Related Guides
Find Journal Articles
Humanities
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. Areas covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, Interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, video.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window ARTbibiographies Modern (ABM) indexes and abstracts international journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary arts, including photography, dating from the late 19th century onwards.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes American state and regional periodicals, professional association publications, and the major journals on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Subject areas are architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Includes obituary citations.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window Accessed via Web of Science, this database provides comprehensive data on bibliographic & citation information. Researchers can identify which later articles have cited any particular earlier article, or have cited the articles of any particular author, or have been cited most frequently. Searches notable and significant journals across more than 25 disciplines.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present times; indexes journal articles, book titles and chapters, reviews from numerous multilingual sources; all abstracts in English.
- Humanities Full Text / Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window These combined databases provide access to journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, interviews, bibliographies and more from a broad range of humanities and social sciences journals.
Searching Across Disciplines
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database that includes scholarly journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, business, literature, and other subjects.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
Journals featuring African American arts
- African American Review African American Review is a scholarly aggregation of insightful essays on African American literature, theatre, film, the visual arts, and culture; interviews; poetry; fiction; and book reviews.
- Black renaissance = Renaissance noire An academic journal that publishes literature and art pertaining to contemporary Black concerns. Includes essays, poetry, fiction, photography, art, and reviews and commentary.
- The Black Scholar Professor Louis Chude-Sokei, Director of the African American Studies program at Boston University, is the Editor in Chief. Available online: 1969 to present.
- Callaloo Callaloo, the premier journal of literature, art, and culture of the African Diaspora, publishes original work by and about writers and visual artists of African descent worldwide.
- Freedomways "Freedomways was the central theoretical journal of the 20th century black arts and intellectual movement in the United States." blackpast.org
- International Review of African American Art Black Art: An International Quarterly made its debut in 1976. In 1984, Black Art became the International Review of African American Art (IRAAA), as the publication was broadening its focus to include the visual art of African-descended people throughout the Americas.
- Journal of African American History/Earlier Title: Journal of Negro history The Journal of African American History, formerly The Journal of Negro History, was founded by Dr. Carter G. Woodson in 1916 and is an official publication of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH). Now in its second century, this award-winning journal publishes original scholarly articles and book reviews on the African American experience from its earliest phases to the more recent past.
- Journal of Negro History/Later Title: Journal of African American History The Journal of African American History, formerly The Journal of Negro History, was founded by Dr. Carter G. Woodson in 1916 and is an official publication of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH). Now in its second century, this award-winning journal publishes original scholarly articles and book reviews on the African American experience from its earliest phases to the more recent past.
- NKA: journal of contemporary African art Nka focuses on publishing critical work that examines contemporary African and African Diaspora art within the modernist and postmodernist experience and therefore contributes significantly to the intellectual dialogue on world art and the discourse on internationalism and multiculturalism in the arts. Nka mainly includes scholarly articles, reviews (exhibits and books), interviews, and roundtable discussions.
News & Newspapers
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- Arts & Culture (WBUR) WBUR arts and culture
- BU Arts Initiative The Boston University Arts Initiative ensures that the arts are fundamental to the student experience by developing and supporting university-wide programs to advance the role of the arts at BU through building community; supporting interdisciplinary arts teaching, learning, and research; and highlighting diverse artists and modes of artistry.
Magazines
- LIFE Magazine 1936 to 1972. Google. Use search box to find articles in single issue or all issues. Keywords: Negro, African American, Black art or artist, artist's name.
- The Crisis: A Record of the Darker Races Du Bois, W. E. Burghardt (editor) New York: National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, 1910-11 / 1922-12
