 and 2012 NAICS codes.
- Standard Industrial Classification Manual (SIC) SearchSearch by keyword to find the SIC code for the industry you are researching.
Industry Reports
- Industry Survey Locator This link opens in a new window This database was developed and is maintained by Pardee Librarians to provide one stop shopping to individual US (and some global) industry surveys linked in our business databases. Databases include Hoover’s, IBISWorld, MarketLine, Mintel, S&P NetAdvantage, and Valueline. Does not include BMI, Frost & Sullivan, and Gartner reports.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Comprehensive collection of Industry reports organized by NAICS code. Reports include competitive landscape, supply chain, statistics and key facts as well as information on key issues facing the industry. Includes U.S. Specialized Industry Reports and Global Industry Reports.
Examples:
"Children's and Infants' Clothing Stores in the US."
"Online Children's Toy Sales in the US."
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Mintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles. For instructions see the Mintel Tutorial.
Examples:
"Activities of Toddlers and Preschoolers - US - 2023".
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window NetAdvantage (S&P Global) provides web based access to S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Company Profiles, Stock Reports and Sub-Industry Reviews. Each S&P Industry Survey includes current trends, how the industry operates, downloadable company data and links to industry trade associations.
- MarketLine Industry Profiles This link opens in a new window MarketLine (Formerly Datamonitor) Industry Profiles provide profiles on industries worldwide and are available through the Business Source Complete database. Each industry profile includes a market overview, market share, market size, leading companies in the industry and market forecasts. To locate an industry survey, type the industry name in the search box, select title from the drop-down menu and click on the Search button.
- Hoover's Industry Snapshots This link opens in a new window Provides more than 600 industry snapshots from Hoovers Company and Industry Reports via Nexis Uni. The snapshots include the following industry information or links to relevant information: Description; Terminology; Associations & Organizations and Selected Resources.
- Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window Provides reference content from Gale's core business collection; company fundamentals and investment research reports; industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories.
Industry Statistics
- Bizstats.comFinancial ratios, business statistics and benchmarks.
- Census DataAccess data about the nation's people and economy including demographic data and the Economic Census.
Manufacturing & Distribution USA
Location: Pardee Reserve - Reference HD9723 .M365Industry information arranged by NAICS code, including competitors, materials, statistics, inputs and outputs. The latest copy is at the Pardee Services Desk on the Reserve-Reference (High Use) shelves.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United StatesLocation: Mugar Library HA202 .E78Provides a summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The latest copy is at Mugar Library Reference.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Mintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles. For instructions see the Mintel Tutorial.
Local Industry Reports
Child Care and Education
- Mass.gov Early Education & Care Reports
- The Massachusetts Early Education and Care Workforce Survey 2019 (UMass Boston)
- The State of Early Education and Care in Boston: Supply, Demand, Affordability, and Quality (Analyze Boston)
Toys and Children's Clothing
- "Let's Talk About How Kids Dress" (Boston Globe)
- "Toy Industry Embraces a New Goal: Building Resilience" (Boston Globe)
- "Play it Again: Classic Toys Are Hot Again as Interactive Fun is Making a Comeback" (Boston Globe)
Local Competition
- Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window Current and historical directories of U.S. businesses and consumers. Search businesses by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, revenue, location, number of employees and more. Also includes job and internship listings.
- Company Dossier through Nexis UniIn the Company Dossier box, click on “Create a Company List” to create a list of international or U.S. companies by industry, geographic area and revenue. Rank U.S. companies by sales.
- Policy Map This link opens in a new window Easy-to-use online mapping and visualization tool. Downloadable U.S. demographic, economic and social data by city, state, zip code, county or census tract. Types of data include crime, housing, health, education and occupations, derived from both public and proprietary sources.
Trade News
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Provides worldwide full text access to local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
