Finding Background Sources
Background information on the topic of your group project can help you focus and refine your research. It can provide you with a big picture context within which you can place your own work. It can provide information from reliable sources that provides a framework for readers of the report that your group produces.
Where to start?
- A database called CQ Researcher provides overviews of many current and controversial topics. It's an excellent starting point, providing an overview of the topic, historical background, current situation and future outlook, a chronology, maps and graphs, and a bibliography of additional sources.
- Be sure to use the BU Libraries Search and search for your topic along with a keyword such as: dictionary, encyclopedia or handbook to locate helpful reference sources for your topic.
Finding Books
Click the links below to see results for each topic in BU Libraries Search:
Finding Articles: Journals
Listed below are several examples of journals. Search for additional publications using the terms "international relations", or "foreign policy" in our eJournals search.
Finding Articles: Databases
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window A full text database covering working papers, policy briefs, interviews, journal articles, and e-books in the field of international relations. Date coverage approximately 1995 - present.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window Comprehensive collections of primary documents released through the Freedom of Information Act. Includes many aspects of U.S. foreign policy and military policy from 1945 to the present. Overlaps with U.S. Declassified Documents but has more recent coverage.
- Economist Intelligence Unit: Country Reports This link opens in a new window Each country page in the EIU database provides forecast updates and featured analysis on economic and political events as well as content pertaining to market opportunities, government regulations and the financial services sector.
- Foreign & International Law Resources Database This link opens in a new window The Foreign and International Law Resources Database (FILRD) "allows researchers to browse publications from the American Society of International Law and the prominent Yearbooks from around the world, as well as the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series and the publications of dozens of other highly-respected publishers."
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window The PAIS International database covers current public policy issues and areas of potential legislation. Cited articles, books and documents can date back to 1910 and are listed in the original language. While some full text is included, the index primarily links to full text articles available through existing BU subscriptions. Date coverage: Approximately 1910 - present.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new window Policy File Index contains information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Coverage: 1990 - current
- Political Science Database This link opens in a new window Political Science Database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources. Coverage: 1985 - current
- Politics Collection This link opens in a new window This collection, which includes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.
- U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library This link opens in a new window The largest and most complete online collection of U.S. treaties and agreements. Lists all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. Searchable PDF page images of treaties and agreements provided.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts international relations, political science, and foreign affairs literature. May include references to dissertations, books, or scholarly articles. Some full text included; links provided to BU content. Date coverage: 1975 - present.
