Skip to Main Content
Digital Collections
Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Sources -- from SALALM
This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. The materials listed are freely available to the public and were created or are hosted at an academic institution associated with SALALM (Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials), either through institutional membership or through the personal membership of a staff member.
Latin American, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian Online Free E-Resources (LACLI)
LACLI is a collective effort to create a warehouse of online free resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Researching Brazil
Devised as a tool to support research in Brazilian Studies, Researching Brazil/Pesquisa no Brasil is both a bibliographic index and a gateway to online resources relevant to the field.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. The dLOC partner institutions are the core of dLOC. dLOC partners retain all rights to their materials and provide access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Biblioteca Digital Hispánica
Digital library of the Biblioteca Nacional de España which provides access to thousand of digital documents including manuscripts, maps, photographs and many other resources
Ibero-American Electronic Text Series -- University of Wisconsin-Madison
he Ibero-American Electronic Text Series is a project developed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the humanities. Currently, the series holds over 40 titles in Spanish and Portuguese that cover a wide array of works from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal that span from the medieval to the contemporary period.
Gabriel García Márquez - Harry Ransom Center Digital Collections
The digital archive of Colombian-born writer Gabriel García Márquez includes manuscript drafts of published and unpublished works, research material, photographs, scrapbooks, correspondence, clippings, notebooks, screenplays, printed material, ephemera, and an audio recording of García Márquez's acceptance speech for the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1982. The searchable, online archive is comprised of approximately 27,500 items from García Márquez's papers, and was made possible by a Digitizing Hidden Special Collections and Archives grant from the Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR). The Center also gratefully acknowledges the cooperation of Gabriel García Márquez's family.
Hispanic Reading Room (Online Collections) -- Library of Congress
he Hispanic Reading Room is the primary access point for research related to the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain and Portugal; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S. and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
Digital Library of Literature from Lusophone Countries
Our Digital Library is the largest digital library of Brazilian and Portuguese works, and includes a catalog with bio-bibliographic data from Brazilian and Portuguese authors. It also includes documents from the personal collection of authors of the Santa Catarina State.
Europeana
Resources from European archives, broadcasters, museums, universities, research institutes and private collectors.
