Related Guides
Article Databases
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present times; indexes journal articles, book titles and chapters, reviews from numerous multilingual sources; all abstracts in English.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window Digitized images of American magazines published between 1684 and 1912. Covers history of slavery, literature, women's and religious issues, politics, culture, the arts and foreign language journals published in the U.S. Rights for use by Boston University community supported by the Boston University Humanities Library Endowed Fund.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes American state and regional periodicals, professional association publications, and the major journals on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Subject areas are architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Includes obituary citations.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window A full text archive of millions of articles published in more 700 magazines, and journals in the humanities and social sciences, in English and other Western European languages.
Selected Journals
- Historic Preservation: quarterly of the National Council for Historic Sites and Buildings V.10- V.48 no.3 1958-1996 JUN Print only: Mugar Stacks E151 .F49
- Preservation : the magazine of the National Trust for Historic Preservation V.48 no.4- V.69+ JUL 1996- 2017+ LACKING: V.65 no.1 Mugar Stacks E151 .F49 Online: 2015 to present
- Preservation Forum (National Trust for Historic Preservation) V.1(1987) - V.4(1990) Mugar Stacks E151 .P74
- Historic Preservation Forum: the journal of the National Trust for Historic Preservation V.5- V.13 no.2 1991-1998/99 Mugar Stacks E151 .P74
- Forum Journal: the journal of the National Trust for Historic Preservation V.13 no.3- V.26 1999-2011/12 Mugar Stacks E151 .P74 Online: 2012 volume: 27 issue: 1 to present
- Historical Archaeology Online: 1967 volume: 1 to present.
- Journal of Urban History Online: from Vol. 1 (1)1974 to present
- Pioneer America (later title: Material Culture) Online: from 1969 volume: 1 issue: 1 until 1983 volume: 15 issue: 3
- Material Culture Online: from 1984 volume: 16 issue: 1 to present
- JSAH - Journal of the American Society of Architectural Historians Online: from 01/01/2013 to the present
