Finding Background Sources
Background information on the topic of your group project can help you focus and refine your research. It can provide you with a big picture context within which you can place your own work. It can provide information from reliable sources that provides a framework for readers of the report that your group produces.
Where to start?
- A database called CQ Researcher provides overviews of many current and controversial topics. It's an excellent starting point, providing an overview of the topic, historical background, current situation and future outlook, a chronology, maps and graphs, and a bibliography of additional sources.
- Be sure to use the BU Libraries Search and search for your topic along with a keyword such as: dictionary, encyclopedia or handbook to locate helpful reference sources for your topic.
Finding Books
Find books on Artificial Intelligence:
...... "Artificial intelligence"
...... Artificial intelligence AND criminology OR "criminal justice"
......Artificial intelligence AND jobs OR economy
Find books on Space Exploration:
....."Space exploration"
.....Space exploration AND commercial
.....Space exploration AND security
Finding Articles: Journals
Artificial Intelligence
Space Exploration
Finding Articles: Databases
- Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window Covers all aspects of applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, aerospace and space sciences; also covers technology development and applications in supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. Includes journal literature and reports issued by NASA and other U.S. government agencies. Corresponds to International Aerospace Abstracts (IAA) and Scientific and Technical Aerospace Reports (STAR).
- General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary science database designed for students and non-specialists. Subjects includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health, medicine, oceanography, physics, and zoology. Covers leading journals and magazines, biographical sketches, symposia, conferences, review articles, and special issues of journals. Also covers the New York Times Science Section and cites book reviews.
- HeinOnline Air and Space Law his database covers the multitude of ways humans interact with and explore the earthly skies and distant reaches of outer space. Topics covered include the role of aviation in an interconnected global economy to its function as a means of travel, airline deregulation, passenger screening protocols, administrative bodies and more; to the advances in and impact of space exploration in day-to-day technologies, from the 20th century's race to the moon, space shuttle disasters, proliferation of satellites, and the increasing numbers of commercial entities and their stakes in outer space.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a general science database that searches journal articles and book chapters in all areas of science, technology, and health. ScienceDirect also provides full text access to a number of major reference works, allows the user to create email alerts for specific journal titles, book series, or research topics, and provides access to a limited number of "pre-pub" articles (articles accepted for publication but not yet officially released).
