Film Collections
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I-II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window Contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types.
Background Sources
The Oxford History of World Cinema by
From its humble beginnings as a novelty in a handful of cities, cinema has risen to become a billion- dollar industry and the most spectacular and original contemporary art form. It has spread to all parts of the globe, and is enjoyed by audiences that cut across all sections of society. The Oxford History of World Cinema traces the history of this enduringly popular entertainment medium. Covering all aspects of its development, stars, studios, and cultural impact, the book celebrates and chronicles over one hundred years of diverse achievement from westerns to the New Wave, fromanimation to the Avant-Garde, and from Hollywood to Hong Kong. An international team of distinguished film historians tells the story of the major inventions and developments in the cinema business, its institutions, genres, and personnel; other chapters outline the evolution of national cinemasround the world - the varied and distinctive filmic traditions that have developed alongside Hollywood. A unique aspect of the book are the special inset features on the film-makers and personalities - Garbo and Godard, Keaton and Kurosawa, Bugs Bunny and Bergman - who have had an enduring impact inpopular memory and cinematic lore. With over 300 illustrations, a full bibliography, and an extensive index, this is the buff's ultimate guide to cinema worldwide.
Location: Mugar Reference X PN1993.5.A1 O96 1996 and OnlinePublication Date: 1996
Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema by
The Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema covers the production and exhibition of cinema in the Middle East and in communities whose heritage is from the region and whose films commonly reflect this background. It covers the cinemas of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Palestine, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, Iraq, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, and Yemen. In addition, it includes the non-Arab states of Turkey and Iran, as well as the Jewish state of Israel. To a substantial degree, cinema has served to define the character of the peoples and nations of the Middle East. With that in mind, the content and arrangement of entries in this volume works to introduce and emphasize both the national and transnational character of Middle Eastern cinema, which includes not only its indigenous but its colonial aspects as well, both external and internal to the geographical regions themselves. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 500 cross-referenced dictionary entries on individual films, filmmakers, and actors. It also covers the range of cinematic modes, from documentary to fiction, representational to animation, generic to experimental, mainstream to avant-garde, and entertainment to propaganda.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2010
Contemporary World Cinema: Europe, the Middle East, East Asia and South Asia by
Since the start of the 1990s, despite tougher competition than ever before from Hollywood, a rebirth and flourishing of cinema has been taking place in parts of Europe, the Middle East, East Asia and South Asia. This book provides an overview of the cinemas of these regions, interpreting some of the recent developments as strategic responses to globalisation. Highlighting transnational and cross-cultural structures, influences and themes, it offers:* A broad critical context for the study of contemporary world cinema, introducing key concepts and issues including modes of production and distribution.* Cultural and historical background for the cinemas of each region, with analyses of regional aesthetic styles and comparisons with Hollywood models.* Case studies of Scandinavian, Iranian, Hong Kong and Indian cinema.* Close analysis of twelve landmark films, including Thomas Vinterberg's Festen, Samira Makhmalbaf's The Apple, Wong Kar-Wai's In the Mood For Love, and Ashutosh Gowariker's Lagaan.Contemporary World Cinemais vital for students and teachers of film, media, cultural studies and modern languages, as well as general world cinema enthusiasts.
Location: Mugar Stacks PN1994 .C34345 2005Publication Date: 2006
Featured Books/Ebooks
Cinema in Turkey: a New Critical History by
With over six thousand films, Turkey has produced more films than any other country in the Middle East or the Balkans. Despite its prolific and popular nature, this national film industry has often been denigrated as imitative, simplistic, and underdeveloped. Taking up precisely thesecritiques, Cinema in Turkey provides a critical history of feature cinema in Turkey, considering how this cinema developed modes of communication reflective of both existing traditions and region-specific responses to modernization and nation-building.Focusing on both popular films and art cinema, this study deals with the history of cinema in Turkey, including not only its high point during the golden age of Yesilcam (as Turkey's popular film industry of the 1960s and 1970s is known), but also its early years and its current revival, the NewCinema of Turkey. This book not only provides the first comprehensive history of Turkish cinema in English, but also attempts to introduce a contemporary film-theoretical perspective to the examination of Turkish cinema, viewing it in a broader framework that goes beyond the canonical concerns ofexisting film histories and their art and auteur cinema related perspectives.
Location: Mugar Stacks PN1993.5.T8 A77 2011Publication Date: 2010-11-03
Six Turkish Filmmakers by
Examining the vanguard of New Turkish Cinema, Laurence Raw shows how these films reveal the effects of profound socioeconomic change on ordinary people in contemporary Turkey. In analysis of and personal interviews with Dervis Zaim, Zeki Demirkubuz, Semih Kaplanoglu, #65533;agan Irmak, Tolga #65533;rnek, and Palme d'Or winner Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Raw draws connections with Turkish theater, art, sculpture, literature, poetry, philosophy, and international cinema. A native of England and a twenty-five-year resident of Turkey, Raw interleaves his film discussion with thoughtful commentary on nationalism, gender, personal identity, and cultural pluralism.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2017
New Cinema, New Media: Reinventing Turkish Cinema by
This volume covers approaches concerning the relationship between innovation in cinema and the politics of filmmaking in new cinema practices in Turkey. The contributors focus on historiography, genres, mainstream and art cinema production, and transnational cinema, as well as changing narratives and identities. The new cinema movement in Turkey is here analysed from perspectives of new technologies, new production and distribution structures, the impact of film training, the televisual industry, new actors in commercial and art cinema, as well as the impact of the film festival circuit. Additionally, recurring themes of memory, trauma, and identity are dealt with from multidisciplinary angles. The volume covers in depth analyses of the internationally renowned filmmakers Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Fatih Akın, Semih KaplanoÄÿlu, Reha Erdem, Zeki Demirkubuz, YeÅÿim UstaoÄÿlu and DerviÅÿ Zaim. A timely study on the centenary of Turkish cinema in 2014, students of Middle Eastern Studies, Film Studies, Cultural Studies, Urban Studies, Gender Studies, and Identity Studies will find this volume extremely relevant to their work.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Women in the Cinemas of Iran and Turkey : As Images and As Image-Makers by
This volume compares the cinemas of Iran and Turkey in terms of the presence and absence of women on both sides of the camera. From a critical point of view, it provides detailed readings of works by both male and female film-makers, emphasising issues facing women's film-making. Presenting an overview of the modern histories of the two neighbouring countries the study traces certain similarities and contrasts, particularly in the reception, adaption and representation of Western modernity and cinema. This is followed by the exploration of the images of women on screen with attention to minority women, investigating post-traumatic cinema's approaches to women (Islamic Revolution of 1979 in Iran and the 1980 coup d'état in Turkey) and women's interpretations of post-traumatic experiences. Furthermore, the representations of sexualities and LGBTI identities within cultural, traditional and state-imposed restrictions are also discussed. Investigating border-crossing in physical and metaphorical terms, the research explores the hybridities in the artistic expressions of 'deterritorialized' film-makers negotiating loyalties to both vatan(motherland) and the adopted country. This comprehensive analysis of the cinemas of Iran and Turkey, based on extensive research, fieldwork, interviews and viewing of countless films is a key resource for students and scholars interested in film, gender and cultural studies and the Middle East. ssing in physical and metaphorical terms, the research explores the hybridities in the artistic expressions of 'deterritorialized' film-makers negotiating loyalties to both vatan(motherland) and the adopted country. This comprehensive analysis of the cinemas of Iran and Turkey, based on extensive research, fieldwork, interviews and viewing of countless films is a key resource for students and scholars interested in film, gender and cultural studies and the Middle East.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2019
