Bay State Road / Back Bay West Architectural District
Related Guides
Public Programs
- Boston Landmarks Commission, City of Boston The Landmarks Commission (BLC) and the ten local historic district commissions are comprised of volunteers nominated by professional organizations and neighborhood groups.
- CPA - Community Preservation Act, Massachusetts: Community Preservation Coalition The Community Preservation Act (CPA) is a smart growth tool that helps communities preserve open space and historic sites, create affordable housing, and develop outdoor recreational facilities.
- Massachusetts Historical Commission, Secretary of State The continuing presence of historic properties in Massachusetts immeasurably enhances the quality of our lives; they help to establish our sense of place and to define the very character of our communities. To meet the challenge of preserving this important heritage, the Massachusetts Historical Commission (MHC) was established by the legislature in 1963* to identify, evaluate, and protect important historical and archaeological assets of the Commonwealth.
- MACRIS - Massachusetts Cultural Resource Information System Information available on historic properties through this search system is derived from the Massachusetts Cultural Resource Information System (MACRIS).
Organizations
- HBI - Historic Boston Incorporated Historic Boston Inc. redevelops at-risk historic buildings in order to help Boston’s neighborhoods thrive.
- Historic New England Historic New England is the oldest and largest regional heritage organization in the nation. We engage diverse audiences in developing a deeper understanding and enjoyment of New England home life by being the national leader in collecting, preserving, and using significant buildings, landscapes, archives, stories, and objects from the past to today.
- PM - Preservation Massachusetts Preservation Massachusetts (PM) is the statewide non-profit historic preservation organization dedicated to preserving the Commonwealth’s historic and cultural heritage. We are an advocacy and education organization that works with everyone from individuals to organizations and businesses striving to revitalize their communities, historic buildings and landscapes through preservation while making a real economic impact, creating jobs and investing in our existing resources to enhance our collective quality of life.
- MassHome: Massachusetts Historical Societies This page now contains 860 links making it one of the most comprehensive directories of Massachusetts historical societies / commissions on the web.
Archival & Library Collections
- Massachusetts Archives The Massachusetts Archives serves the Commonwealth and its citizens by preserving and making accessible the records documenting government action and by assisting government agencies in managing their permanent records. The Archives provides leadership in preserving historical records and ensuring that those records are known and valued by citizens, students, and scholars.
- Massachusetts Historical Society Founded in 1791, the Massachusetts Historical Society is an invaluable resource for American history, life, and culture. Its extraordinary collections tell the story of America through millions of rare and unique documents, artifacts, and irreplaceable national treasures. etc.
- National Archives at Boston We hold the permanent records of Federal agencies and courts located in the six-state New England region: CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT We also house some federal military records pertaining to New England-based installations and units
- American Antiquarian Society The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) is a national research library of American history and culture through 1876 which has been sharing American stories for more than two hundred years. Founded in 1812 by Revolutionary War patriot and printer Isaiah Thomas, the American Antiquarian Society is both a learned society and a major independent research library located in Worcester, Massachusetts.
- Digital Commonwealth "This site, managed by the Boston Public Library, provides access to thousands of images, documents, and sound recordings that have been digitized by member institutions so that they may be available to researchers, students, and the general public."
- DPLA - Digital Public Library of America The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge.
Historic Preservation, Boston & Its Neighborhoods
- Boston Landmarks Commission The Boston Landmarks Commission functions as the City’s steward of historic buildings, places, and neighborhoods.
- City of Boston Historic District Commissions The Historic District Commissions review proposed exterior design changes to properties located within the boundaries of each of the City’s nine Historic Districts to ensure that the unique historic and architectural character of these neighborhoods is protected and preserved.
- City of Boston Department of Archaeology Manages the City of Boston’s growing archaeological collections, strives to make the city’s archaeology publicly accessible, and works to protect and preserve Boston’s archaeological heritage.”
- Boston Preservation Alliance The mission of this nonprofit organization is to protect and improve “the quality of Boston’s distinct architectural heritage. Through advocacy and education, we bring people and organizations together to influence the future of Boston’s historic buildings, landscapes and communities.”
- Historic Boston Incorporated “a non profit organization that works with local partners to identify and invest in the redevelopment of historically significant buildings and cultural resources in order to catalyze neighborhood renewal.”
- Historic New England This organization was formerly SPNEA, Society for the Preservation of New England Antiquities. It describes itself as “a museum of cultural history that collects and preserves buildings, landscapes, and objects dating from the seventeenth century to the present and uses them to keep history alive and to help people develop a deeper understanding and enjoyment of New England life and appreciation for its preservation.” Its photographic and print collections include many views of Boston buildings and street scenes.
- Boston Modern: The Spirit of Reinvention National Trust for Historic Preservation booklet with remarkable photographs of modern buildings including Boston University School of Law Tower, Boston; Sert, Jackson & Gourley, 1961, and some spectacular aerial views of the city.
- Boston Society of Architects Many of its members are part of an advocacy group “on matters relating to legislative and regulatory advocacy:”
- Boston Main Streets Program “Boston Main Streets is devoted to the continued revitalization of Boston’s neighborhood commercial districts through design, technical, and financial support. Today, the nationally recognized program boasts 19 districts across Boston.”
- Boston SAND: Seaport Alliance for Neighborhood Design Founded in South Boston's historic Fort Point Channel neighborhood, SAND advocated for long-range planning ideals, envisioning the South Boston waterfront as a vibrant, diverse community with a distinctive character and sense of place.
- Boston Street Railway Association (BSRA) “The Boston Street Railway Association is a non-profit, 501(c)-3 educational organization, dedicated to exploring the history of all forms of public transportation in the greater Boston area, and preserving present-day activities for future generations. Our central objectives—history, preservation, and publications—are achieved through monthly meetings; a streetcar restoration program; a bi-monthly transit news magazine; a series of respected publications; and more. ”
- Esplanade Association “Working to restore and enhance the historic Charles River Esplanade.”
- Luna Preservation Society “…a non-profit organization dedicated to the restoration and preservation of the tugboat Luna, a National Historic Landmark moored in Boston, MA.
- National Trust for Historic Preservation Chartered by Congress in 1949, the National Trust for Historic Preservation… take[s] “direct, on-the-ground action when historic buildings and sites are threatened…and advocate[s] with governments to save America’s heritage. We strive to create a cultural legacy that is as diverse as the nation itself so that all of us can take pride in our part of the American story.” Each year since 1987 it has published a list of America’s 11 Most Endangered Historic Places.
- Massachusetts Historical Commission (MHC) The Massachusetts Historical Commission (MHC) was established by the legislature in 1963 to identify, evaluate, and protect important historical and archaeological assets of the Commonwealth.
