Language History & Linguistics
The Turkic Languages by
The Turkic languages are spoken today in a vast geographical area from the Balkans to the Arctic Ocean and from South Iran to China. There are currently twenty languages in the group, the most important being Turkish. This is the first reference book to bring together detailed discussions of the historical development and specialized linguistic structures and features of this vast language family. Each chapter contains modern linguistic analysis with traditional historical linguistics, allowing for easy typological comparison of the language.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL21 .T876 2006Publication Date: 2007
Linguistic Politeness Across Boundaries: the Case of Greek and Turkish by
This volume includes 14 papers investigating politeness phenomena in Greece and Turkey, the cultural cross-roads of Europe, Asia and the Middle East. It reflects current research and provides observations of and findings in patterns of linguistic politeness in a geographical area other than the much studied English speaking ones. The book appeals to professionals and students interested in a broader perspective of language use in its social context. Articles in the collection are empirically rather than theoretically oriented and examine realisations of politeness in relation to social parameters. The chapters have been arranged in pairs (Greek/Turkish), treating the following related issues: firstly a more general ethnographic picture of the two societies, the variables of power/status in classroom and other interaction, solidarity in advice-giving and the use of approbatory expressions, service encounters and the differential use of language by males and females, the use of interruptions in television talk, and finally compliments.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2001
Turkish Natural Language Processing by
This book brings together work on Turkish natural language and speech processing over the last 25 years, covering numerous fundamental tasks ranging from morphological processing and language modeling, to full-fledged deep parsing and machine translation, as well as computational resources developed along the way to enable most of this work. Owing to its complex morphology and free constituent order, Turkish has proved to be a fascinating language for natural language and speech processing research and applications. After an overview of the aspects of Turkish that make it challenging for natural language and speech processing tasks, this book discusses in detail the main tasks and applications of Turkish natural language and speech processing. A compendium of the work on Turkish natural language and speech processing, it is a valuable reference for new researchers considering computational work on Turkish, as well as a one-stop resource for commercial and research institutions planning to develop applications for Turkish. It also serves as a blueprint for similar work on other Turkic languages such as Azeri, Turkmen and Uzbek.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2018
Linguistics Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (P29 .E48 2006 )Publication Date: 2005These 4 volumes contain articles on central linguistic themes, their related concepts and relationships with other disciplines. They intend to be authoritative, comprehensive and international in scope, while appealing to an academic audience. There is an alphabetic list of the articles; the longer entries are signed and followed by bibliographies.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (P29 .I58 2003)Publication Date: 2003The goal of this source is to present articles on the full range of linguistic disciplines (applied, sociolinguistics, psycholinguistics, etc.) and their inter-relationships, as well as their intersections with other disciplines.
