Classical Arabic Dictionaries
- Edward William Lane's Arabic-English Lexicon Free online resource. 8 volumes, each with its own folder, total 3162 pages. One large word-searchable file for each volume. Arrangement by root, exhaustive meanings including derivatives, comments on grammar, examples of usage in Al Quran/Koran & other sources.
- Lisaan.net Arabic Dictionaries Lisaan.net is a search engine and library of classical Arabic dictionaries. It contains over 40 dictionaries and references from the earliest authorities to Orientalist and contemporary sources.
Dictionaries
- The Living Arabic Project This site is an effort to show Arabic as a living language by allowing users to search in both a Classical Arabic dictionary and a dialect dictionary at the same time.
Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary by
The Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary is a brand-new compact Arabic-English and English-Arabic dictionary that offers up-to-date coverage of all the essential day-to-day vocabulary, with over 16,000 words, phrases, and translations. This dictionary is easy to use and ideal for students,travel, and quick reference. Designed for both native English and Arabic speakers, the supplementary sections offer guidance on Arabic verbs and irregular verbs. Phonetic transcriptions are provided for each English entry, and phonetic respelling for irregular Arabic pronunciations. Arabic entries are also listed according toalphabetical order, not by root, in order to make word searches more user-friendly. Additional supplements give help with tricky areas, such as numerals and expressions of time. The Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary is the ideal companion for anyone needing a reliable and portable Arabic-English and English-Arabic dictionary for study, work, or travel.
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ6640 .O94 2010Publication Date: 2010
Oxford-Duden Pictorial English Dictionary with English-Arabic Index by
From the familiar to the highly specialized, Oxford-Duden Pictorial Dictionaries provide clear and simple illustrated coverage of more than 28,000 complex objects from every aspect of life today.Designed for both English and Arabic speakers, with a full English-Arabic index, this dictionary is an invaluable guide to hundreds of different topics, including: business, technology, finance, the environment, sport and entertainment, and the world that surrounds us.
Location: Mugar Reference X PE1629 .O88 2003Publication Date: 2003
A Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic by Location: Mugar Reference X PJ6640 .W43 1994Publication Date: 1993- Al-Munjid fī al-lughah wa-al-aʻlām byLocation: Mugar Reference X PJ6620 .M34 2000Publication Date: 2000
- Al-Mounged, English-Arabic = al-Munjid; 2nd edition byLocation: Mugar Reference X PJ6640 .T45 1997Publication Date: 1997
Arabic Dictionaries - Dialects
The Olive Tree Dictionary: a transliterated dictionary of conversational Eastern Arabic (Palestinian) by
Until now, mastering Arabic script has prevented many from speaking and understanding the language. Elihay helps English speakers unlock the mystery and beauty of the Arabic language through a unique, innovative method in which Arabic words are looked up phonetically in English. (Foreign Language - Dictionaries/Phrase Books)
Location: Mugar Reference X PJ6807 .E55 2004Publication Date: 2004- Comprehensive Persian-English Dictionary: including the Arabic words and phrases to be met with in Persian literature : being Johnson and Richardson's Persian, Arabic, and English dictionary byLocation: Mugar Stacks PK6379 .S7 2000Publication Date: 1996-01-01
A Dictionary of Iraqi Arabic by
Originally offered in two separate volumes, A Dictionary of Iraqi Arabic, a staple of Georgetown University Press's world-renowned Arabic language program, now handily provides both the English to Arabic and Arabic to English texts in one volume. Designed for an English speaker learning Arabic, this is a key reference for anyone learning the colloquial speech of Iraq as spoken by educated people in Baghdad. Using romanized transliteration and transcription rather than the Arabic alphabet, it is further enhanced in most cases by having sentences to illustrate how individual word entries are used in context, reinforcing the user's acquisition of colloquial Iraqi.
Location: Mugar Reference X PJ6826 .D53 2003Publication Date: 2003
A Dictionary of Syrian Arabic: English-Arabic by
A Dictionary of Syrian Arabic provides Syrian terms for the language spoken in everyday life by Muslims primarily in Damascus, but understandable throughout Syria as well as in the broader linguistic areas of present-day Lebanon, Jordan, and among the Palestinians and the Arabic-speaking population of Israel. Entries include examples, idioms, and common phrases to illustrate usage. The Arabic terms are presented in transcription. It is useful for students of Arabic, scholars wishing to train in the Syrian dialect, and visitors and travelers to Syria and other nations where the dialect is spoken. A thorough introduction outlines the sociolinguistic situation in Syria and covers phonology, morphology, syntax, grammar, and vocabulary. Alongside the other Arabic language-learning and reference works published by Georgetown University Press, this dictionary is yet another invaluable volume on spoken Arabic, belonging at the side of travelers and scholars, and on the shelves of research and reference libraries.
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ6816 .D53 2004Publication Date: 2004
A Dictionary of Moroccan Arabic: Moroccan-English by
This classic volume presents the core vocabulary of everyday life in Morocco--from the kitchen to the mosque, from the hardware store to the natural world of plants and animals. It contains myriad examples of usage, including formulaic phrases and idiomatic expressions. Understandable throughout the nation, it is based primarily on the standard dialect of Moroccans from the cities of Fez, Rabat, and Casablanca. All Arabic citations are in an English transcription, making it invaluable to English-speaking non-Arabists, travelers, and tourists--as well as being an important resource tool for students and scholars in the Arabic language-learning field.
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ6770.26 .D53 2004Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window Includes "articles on distinguished Muslims of every era and origin, on tribes and dynasties, on crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities" of the Islamic world.
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window Focuses on women and the civilizations and societies in which Islam has played a historic role. Surveys all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, etc.) of women in these societies.
- Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an This link opens in a new window The Encylopaedia of the Qur'an is "an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies."
- Encyclopaedia Iranica This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization. A precisely documented reference work on the lands, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by
This title looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Location: Mugar Reference X BP40 .E525 2004Publication Date: 2003
Routledge Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature by
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature is an authoritative reference source on the most important authors, works, genres, key terms, concepts and issues in the Arabic literary tradition. The Encyclopedia covers the classical (pre-Islamic to 1258), transitional (1258-1798) and modern periods within a single work. In over 1300 separately-authored entries, many of the world's experts combine current research with traditional study to provide authoritative analysis and commentary on a wide range of areas. These include major authors, important works, and a variety of literary terms. Also covered are forms such as poetry, drama and newspaper writing and key critical concepts of Arabic literature.
Location: Mugar Reference X PJ7510 .R76 2010Publication Date: 2010
The Arabian Nights Encyclopedia by
The most comprehensive treatment of the Arabian Nights ever published, with more than 800 detailed encyclopedic entries and a wealth of authoritative essays and resources. * Includes 800+ encyclopedic entries covering all aspects of the Arabian Nights * Begins with a fascinating introduction and a variety of essays by renowned scholars, presenting areas of pivotal interest and concern * Includes a concordance of tales in different editions and translations * Provides an extensive bibliography, featuring reference works published in English and other languages
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ7737 .A73 2004 (2 vols)Publication Date: 2004-08-24
