Featured Books
A Companion to Latin American Cinema by
A Companion to Latin American Cinema offers a wide-ranging collection of newly commissioned essays and interviews that explore the ways in which Latin American cinema has established itself on the international film scene in the twenty-first century. Features contributions from international critics, historians, and scholars, along with interviews with acclaimed Latin American film directors Includes essays on the Latin American film industry, as well as the interactions between TV and documentary production with feature film culture Covers several up-and-coming regions of film activity such as nations in Central America Offers novel insights into Latin American cinema based on new methodologies, such as the quantitative approach, and essays contributed by practitioners as well as theorists
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2017
Latin American Cinema: A Comparative History by
This book charts a comparative history of Latin America's national cinemas through ten chapters that cover every major cinematic period in the region: silent cinema, studio cinema, neorealism and art cinema, the New Latin American Cinema, and contemporary cinema. Schroeder Rodríguez weaves close readings of approximately fifty paradigmatic films into a lucid narrative history that is rigorous in its scholarship and framed by a compelling theorization of the multiple discourses of modernity. The result is an essential guide that promises to transform our understanding of the region's cultural history in the last hundred years by highlighting how key players such as the church and the state have affected cinema's unique ability to help shape public discourse and construct modern identities in a region marked by ongoing struggles for social justice and liberation.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
Dimensiones Del Latinoamericanismo by
Entre otros, los temas de memoria, testimonialismo, migración, realismo mágico, descolonización, cómics, "nuevo cine" e identidad reciben en este libro un tratamiento nuevo, que incorpora ángulos críticos y teóricos que permiten replantear problemas ya presentes y visualizar aspectos impensados en el corpus siempre abierto del latinoamericanismo contemporáneo. Tales aproximaciones incluyen reflexiones profundas sobre representación simbólica, ejercicios comparativos y análisis ideológicos que dinamizan ese campo de estudios y marcan las rutas académicas e intelectuales que se siguen en la actualidad en los estudios literarios y culturales. Estos artículos constituirán, sin duda, referencia obligada sobre los temas abordados, pero también como ejemplo de metodologías trans-disciplinarias que inscriben la temática latinoamericana en contextos mayores, como los de la literatura mundial, la globalización y los movimientos sociales.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2018Las Rupturas Del 68 en el Cine de América Latina by 1968 constituye un punto de referencia histórico ineludible del siglo xx. La expresión 68, como indicación de una nueva sensibilidad político-cultural, ha sido estudiada desde diversas disciplinas también para lo cinematográfico. Pero ¿hasta dónde se ha indagado en su significación en América Latina?
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
Magical Reels: a history of cinema in Latin America by
Still the most comprehensive analysis of the subject to have appeared in English, Magical Reels charts the development of Latin American film industries in a world increasingly dominated by the advanced technology and massive distribution budgets of the North American mainstream. John King sets up a historical framework to unfold the overlapping histories of cinema in the continent: the itinerant film-makers of the silent era who projected their films in cafes and village halls, the inventive use of vernacular music and local comedy in early sound pictures, the "golden age" of 1940s Mexican cinema, and the "new cinema"--oppositional cinema made "with an idea in the head and a camera in the hand"--of the late 1950s and beyond. A country-by-country account of this new wave allows detailed discussion of, for instance, Peronist cinema in Argentina, 1960s' revolutionary film-making in Cuba, state-sponsored cinema in 1970s' Brazil and Venezuela, and the struggle for democratization in Chile in the 1980s. A new chapter written for this edition examines Latin American cinema of the 1990s, raising issues such as globalization, new cinema audiences, film funding and distribution.
Location: Mugar Stacks PN1993.5.L3 K45 2000Publication Date: 2000
Newspapers
BU Newspaper Databases
- PressReader This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local newspapers, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International, searchable, full text of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.)
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Newspaper Portals
- ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers The ICON database is the most comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital and micro formats.
- Zona Latina: Latin American Newspapers Online portal to hundreds of newspapers from Latin America
- Digital Library of the Caribbean The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. The dLOC partner institutions are the core of dLOC. dLOC partners retain all rights to their materials and provide access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
- Hemeroteca Digital - Hispanic Digital Library Provides access to the digital collection of historical Spanish press items held by the National Library of Spain, with an initial collection of 143 newspapers and periodicals.
Audio & Video Resources
- Latin American and Spanish Videos -- Guide to free online sources Excellent guide of resources compiled by Jesús Alonso-Regalado, Latin American librarian at SUNY-Albany,
BU Databases:
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I-II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window Contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume III: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window Contains documentaries, feature films and shorts made by and for indigenous people and communities. Topics are simultaneously local and global, with particular emphasis on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling.
- Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window Screen Studies Collection brings the Film Periodicals Database, Film Index International, and the AFI Catalog together in one site.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Indexes, abstracts, and provides full text of articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes several film reference books. Abstracts late 19th century - present; full text 1930s - present.
- Film Index International This link opens in a new window Provides in-depth indexing of films from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters and biographical information for film personalities. It also includes presentations from international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
- Music & Performing Arts (Audio & Video Collections) This link opens in a new window Music & Performing Arts' collections include American Music, Classical, Contemporary World, Jazz, Popular, Smithsonian's Global Sound, Ethnographic Sound Archives, American Film Scripts, Asian American Drama, Black Drama, North American Drama, and Theatre in Context. Search results include links to the full text of the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online (1997-2001), with additional audio examples.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Usually known as just "Naxos," this is an audio streaming package of hundreds of classical music lables with very good indexing and search capabilities. It is a reliable destination for Early Music, lesser-known classics, and Contemporary Music. Folk, Blues, Jazz, Nostalgia, Chinese, and World in more limited quantities can be found here. The audio is streamed on demand, not downloaded.
Find Books/eBooks on:
