Related Guides
About This Guide
This interdisciplinary research guide will help you find information resources
on Latin American Studies available thru the BU Libraries including:
- Background information -- encyclopedias, literature guides and statistical information
- Primary sources -- archives and digital collections
- BU subject databases in the Humanities and Social Sciences
- Featured books from our collections
- Information on international news as well as streaming media
(Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection -- maps of the Americas)
Suggested Resources
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
HLAS is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly monographs, journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and electronic resources dealing with Latin America. New entries, alternating between humanities and social sciences, are added annually. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean. Scope ranges from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
- Latin American Network Information Center - LANICPortal for research in Latin American Studies hosted by University of Texas at Austin.
- Political Database of the AmericasThe PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region. A collaborative project between Georgetown University, the OAS, and FLACSO-Chile.
- Digital Library of the CaribbeanThe Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
New Readings in Latin American and Spanish Literary and Cultural Studies by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014Presenting and interrogating a range of texts and discourses, this collection brings into focus a broad range of topics whose common denominator is the intersection between cultural productions and politics in different moments of the history of Latin America and Spain.
Cultures of Anti-Racism in Latin America and the Caribbean by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2020Latin America's long history of showing how racism can co-exist with racial mixture and conviviality offers useful ammunition for strengthening anti-racist stances. This volume asks whether cultural production has a particular role to play within discourses and practices of anti-racism in Latin America and the Caribbean.
