Skip to Main Content
Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Resources
This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean.
Cultural Magazines of Latin America
This collection contains retrodigitized cultural magazines from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Peru and Puerto Rico dating back to the period between 1880 and 1930.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press -- University of Arizona
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
"The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis."
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection -- Harvard University
Scarce and unique pamphlets, primarily from Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico, published during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Cuban Heritage Collection -- University of Miami
Includes digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection.
Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America
AILLA is a digital language archive of recordings, texts, and other multimedia materials in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America.
Centro, the Center for Puerto Rican Studies Digital Collections -- Hunter College, CUNY
Browse material from throughout the Centro Archive showcasing the history and culture of Puerto Ricans in the diaspora.
A History of Dominican Music in the United States
A History of Dominican Music in the U.S. is the first open-source digital tool narrating the history of Dominican music as it developed during the past century in the United States. By presenting multi-media resources, grounded in historical contexts and speaking to larger issues of immigration, identity, and diversity, this online platform provides a new approach to understanding Dominican music.
Caribbean Women Healers: Decolonizing Knowledge Within Afro-Indigenous Traditions
The Healers Project: Decolonizing Knowledge Within Afro-Indigenous Traditions, is a collaborative research project built as a result of the researchers' journeys within Caribbean communities throughout the Dominican Republic, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Pacific Northwest region. In 2016, after four years of meeting and spending time with Caribbean women that keep their Afro-Indigenous, Indigenous and Afro-descendant healing traditions alive, they were inspired to conceptualize a project that validates their knowledge in a world where Eurocentric notions of health and medicine vilify and dismiss them.
Archivo Historico RTA (Radio y Televisión Argentina)
The Historic Archive of RTA (Radio and Television Argentina) organizes, preserves, and digitizes audiovisual and sound material recorded and distributed on Argentina’s Channel 7 and National Radio. Prisma is its website, which facilitates democratic, public access to audiovisual and sound collections of the Historic Archive of RTA.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database This link opens in a new window
Contains records of trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Format allows users to track information by time period and geographic region, and includes interactive maps that allow viewers to chart the trans-Atlantic connections. The accompanying data contains materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
A full text archive of millions of articles published in more 700 magazines, and journals in the humanities and social sciences, in English and other Western European languages. Date coverage: 1802 to 2001. (Varies by publication)
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. The index links to full text articles available through BU subscriptions, but does not provide full text content. Date coverage: 1991 - present.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
A systematically organized collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world; provides information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns. The information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. It currently consists of 290 cultures.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collections of primary documents released through the Freedom of Information Act. Includes many aspects of U.S. foreign policy and military policy from 1945 to the present. Overlaps with U.S. Declassified Documents but has more recent coverage.
Libraries and Archives
Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. The dLOC partner institutions are the core of dLOC. dLOC partners retain all rights to their materials and provide access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Biblioteca Digital Hispánica
Digital library of the Biblioteca Nacional de España which provides access to thousand of digital documents including manuscripts, maps, photographs and many other resources
Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de Mexico
Published by UNAM and the Biblioteca Nacional de Mexico, this database includes page images and full-text search of nearly 600 titles ranging from 1722 to 1978. Material still covered by copyright is accessible only at the Biblioteca Nacional de Mexico.
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Open-access digital library of Spanish-language historical texts and literature
Biblioteca Nacional Digital Brasil
Provides digital access to rare books, periodicals, manuscripts, drawings, maps and other materials.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust provides access to works in the public domain from research libraries across the country
"The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Now the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections"
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.