Language History & Linguistics
- Al-Ê¿Arabiyya: Journal of the American Association of Teachers of Arabic Al-'Arabiyya is the annual journal of the American Association of Teachers of Arabic and serves scholars in the United States and abroad. Al-'Arabiyya includes scholarly articles and reviews that advance the study, research, and teaching of Arabic language, linguistics, literature, and pedagogy.
Browse books and ebooks on:
The Oxford Handbook of Arabic Linguistics by
Until about 60 years ago, linguistic research on the Arabic language in the West was restricted to inquiries on Classical Arabic and the Classical tradition, and spoken Arabic dialects, with historical studies embedded within the broader field of Semitic languages. This situation is changingquickly, not only through the continuation of older research traditions, but also with the integration of new research fields and perspectives. With this explanation comes the danger of specialists in Arabic losing an overview of the field, and of leaving non-specialists without basic resourced forevaluating domains of research which they may be interested in for comparative purposes. The Oxford Handbook of Arabic Linguistics will confront this problem by combining state-of-the-art overviews with essays on issues of perspective, controversy, and point of view. In twenty-one chapters, leading experts from around the world will lay out their own stances on controversial issues. Thebook not only evaluates ways in which questions and theories established in general linguistics and its sub-fields elucidate Arabic, but also challenges approaches which might result in accommodating Arabic to "non-Arabic" interpretations, and brings out the Arabic specificity of individualproblems. The Handbook, in one compact volume, gives critical expression to a language which covers large populations and geographical areas, has a long written tradition, and has been the locus of major intellectual fervor and debate.
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ6106 .T44 2013Publication Date: 2013ARABS : a 3,000-year history of peoples, tribes and empires by
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2019
A Linguistic History of Arabic by
A Linguistic History of Arabic presents a reconstruction of proto-Arabic by the methods of historical-comparative linguistics. It challenges the traditional conceptualization of an old, Classical language evolving into the contemporary Neo-Arabic dialects. Professor Owens combines establishedcomparative linguistic methodology with a careful reading of the classical Arabic sources, such as the grammatical and exegetical traditions. He arrives at a richer and more complex picture of early Arabic language history than is current today and in doing so establishes the basis for acomprehensive, linguistically-based understanding of the history of Arabic. The arguments are set out in a concise, case by case basis, making it accessible to students and scholars of Arabic and Islamic culture, as well as to those studying Arabic and historical linguists.
Location: Mugar Stacks PJ6075 .O95 2006 and OnlinePublication Date: 2006
The Arabic Linguistic Tradition by
Since The Arabic Linguistic Tradition was published in 1990, the field of Arabic linguistics has grown significantly. New journals, societies, and professional groups are flourishing as more contemporary linguists pursue the study of the Arabic language and its origins. This book remains a touchstone in the field of Arabic linguistics. It is one of the first books to cover the whole range of language in Arabic culture and to offer a historical linguistic survey of the Arabic language from Classical to Modern Standard Arabic. The expert authors discuss pure grammatical theory as well as the context of language as it is used in religion, literature, law, and other disciplines. The Arabic Linguistic Tradition presents a concise overview of the most important issues in theoretical and speculative linguistics in the Arabic tradition, from their origins in the eighth century through the codification of grammar in the tenth century to its decline in the fifteenth century. This volume represents the highest level of scholarship in English on phonological, morphological, syntactic, and semantic theory as they were developed by the major Arabic grammarians including Sibawayhi and al-Khalil ibn Ahmad. Graduate students and scholars of Arabic linguistics and historical linguists will find this book to be a timeless classic.
Location: Mugar Stacks P81.A65 B64 2006Publication Date: 2006-02-07
Advanced English-Arabic Translation: a practical guide by
This clearly structured guide will help learners who already have a basic grasp of Arabic to hone their translation skills. The texts chosen for translation exercises have been carefully selected from a variety of authentic, contemporary texts across a broad range of genres.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Linguistics Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics by
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics is a major multi-volume reference work. It is a unique collaboration of hundreds of scholars from around the world and covers all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic, dealing with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic).
Location: Mugar Reference X PJ6031 .E53 2006 (5 vols)Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (P29 .E48 2006 )Publication Date: 2005These 4 volumes contain articles on central linguistic themes, their related concepts and relationships with other disciplines. They intend to be authoritative, comprehensive and international in scope, while appealing to an academic audience. There is an alphabetic list of the articles; the longer entries are signed and followed by bibliographies.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (P29 .I58 2003)Publication Date: 2003The goal of this source is to present articles on the full range of linguistic disciplines (applied, sociolinguistics, psycholinguistics, etc.) and their inter-relationships, as well as their intersections with other disciplines.
