Finding Background Sources
Background information on the topic of your group project can help you focus and refine your research. It can provide you with a big picture context within which you can place your own work. It can provide information from reliable sources that provides a framework for readers of the report that your group produces.
Where to start?
- A database called CQ Researcher provides overviews of many current and controversial topics. It's an excellent starting point, providing an overview of the topic, historical background, current situation and future outlook, a chronology, maps and graphs, and a bibliography of additional sources.
- Be sure to use the BU Libraries Search and search for your topic along with the keyword: dictionary or encyclopedia to located helpful reference sources for your topic.
Finding Books
Click the links below to see results for each topic in BU Libraries Search:
.... Remote work AND post-COVID-19
.... Domestic work AND minimum wage
Finding Articles: Journals
Click here to search for journal titles within the the BU Libraries.
Find Articles: Databases
Many of our databases are searchable via the BU Libraries Search, but you can also search directly within the databases. Visit our Databases A-Z list and browse by the following subjects:
Related Guides
Our Subject Librarians have compiled a variety of subject specific guides that bring together relevant resources from across our collections with selected sources from the internet. You can browse these guides by subject here: https://library.bu.edu/guides
Note that you can also perform a keyword search across the guides by using the searchbox in the top left corner.
Examples of useful guides include:
