Contemporary Fiction
A Cup of Turkish Coffee = Bir fincan kahve by
Short stories in English and Turkish. The sun-eating gypsy = Güneş yiyen çingene -- The mysterious passenger at the Spanish border = İspanya sınırındaki gizemli yolcu -- The other twin = İkizlerden biri -- The soul that loves not Istanbul, what does it know of love? = İstanbul'u sevmezse gönül aşkı ne anlar?
Location: Mugar Stacks PL248.U984 F56 2001Publication Date: 2001Taş bina ve diğerleri by Three interconnected stories culminate in a short novella, whose stone building is a metaphor for the various oppressive institutions -- prisons, police HQs, hospitals and psychiatric asylums -- which dominate the lives of these characters. A distillation of the experience of exile and incarceration, both physical and mental, presented in moving, allegorical portraits of lives ensnared by the power structures.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL248.E657 T3 2009Publication Date: 2009Masumiyet müzesi by It is 1975, a perfect spring in Istanbul. Kemal, scion of one of the city's wealthiest families, is about to become engaged to Sibel, daughter of another prominent family, when he encounters Fusun, a beautiful shopgirl and a distant relation. Thus begins an obsessive but tragic love affair that will transform itself into a compulsive collection of objects--a museum of one man's broken heart--that chronicle Kemal's lovelorn progress and his afflicted heart's reactions.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL248.P34 M37 2008Publication Date: 2008
Contemporary Turkish Short Fiction, Volume 1 by
Aside from the work of a few Turkish writers who have become well known in the West, very little Turkish literature has been translated into English. This two-volume anthology, the largest compilation to date of contemporary Turkish short stories in English translation, aims to fill this gap and introduce an international audience to the depth and range of recent Turkish short fiction. Volume 1 includes 43 stories by 32 writers, with an introduction by Turkish writer and critic Feridun Andac.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL271.E8 C66 2009Publication Date: 2009
Guides to Turkish Literature
Browse books and ebooks on:
A Millennium of Turkish Literature by
From Orhon inscriptions to Orhan Pamuk, the story of Turkish literature from the eighth century A.D. to the present day is rich and complex, full of firm traditions and daring transformations. Spanning a geographic range from Outer Mongolia and the environs of China through Inner Asia, the Caucasus, the Middle East and North Africa, the Balkans and Europe all the way to North America, the history of Turkish literature encompasses an amalgam of cultural and literary orientations that embraced such traditions and influences as Chinese, Indian, Turkic, Mongolian, Uyghur, Russian, Arabo-Persian, Islamic, Sufi, Judaeo-Christian, Greek, Mesopotamian, Roman, Byzantine, European, Scandinavian, North American, and Latin American. Always receptive to the nurturing values, aesthetic tastes, and literary penchants from diverse civilizations, Turkish culture succeeded in evolving a sui generis personality. It clung onto its own established traits; yet, it was flexible enough to welcome innovations-or even revolutionary change. A Millennium of Turkish Literature tells the story of how literature evolved and grew in stature on the Turkish mainland in the course of a thousand years. The book features numerous poems and extracts, most in fluid translations by Talat S. Halman. This volume provides a concise, but captivating, introduction to Turkish literature and, with selections from its extensive "Further Reading" section, serves as an invaluable guide to Turkish literature for course adoption.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL205 .H345 2011 and OnlinePublication Date: 2011
Islamic Literature in Contemporary Turkey: from epic to novel by
This book explores the changing understandings of Islam by focusing on the Islamist movement's production of literary fiction since the early 1980s. By focusing on Islamic literary narratives of the period, this study introduces issues of change, space, history and analytical relation that are excluded by the essentialist reading of Islamism.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2008
Turkish Literature - Anthologies
Tablet and Pen: Literary Landscapes from the modern Middle East by
The countries that stretch along the broad horizons of the Middle East--from Morocco to Iran, from Turkey to Pakistan--boast different cultures, different languages, and different religions. Yet the literary landscape of this dynamic part of the world has been bound together not by borders and nationalities, but by a common experience of Western imperialism. Keenly aware of the collected scars left by a legacy of colonial rule, the acclaimed writer Reza Aslan, with a team of four regional editors and seventy-seven translators, cogently demonstrates with Tablet and Pen how literature can, in fact, be used to form identity and serve as an extraordinary chronicle of the disrupted histories of the region. Acting with Words Without Borders, which fosters international exchange through translation and publication of the world's finest literature, Aslan has purposefully situated this volume in the twentieth century, beyond the familiar confines of the Ottoman past, believing that the writers who have emerged in the last hundred years have not received their full due. This monumental collection, therefore, of nearly two hundred pieces, including short stories, novels, memoirs, essays and works of drama--many of them presented in English for the first time--features translated works from Arabic, Persian, Urdu, and Turkish. Organized chronologically, the volume spans a century of literature--from the famed Arab poet Khalil Gibran to the Nobel laureates Naguib Mahfouz and Orhan Pamuk, from the great Syrian-Lebanese poet Adonis to the grand dame of Urdu fiction, Ismat Chughtai--connected by the extraordinarily rich tradition of resplendent cultures that have been all too often ignored by the Western canon. By shifting America's perception of the Middle Eastern world away from religion and politics, Tablet and Pen evokes the splendors of a region through the voices of its writers and poets, whose literature tells an urgent and liberating story. With a wealth of contextual information that places the writing within the historical, political, and cultural breadth of the region, Tablet & Pen is transcendent, a book to be devoured as a single sustained narrative, from the first page to the last. Creating a vital bridge between two estranged cultures, "this is that rare anthology: cohesive, affecting, and informing" (Publishers Weekly).
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ409 .T33 2011Publication Date: 2010
A Useless Man: Selected Stories by
Sait Faik Abasiyanik wrote 12 books of short stories, two novels and a book of poetry. Many stories are loosely autobiographical and deal with his frustration with social convention, the relentless pace of westernisation, and the slow but steady ethnic cleansing of his city. His fluid surfaces might seem to be in keeping with restrictions that the architects of the new Republic placed on language and culture, but the truth lies in their dark undercurrents. He is still greatly revered and this collection brings together some of his greatest works.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL248.S288 A2 2014Publication Date: 2015
A Brave New Quest: 100 Modern Turkish Poems by
This anthology features poems on a wide variety of subjects ranging from evocations of history, humanitarian concerns, and social justice to love and intimacy. It contains stirring examples of the revolutionary romanticism of Nazim Hikmet; the passionate wisdom of Fazil Husnu Daglarca; the wry and captivating humor of Orhan Veli Kanik; the intellectual complexity of Oktay Rifat and Melih Cevdet Anday; the modern mythology of Ilhan Berk; the subtle brilliance of Behet Necatigil; the rebellious spirit of the socialist realists; the lyric flow of the neoromantics; and the diverse explorations of younger poets.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL232 .B73 2006Publication Date: 2006
Finding Articles
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
Literature Databases
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after Jan. 1, 2000. May be searched simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles. Date coverage: earliest issues of each journal up to the most current five years for most publications and to the present for some.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Date coverage: 1920s - present.
Humanities/Social Science Databases
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window An index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Date coverage: 1908 - present with some older items.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes journal articless, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews. Date coverage: 1906 - present.
- America: History & Life (AHL) This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present times; indexes journal articles, book titles and chapters, reviews from numerous multilingual sources; all abstracts in English. Date coverage: 1949-present
Literary Biography
- Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
- Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
Browse books and ebooks on:
How Istanbul's Cultural Complexities Have Shaped Eight Contemporary Novelists (Byatt, Glazebrook, Atasü, Şafak, Tillman, Livaneli, Kristeva, and Pamuk) by This book examines representations of Istanbul in the text of contemporary Turkish and non-Turkish writers, highlighting how multiple and even contradictory depictions in the texts engage in cross-genre mergings that narrate plural accounts of Istanbul's imperial past and its present role as Turkey's largest industrial city.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL210.I78 B85 2011ISBN: 0773439501Publication Date: 2011-10-15
Istanbul: Memories and the City by
From the Nobel Prize-winning author of My Name Is Red and Snow, a large-format, deluxe, collectible edition of his beloved memoir about life in Istanbul, with more than 200 added illustrations and a new introduction. Orhan Pamuk was born in Istanbul and still lives in the family apartment building where his mother first held him in her arms. His portrait of his city is thus also a self-portrait, refracted by memory and the melancholy--or h#65533;z#65533;n--that all Istanbullus share: the sadness that comes of living amid the ruins of a lost empire. With cinematic fluidity, Pamuk moves from the lives of his glamorous, unhappy parents to the gorgeous, decrepit mansions overlooking the Bosphorus; from the dawning of his self-consciousness to the writers and painters--both Turkish and foreign--who would shape his consciousness of his city. Like Joyce's Dublin and Borges' Buenos Aires, Pamuk's Istanbul is a triumphant encounter of place and sensibility, beautifully written and immensely moving.
Location: Mugar Stacks DR723 .P3613 2017Publication Date: 2017
House with Wisteria: memoirs of Halidé Edib by
"This edition of Halide Edib's Memoirs, prefaced with Sibel Erol's excellent introduction, is important and timely. When stereotypes of women in the Muslim world abound, Halide's Memoirs remind us of the courage and dedication of "foremothers" who struggled for emancipation at both personal and national levels. These Memoirs open a window on the search for personal expression of a woman caught up in the oppressive dynamics of her polygamous households (parental and marital), and the travails of national liberation and nation-building in Turkey, in which she played an active role. Halide speaks to us with an urgency which, if anything, now cries out to be heard more than ever. "Deniz Kandiyoti, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London.
Location: Mugar Stacks DR592.A4 A3 2003Publication Date: 2003
Bibliographies
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Date coverage: 1920s - present.
- The Online Bibliography of Ottoman-Turkish Literature Extensive bibliography of books, articles and theses on Ottoman-Turkish culture
The Turkic Languages and Literatures of Central Asia by Location: Online and HGARC Closed Stacks (non-circulating) Frye 2702Publication Date: 1957-01-01
Turkey by
Situated between two continents, the Turkish Republic emerged in 1923 as the successor to the multinational Ottoman Empire. A young secular Republic with an old history, Turkey is a diverse and complex country in terms of social composition, politics, culture and economy, where cultures and races coexist. This dynamism is apparent in Turkey's economy, with its rapidly developing financial markets, an energetic entrepreneurial class, a thriving industrial base, and fast-growing communications. Today Turkey is striving to consolidate its democracy but it also faces other challenges. On the one hand it wishes to maintain its Islamic tradition but on the other it desires to be part of the West. In addition, it seeks to find a balance between its traditional role in Western defence strategy and its new regional role in the Middle East, Eastern Europe, the Caucasus and Central Asia. This bibliography fully updates the original volume, published in 1982.
Location: Mugar Stacks G58 .W67 v. 27Publication Date: 1999
