Key Journals
Article Databases
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
Literature Databases
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. The collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
- Black Drama: African, African American, and Diaspora This link opens in a new window Black Drama: Second Edition contains plays, including previously unpublished or unperformed ones, by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
- Digitalia Hispánica This link opens in a new window Digitalia Hispánica is a database comprising over 27,000 e-books and e-journals in Spanish, from publishers located in Spain and Latin American countries. Resources are organized in different subject collections, including History, Political Science, Business and Economics, Religion, Social Sciences, and Philosophy.
- Bibliografía de la Literatura Española This link opens in a new window An index of scholarship in and related to Spanish Literature. It includes citations for books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congress proceedings, and other miscellaneous material published in Spain or abroad. It covers literature published in Spain as well as documenting critical writing related to Hispanic and Filipino authors writing prior to independence from Spain.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
- Humanities Full Text / Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window These combined databases provide access to journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, interviews, bibliographies and more from a broad range of humanities and social sciences journals.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after Jan. 1, 2000. May be searched simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Humanities/Social Science Databases
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean. Scope ranges from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window A full text archive of millions of articles published in more 700 magazines, and journals in the humanities and social sciences, in English and other Western European languages.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- Linguistics Collection This link opens in a new window The Linguistics Collection is comprised of index and full-text databases covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. The collection includes the Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), which abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. And Linguistics Database, which includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics including many titles indexed in LLBA.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present times; indexes journal articles, book titles and chapters, reviews from numerous multilingual sources; all abstracts in English.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Social Sciences Full Text provides access to hundreds of English language journals in the social sciences. About two-thirds of the journals are peer-reviewed.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Anthropology Plus provides worldwide access for journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary fields.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window EconLit contains citations and selected abstracts of international literature in the field of economics. It is produced by the American Economic Association and corresponds to the print Journal of Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles. It covers journal articles, dissertations and books, as well as chapters and articles in books and conference proceedings.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window An index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
- Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window Covers a wide range of U.S. history from the arrival of Vikings in North America, through the American Revolution, the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Includes reference works, magazine articles, and primary source documents ranging from slave journals to presidential papers.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window The PAIS International database covers current public policy issues and areas of potential legislation. Cited articles, books and documents can date back to 1910 and are listed in the original language. While some full text is included, the index primarily links to full text articles available through existing BU subscriptions.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts international relations, political science, and foreign affairs literature. May include references to dissertations, books, or scholarly articles. Some full text included; links provided to BU content.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window Women's Studies International indexes women's studies, women's issues and gender-focused journal and magazine articles, books and book chapters, dissertations and reports worldwide.
Open-Access Databases
- CLASE: Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades Social Sciences and Humanities database from Dirección General de Bibliotecas, UNAM (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
- PERIODICA (Indice de Revistas Latinoamericanas en Ciencia/Sciences) Science database from Dirección General de Bibliotecas, UNAM (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)
- Sistema de Información Científica Redalyc Red de Revistas Científicas Provides full-text access to journals related to Latin America in the social sciences and the humanities. Mainly published in Latin America, Spain and Portugal.
- SCIELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online Open-access social science & scientific journals from Latin America
- Latin American Open Archives Portal The Latin American Open Archives Portal is a project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web."
- Hemeroteca Digital - Hispanic Digital Library Provides access to the digital collection of historical Spanish press items held by the National Library of Spain, with an initial collection of 143 newspapers and periodicals.
