Skip to Main Content
Library Guides - Arabic & Middle East Studies
Digital Collections
Digital Persian Archive
The Database includes "public" and "private" documents: royal decrees and orders, official correspondence, and shari'a court documents, such as contracts of sale and lease, vaqf deeds, marriage contracts, and court orders.
Discover Islamic Art
This digital collection from the Museum with No Frontiers includes works of art from 52 collections in 22 countries.
Discovering Sacred Texts -- The British Library
Discovering Sacred Texts is a new free British Library online learning resource, inviting visitors to explore the world’s major faiths through the Library’s extensive collection of sacred texts.
The collection features the six most-practiced faiths in the UK - Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and Sikhism - as well as a number of other faiths including the Baha’i Faith, Jainism and Zoroastrianism.
Arabic Collections Online
Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. ACO currently provides digital access to 7,908 volumes across 5,043 subjects drawn from rich Arabic collections of distinguished research libraries. Supported by New York University in Abu Dhabi, this mass digitization project aims to feature up to 23,000 volumes from the library collections of NYU and partner institutions.
World Digital Library - Middle East and North Africa
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.
The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
AMEEL - Yale University
AMEEL is a Web-based portal and a digital collection of information for the study of the Middle East, including its history, culture, development, and contemporary face. Within this portal, Yale University Library integrates existing scholarly digital content with newly digitized resources to make such materials easier to find and use efficiently and freely.
Islamic Heritage Project - Harvard University
Harvard’s Islamic Heritage Project (IHP) is a digital collection that includes over 280 manuscripts, more than 50 maps, and more than 275 printed texts from Harvard’s renowned library and museum collections. Through the IHP, these materials are freely available to Internet users worldwide.
AUC Rare Books and Special Collections Digital Library
This digital library from the American University in Cairo provides online access to unique cultural heritage resources including photographs, videos and oral histories.
Europeana
Resources from European archives, broadcasters, museums, universities, research institutes and private collectors.
Princeton Digital Library of Islamic Manuscripts
This is the premier collection of Arabic, Persian, Ottoman Turkish, and other Islamic manuscripts in the Western Hemisphere. Initially, more than 200 of these manuscripts were digitized as the core of the Princeton Digital Library of Islamic Manuscripts. The manuscripts digitized from microfilm include all texts (chiefly New Series) on Shia law and theology; texts related to other non-Sunni sects, such as the Druze and Kharijites; and more than 750 other manuscripts (Garrett Yahuda Series) on a variety of subjects.
Digital Islamic Humanities Project - Brown University
The Digital Islamic Humanities Project is a research initiative of the Middle East Studies program at Brown University. This site contains a working bibliography, useful resources, a frequently updated blog, and information about our recent conference on the Digital Humanities and Islamic & Middle East Studies.
Websites
Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources (AMIR)
Provides information on open access materials relating to the Middle East.
Al-Fanar Media
Al-Fanar Media provides news and opinion about all aspects of academic life in the Arab world. Dedicated to illuminating key issues in Arab higher education and encouraging dialogue among institutions, leaders, and other stakeholders both within and beyond the region, Al-Fanar Media serves as a platform for open and critical discussion. The publication, bilingual in English and Arabic, features new articles in a biweekly newsletter.
ArabLit blog
ArabLit is a literary blog for non-Arabic readers interested in Arabic literature and culture
Words without Borders
Founded in 2003, Words Without Borders promotes cultural understanding through the translation, publication, and promotion of the finest contemporary international literature.
