Related Guides
BU Libraries Search
You can find articles by searching BULS - Boston University Libraries Search.
l. Type your keywords, e.g., eiffel tower, in the search box.
2. On the results screen, use the filters on the right to refine your search, e.g., Peer-Reviewed Articles.
3. At the same time, you can limit the results to JStor articles by scrolling down to the filter, Record Source.
Click on JStor Archival Journals and/or JStor Current Journals.
4. Not all journal articles will be available online or a database might not connect an article to BULS.
Search BULS by journal name. You will need to know the year your article was published. If the journal is not found, then request the article from ILL (Interlibrary Loan).
Article Databases
Art & Architecture Databases
- Archnet (Art & Architecture of the Muslim World) An open access digital library of the art, architecture, urban design and built environment of the Muslim world. Resources include donated photo collections, international journals, monographs and architects' archives that are linked to sites, people, publications and other related materials.
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online This link opens in a new window Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online (AAT) provides a structured vocabulary of terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture. The extent of the AAT ranges from Antiquity to the present, and the scope is global.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. Areas covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, Interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, video.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes American state and regional periodicals, professional association publications, and the major journals on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Subject areas are architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Includes obituary citations.
Browse a list of Avery Index current journals: JournalList_20201020_current.xlsx (columbia.edu)
Browse a list of Avery Index retrospective journals: JournalList_20201020_retro.xlsx (columbia.edu)
(Note: Full text for certain publications is subject to market availability.)
- BHA & RILA (Bibliography of the History of Art and Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art) This link opens in a new window
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) and RILA (Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art) index and abstract art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs and periodical articles in many languages with an emphasis on European art from the medieval through modern periods.
Humanities Databases
- Humanities Full Text / Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
These combined databases provide access to journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, interviews, bibliographies and more from a broad range of humanities and social sciences journals.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Accessed via Web of Science, this database provides comprehensive data on bibliographic & citation information. Researchers can identify which later articles have cited any particular earlier article, or have cited the articles of any particular author, or have been cited most frequently. Searches notable and significant journals across more than 25 disciplines.
Search Across Subjects
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database that includes scholarly journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, business, literature, and other subjects.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowClick on the Menu icon.
Click Settings.
Click Library Links. Check Find Online @ Boston University - View It @ BU
What are "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" articles?
Note: This resource as a bibliography, will provide you with citations to materials that you can then search within the BU Library Search. If BU Libraries does not carry the title, you can use the Interlibrary Loan service to request it.
Librarian
Google Scholar Tips
