Skip to Main Content
Photographic images
African American Trail Project -- Tufts University, Medford MA
The African American Trail Project is a collaborative public history initiative housed at Tufts University.
Black Photographers Annual - 1973, 1974, 1976, 1980
From 1973 to 1980, a group of African American artists in New York City published The Black Photographers Annual
Calisphere: California Cultures: African Americans - University of California Digital Collections
Although a relative few Afro-Latinos and other Africans came to California before the mid-19th century, the Gold Rush brought the first real migration of African Americans to the state. Historic photographs and artwork show the changing lives of African Americans from the Gold Rush Era and Statehood (when many, but not all, slaves in California gained their freedom), through years of struggle to claim their civil rights.
Daniel Cowin Collection of African American History, African American Vernacular Photography - Past Exhibition, International Center of Photography, New York, NY
"The Daniel Cowin Collection of African American History was given to ICP by Daniel Cowin in 1990. The collection of about 1,600 photographs, including several albums and dating from 1860 to 1960, offers a glimpse into the rarely seen everyday lives of African Americans in a variety of genres and poses: formal studio portraits, casual snapshots, images of children, images of uniformed soldiers, wedding portraits, and "Southern-views" made for tourist consumption."
Social Welfare History Image Portal - Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond VA
"The history of social welfare is a story encompassing many volunteer and professional activities to "establish Justice ... promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity." It chronicles the development of social work and social services, as well the nation's extension of civil rights to greater numbers of the population. Social welfare history is profoundly interdisciplinary, looking at many, often conflicting, ideas of community and community responsibility, as well as ongoing discussions of our national identity."
Jackson Davis Collection of African American Educational Photographs
Jackson Davis, an educational reformer and amateur photographer, took nearly 6,000 photographs of African American schools, teachers and students throughout the Southeastern United States.
Michael Francis Blake Photographs, 1912-1934 - Digital Collections, Duke University, Durham NC
117 photographs of men, women, and children taken between 1912-1934 by Blake who opened one of the first African-American photography studios in Charleston, S.C
Pictures of African Americans During World War II - National Archives, Washington DC
The images described on this page illustrate African-American participation in World War II. The pictures were selected from the holdings of the Still Picture Branch (RRSS) of the National Archives and Records Administration.
Randolph Linsly Simpson Collection - Beinecke Library, Yale University, New Haven CT
Daguerreotypes, ambrotypes, tintypes, and card photographs depicting black life from the 1850s-1940s.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
Art in General
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
Artcyclopedia
Artists by Nationality:
African-American Artists
Jacob Lawrence: the great migration series
More than 75 years ago, a young artist named Jacob Lawrence set to work on an ambitious 60-panel series portraying the Great Migration, the flight of over a million African Americans from the rural South to the industrial North following the outbreak of World War
