Related Guides
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Grove Art Online
Grove Art Online is an encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art and all aspects of visual culture. Articles include bibliographies and searchable images. As part of Oxford Art Online, keywords also are simultaneously searched in The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
This encyclopedia provides background essays written by scholars on every aspect of architecture: architect biographies, building descriptions, and architectural periods. For example, here is a biographical sketch of Sert (i López), Josep Lluís [José Luis], the architect of Mugar Library, the George Sherman Union, and the School of Law.
Oxford Dictionary of Architecture
Written in a clear and concise style, this illustrated dictionary covers every period of Western architectural history. The text is complemented by over 250 line drawings and meticulous line drawings, labelled cross-sections, and diagrams. This updated edition adds more than 40 completely new entries, including many new biographies of notable architects, and essential updates to several existing entries.
Publication Date: 2021
American Architecture by
Since the Spanish established their first settlement in St. Augustine, Florida, in 1565, America has been an architectural melting pot, reflecting the contributions of every immigrant group that brought its traditions across the sea and adapted them to the places where they settled. The rich diversity of this country's architecture is reflected in the nearly 200 styles, types, and modes of American architecture that are identified in these pages--more than can be found in any other book. Over 2,500 definitions and nearly 1,000 illustrations describe construction materials and techniques, landscape elements, decorative terms, and practical devices, from precolonial times to the present, and from indigenous dwellings to deconstructivist structures. Wide-ranging and completely accessible, this book is enriched with intriguing historical and biographical treasures. Students of architecture, architectural historians, preservationists, curators, and general readers, whether architecture buffs or simply curious about the world around them, will find it pleasurable, informative, and sometimes surprising.
Encyclopedia of American Architecture by Publication Date: 1994
