Related Guides
Background Sources
- Heritage Keywords : Rhetoric and Redescription in Cultural Heritage Situated at the intersection of scholarship and practice, Heritage Keywords positions cultural heritage as a transformative tool for social change Each of the fifteen chapters examines a key term from the field of heritage practice--authenticity, civil society, cultural diversity, cultural property, democratization, difficult heritage, discourse, equity, intangible heritage, memory, natural heritage, place, risk, rights, and sustainability--to showcase the creative potential of cultural
- Handbook on the Economics of Cultural Heritage Cultural heritage is a complex and elusive concept, constantly evolving through time, and combining cultural, aesthetic, symbolic, spiritual, historical and economic values. The Handbook on the Economics of Cultural Heritage outlines the contribution of economics to the design and analysis of cultural heritage policies and to addressing issues related to the conservation, management and enhancement of heritage.
- American Architectural History : A Contemporary Reader This major new text presents a collection of recent writings on architecture and urbanism in the United States, with topics ranging from colonial to contemporary times.
- Invitation to vernacular architecture : a guide to the study of ordinary buildings and landscapes A manual for exploring and interpreting vernacular architecture, the common buildings of particular regions and time periods.
- Dictionary of building preservation Most historic buildings are owned by private citizens who have little or no background in building preservation or its allied fields. These owners - as dedicated as they are to preserving or refurbishing their property - often feel at a disadvantage when communicating with professionals well-versed in the complex jargon of this multidisciplinary field. The Dictionary of Building Preservation provides easy access to this terminology and helps the nonspecialist to understand and communicate with building and design professionals, preservation groups, government agencies, attorneys, and others concerned with building preservation.
- Historic Preservation for Professionals This text focuses on complex economic, political, and social realities facing the profession today. Specifically, Historic Preservation for Professionals provides an in-depth historic analysis of the profession, a summary of legal issues, an architectural synopsis, a discussion of career opportunities in the public and private sectors, and examples of innovative nonprofit leadership and preservation trends.
- Cultural Resource Laws and Practice Thomas F. King shares his expertise in dealing with laws regulating the use of cultural resources. With wry insight, he explains the various federal, state, and local laws governing the protection of resources, how they have been interpreted, how they operate in practice, and even how they are sometimes in contradiction with each other. He provides helpful advice on how to ensure regulatory compliance in dealing with archaeological sites, historic buildings, urban districts, sacred sites and objects, shipwrecks, and archives.
- The Ashgate Research Companion to Heritage and Identity Brings together an international team of authors to discuss the concepts, ideas and practices that inform the entwining of heritage and identity.
