Skip to Main Content
Advertising Sources
Advertising and Marketing (Food and Drink in History)
Advertising and marketing have historically been closely connected to the preparation, production and consumption of food and drink, as companies and brands conduct high-level, in-depth research into societal and consumer behaviour in order to best develop and sell products. The reports, adverts, trade cards and catalogues in this resource trace the growth of brands, advertising trends and social mores relating to food and drink across the centuries.
Little Cookbooks: the Alan and Shirley Brocker Sliker Culinary Collection
Little Cookbooks contains thousands of food and cookery related publications produced primarily by companies in the United States from the late nineteenth century up to the present. The collection provides a rich resource to study the evolution and history of advertising, food products, individual companies, technology, food preparation, and food production.
Ad*Access
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
AdFlip.com
"Adflip.com is the world's largest searchable database of classic print ads."
AdViews, Duke University Libraries, Digital Collections
The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.
Advertising, The National Museum of American History
Advertising is meant to persuade, and the themes and techniques of that persuasion reveal a part of the nation's history. The Museum has preserved advertising campaigns for several familiar companies. It also holds the records of the NW Ayer Advertising Agency and business papers from Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, Carvel Ice Cream, and other companies. The Warshaw Collection of Business Americana comprises thousands of trade cards, catalogs, labels, and other business papers and images dating back to the late 1700s.
Vintage Ad Browser
Vintage Ad Browser aims to collect vintage ads from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-Roms, websites, APIs, your submissions, book, magazine & comic book scans, and more.
