Related Guides
Business and Economics
- Statistics & Reports (Greater Boston Convention & Visitors Bureau) The Greater Boston Convention & Visitors Bureau compiles data and analysis related to hospitality industry trends and visitor statistics.
- Municipal Databank (MA Data Analytics & Resources Bureau) The Municipal Databank collects, analyzes and distributes financial, demographic and economic data on cities and towns.
- Inside Airbnb: Boston How is Airbnb really being used in and affecting your neighborhoods?
- Landscapes of Chain and Independent Restaurants in the United States Our raw data come from LeadsDeposit. The data was collected April, 2021. We mainly cleaned the raw data through correcting the restaurant names (e.g., Cold St1 Creamery -> Cold Stone Creamery) and merging chain branches (e.g., Waffle House 4245 -> Waffle House). We also spatial joined the restaurant data with county and urban area shapefiles.
- Boston's Economy 2022 (Boston Planning & Development Agency) Boston's Economy 2022 report details Boston’s economic recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic. It covers trends in employment, wages, housing prices, and real estate.
- Economic Indicators (Analyze Boston Legacy Portal) The Boston Planning and Redevelopment Authority (BPDA), formerly known as the Boston Redevelopment Authority (BRA), is tasked with planning for and guiding inclusive growth within the City of Boston. As part of this mission, BPDA collects and analyzes a variety of economic data relating to topics such as the employment, housing, travel, and real estate development. This is a legacy dataset of economic idicators tracked monthly between January2013 and January 2015.
- COVID-19 Economic Impact Dashboard (Boston Planning & Development Agency) Framework of high-frequency data to track the impact of the pandemic on Boston's economy.
- Data for County, Metro & Other Local Areas (U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis) Find GDP, Personal Income. Real Personal Income, Regional Price Parities by county, metro, or other areas.
- Census Business Builder (CBB) The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.
- Census Business Builder: Small Business Edition Small Business Edition is primarily for small business owners who need key data for their business plan or to better understand their potential market. It presents data for a single type of business or a single industry cluster at a time.
- IRS Individual Tax Statistics (IRS.gov) The Internal Revenue Service (I.R.S.) Statistics of Income publishes zip code level data derived from individual income tax returns, describing characteristics of tax filers, not households or persons. I.R.S. indicators include information about: income level and sources, tax credits and deductions, and tax preparation method.
- Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) Interactive Database (Urban Institute Tax Policy Center) Provides IRS data on low-income federal individual income tax return filer. Use the geographic filters to find and download data for specific ZIP codes, states, cities and towns, counties, metropolitan divisions, state legislative districts, and congressional districts.
- Household Debt: Debt to Income Ratios (Federal Reserve) The tables and interactive maps allow users to explore the ratio of debt to income by state, metropolitan statistical area, and county for each year since 1999. Household debt is calculated from FRBNY Consumer Credit Panel/Equifax Data, and household income is reported by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- Debt in America 2022 by County (Urban Institute) This dataset [for auto, overall, student and medical debt) contains information derived from a random sample of deidentified, consumer-level records from a major credit bureau. The credit bureau data are from February 2022 and contain more than five million records. We also incorporate estimates from summary tables of the US Census Bureau’s American Community Survey (ACS). We use ACS one-year estimates (2019) where possible, but for areas with smaller populations and for metrics that incorporate zip code–level information, we use the ACS five-year estimates (2015–19). The credit bureau data do not include information about race, so the white and people of color metrics are based on the racial makeup of zip codes within the geographic area (nation, state, county).
- Port of Boston (U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics) Statistics on cargo throughputs, top commodities, vessel calls, food & farm products, average container vessel dwell time hours.
- Federal Reserve Bank of Boston The Boston Fed participates in U.S. monetary policy making through the bank president’s role on the Federal Open Market Committee, and by conducting data-intensive research and analysis on a wide range of economic, financial, and behavioral topics. Ultimately our focus is the dual mandate the Federal Reserve has been given by Congress – formulating monetary policy that achieves growth consistent with maximum sustainable employment, and stable prices, to benefit the American people. New England, Massachusetts, and some Boston area data.
- Federal Communications Commission FCC actively promotes the innovative application of agency data in the public and private sectors. FCC.gov/Developers connects citizen developers with the tools they need to unlock government data.
- National Equity Atlas A comprehensive resource for data to track, measure, and make the case for racial equity and inclusive prosperity in America’s regions, and states, and nationwide. The Atlas contains data on demographic change, racial and economic inclusion, and the potential economic gains from racial equity for the largest 100 cities, largest 150 regions, all 50 states, and the United States as a whole.
Databases / Directories
- Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window Current and historical directories of U.S. businesses and consumers. Search businesses by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, revenue, location, number of employees and more. Also includes job and internship listings.
- Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window Foundation Directory Online, part of Candid, provides information on grantmakers and their grants. It covers U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, plus a growing number of non-U.S. grantmakers. Features include a database of recently awarded grants and a keyword-searchable database of recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
- GuideStar: The National Database of Nonprofit Organizations This link opens in a new window Guidestar, part of Candid, provides information on the missions, finances, programs, and management of nonprofit organizations, including foundations, public charities, and others. Search by name, keyword, city or state, nonprofit type (public charity, private operating foundation, or private nonoperating foundation), or income range.
- Certified Business Directory (Analyze Boston) Through the business certification process, the City identifies businesses that are owned by women, minorities, veterans as well as those that are small or local. Once a business is certified with our office, they are included in any vendor outreach efforts for City contracting opportunities and are also connected to resources offered inside and outside of the City.
- Women-Owned Businesses (Analyze Boston) Women Entrepreneurs Boston (WE BOS) provides the skill-building opportunities, technical help, and networks to help women entrepreneurs launch and grow their businesses. WE BOS hosts an annual series of free events called WE BOS Week. As part of that week, WE BOS created this dataset, which showcases self-identified Women-Owned businesses in the City of Boston.
- Active Food Establishment Licenses (Analyze Boston) The Health Division of the Department of Inspectional Services (ISD) creates and enforces food safety codes to protect public health. All businesses which prepare and sell food to the public must possess a food service permit. In order to qualify for a permit, at least one full time employee must be must be certified through an accredited food manager program, which provides guidance on handling and serving food to the public. This dataset contains a list of restaurants that met
Property / Assessment / Building Permits
- Assessing Online (Analyze Boston) The Assessing Online application brings direct access for taxpayers, homeowners, real estate and legal professionals as well as business owners to property parcel data including assessed value, location, ownership and tax information for each piece of property in the city.
- Property Assessment (Analyze Boston) Gives property, or parcel, ownership together with value information, which ensures fair assessment of Boston taxable and non-taxable property of all types and classifications
- Annual Building Permit Data for Cities and Towns (Massachusetts State Data Center) Excel spreadsheet. Current and historical total annual building permit data for all Massachusetts cities and towns, as well as the counties and state as a whole, dating back to 2000. Census Bureau Construction Statistics.
Labor
- 2021 Gender and Racial Wage Gap Data Analysis (Boston Women's Workforce Council) The 2021 gender wage gap in Greater Boston remains at 30¢ women on average were paid 70¢ for every dollar earned by a man. This is the same gender wage gap the Boston Women’s Workforce Council identified in its 2019 analysis of 100% Talent Compact Signer payroll data.
- Massachusetts: Boston (Bureau of Labor Statistics) Find inflation, prices, spending, pay & benefits, employment & unemployment and workplace injuries for Boston, Boston-Cambridge-Newton, Boston-Cambridge-Nashua, New England.
- Employee Earnings Report (Analyze Boston) Each year, the City of Boston publishes payroll data for employees. This dataset contains employee names, job details, and earnings information including base salary, overtime, and total compensation for employees of the City.
- Employment by County, Metro, and Other Areas (U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis) BEA produces job counts for local areas, with breakdowns by industry. The employment estimates include data for: counties, metropolitan statistical areas, micropolitan statistical areas, combined statistical areas, and metropolitan divisions. Data is also presented for each state's metropolitan portion (the counties that belong to MSAs) and nonmetropolitan portion (the remaining counties).
- Labor Market Information (Mass.gov) Find economic data and labor market information on Massachusetts, including employment and wage data, unemployment rate, projections, industry and occupational statistics and other workforce statistical information by different labor market areas.
- Census OnTheMap OnTheMap is a web-based mapping and reporting application that shows where workers are employed and where they live. It also provides companion reports on age, earnings, industry distributions, race, ethnicity, educational attainment, and sex.
- COVID-Era News Layoffs (TOW Center for Digital Journalism) Map and downloadable table of layoffs and other cutbacks, listing each outlet’s name, medium, owner, and location; the cutback’s date, description, and category (layoffs, pay cuts, etc.); and source links. Under MA, search for Allston, Boston, Brighton, Dorchester.
- Young Adult Migration (Migration Patterns) How far do people migrate between childhood and young adulthood? Where do they go? How much does one's location during childhood determine the labor markets that one is exposed to in young adulthood? The project’s public dataset counts the approximate number who moved to/from each pair of commuting zones — overall and disaggregated by race/ethnicity and parental income level.
