Education Data Explorer (Urban Institute)
The Education Data Explorer allows you to search for a single school, school district, or college or to compare several schools, districts, or colleges across various data points. The Education Data Explorer harmonizes data from all major federal datasets, including the US Department of Education Common Core of Data, the US Department of Education Civil Rights Data Collection, the US Department of Education EDFacts, the US Census Bureau Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, the US Department
The Educational Opportunity Project at Stanford University (SEDA)
SEDA includes a range of detailed data on educational conditions, contexts, and outcomes in school districts and counties across the United States. It includes measures of academic achievement and achievement gaps for school districts and counties, as well as district-level measures of racial and socioeconomic composition, racial and socioeconomic segregation patterns, and other features of the schooling system. The data are publicly available here, so that anyone can obtain detailed
Stanford Student Enrollment Project
Provides nationwide school enrollment data at the state, school district, and school level. This is the first data set to standardize the data into a single schema. The data set provides enrollment data at each grade level, and currently includes information from more than 30 states. Where available, the data set also provides information about race, ethnicity, and gender, as well as counts of homeless students, English Language Learners, students with disabilities, and low-income students.
Data and Reports (Boston Public Schools)
The Boston Public School system produces data and reports on MCAS, school performance, graduation rates and more.
BuildBPS: Facilities and Educational Data for Boston Public Schools (Analyze Boston)
BuildBPS: Facilities and Educational Data for Boston Public Schools compiles vast amounts of data and allows for ongoing analyses that can be used to guide and inform decisions related to school building investments.
State of Early Education and Care in Boston: Supply, Demand, Affordability, and Quality (Analyze Boston)
The State of Early Education and Care in Boston: Supply, Demand, Affordability, and Quality, is the first in what is planned as a recurrent landscape survey of early childhood, preschool and childcare programs in every neighborhood of Boston. It focuses on potential supply, demand and gaps in child-care seats (availability, quality and affordability).
Non Public Schools (Analyze Boston)
This point datalayer shows the locations of schools in Massachusetts. Schools appearing in this layer are those attended by students in pre-kindergarten through high school. Categories of schools include public, private, charter, collaborative programs, and approved special education.
Data & Accountability (Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education)
The Department collects a wide range of data to help improve teaching and learning in Massachusetts schools. The state also uses school and student data to inform our accountability system, which targets resources and assistance where they are needed most. This section of our website includes student-, school-, and district-level data, as well as information on our accountability system, laws, and regulations.
District Profiles: Boston (The Nation's Report Card)
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), first administered in 1969, is the largest continuing and nationally representative assessment of what our nation’s students know and can do in subjects such as mathematics, reading, science, and writing. Standard administration practices are implemented to provide a common measure of student achievement.
Boston School District (National Center for Education Statistics)
The NCES Education Demographic and Geographic Estimates (EDGE) program designs and develops information resources to help understand the social and spatial context of education in the U.S. It uses data from the U.S. Census Bureau’s American Community Survey to create custom indicators of social, economic, and housing conditions for school-age children and their parents. It also uses spatial data collected by NCES and the Census Bureau to create geographic locale indicators, school point
Civil Rights Data Collection (ed.gov)
Since 1968, the U.S. Department of Education (ED) has conducted the Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC) to collect data on key education and civil rights issues in our nation's public schools. The CRDC collects a variety of information including student enrollment and educational programs and services, most of which is disaggregated by race/ethnicity, sex, limited English proficiency, and disability.
How Diverse is Your School? (Boston Indicators)
The "Diversity Index" calculates the odds that two students chosen at random are of a different race. For income diversity, the tool compares the share of "economically disadvantaged" students with the state share.
College Enrollment and Completion: Trends for Boston Public School Graduates.(Boston Private Industry Council)
The purpose of this report is to provide an update on college enrollment and completion trends for BPS graduates. This update focuses on the six-year college completion outcomes for the BPS Classes of
2014 and 2015, and college enrollment trends for more recent graduating classes. The measurement of
these key outcomes, including trends analysis, is designed to inform current systemic and programmatic strategies as well as new efforts to boost college enrollment and completion.
Coaching for Completion: Final Report for Success Boston Coaching (Success Boston)
Compares the postsecondary completion rates of Boston Public Schools graduates at dozens of Massachusetts colleges and universities. It finds that students from the BPS classes of 2015-2017 who received Success Boston coaching were as much as 21% more likely than their peers to complete postsecondary education in four years. The positive impact was seen among the first few BPS classes to receive coaching under a federally funded expansion of the Success Boston program to serve more students.
DHE Data Center (Massachusetts Department of Higher Education)
DHE, collaborating with the Executive Office of Education and the Commonwealth’s public colleges and universities, is engaged in a wide-ranging effort to modernize data and analytics systems, improve analytic capabilities, and place data at the center of all policy discussions in public higher education.
College Scoreboard (ed.gov)
Download the data that appear on the College Scorecard, as well as supporting data on student completion, debt and repayment, earnings, and more. The data is available on data.ed.gov.
Executive Compensation at Public and Private Colleges (Chronicle of Higher Education)
The Chronicle‘s executive-compensation package includes the latest data on more than 1,700 chief executives at more than 600 private colleges from 2008-18 and nearly 290 public universities and systems from 2010-19. Search for Massachusetts colleges and universities.
Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool (ed.gov)
The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool is brought to you by the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. This analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime and fire data.
Colleges and Universities (Analyze Boston)
Colleges and universities within the City of Boston.
Global Longitudinal University Enrollment Dataset (GLUED)
The Global Longitudinal University Enrolment Dataset (GLUED) provides an unbalanced panel dataset of estimated enrolment in roughly 17,000 universities in 194 countries and territories worldwide (1950-2020). Variables include: country, university name, founding year, sector, doctoral-degree granting status, and the geographic coordinates of the university. It also includes raw and estimated data on student enrolments by year.