Skip to Main Content
Data Sources
Food Attitudes and Behaviors Survey, National Cancer Institute
The Food Attitudes and Behaviors (FAB) Survey was developed by staff at NCI with the goal of evaluating a variety of factors that may be related to fruit and vegetable intake among adults. FAB measures attitudes and beliefs, general health, shopping, fruit and vegetable consumption, eating behaviors, physical activity, sedentary behaviors, and food preferences.
American Time Use Survey, Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes time spent on purchasing and preparing food, eating and drinking, and cleanup.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), CDC
The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity, UConn
Rudd Center is a non-profit organization devoted to promoting solutions to childhood obesity, poor diet, and weight bias through research and policy.
Food and Nutrition Service, USDA
Provides data and reports on nutrition assistance programs such as SNAP, WIC, and more.
Agricultural Marketing Service, USDA
Provides data on grading and standardization of U.S. commodity programs (food, fiber, and specialty crops).
Foreign Agricultural Service, USDA
Data on agricultural exports, imports and trade production and policies.
Agricultural Research Service, USDA
ARS conducts research to develop and transfer solutions to agricultural problems of high national priority. Agricultural Research Service programs generate many publicly accessible data products that are catalogued in the Ag Data Commons. These databases, datasets, and data collections may be maintained by ARS or by ARS in cooperation with other organizations.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. See their Quick Stats Database.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Statistical Database (FAOSTAT)
FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
International Food Policy Research Institute
The International Food Policy Research Institute seeks sustainable solutions for ending hunger and poverty. It collects data at the country, community and household level on food security, hunger and related issues.
