Related Guides
Selected Newspaper Sources
Historical Newspapers
- Chronicling America Chronicling America (ISSN 2475-2703) is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Fully searchable digital images of newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries. Date coverage: 1690 -1876.
- New York Times (1851- 2016) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1851-2016. Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text of the New York Times back issues. Additions each year keep it within 3 years of the current year. NOTE: For 2016+ use Nexis Uni.
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1996) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1849-1996. Full-page and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the Chicago Tribune and all its title variants. NOTE: For 1997+ use Nexis Uni.
- Los Angeles Times (1881- 1995) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1881 - 1995). Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the Los Angeles Times under all its title variants. NOTE: For 1996+ use Nexis Uni.
- Chicago Defender (1910-1975) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1910-1975. Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the African American newspaper Chicago Defender under all its title variants.
- Washington Post (1877- 2002) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1877-2002. Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the Washington Post under all its title variants. NOTE: For 2003+ use Nexis Uni.
- Boston Globe (1872-1988) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1872 - 1988. Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the newspaper The Boston Globe and its title variants. NOTE: For 1988+ use
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 (London) This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1785 - 1985. An online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Times (London) to 1985. Full page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text. NOTE: For 1985+ use Nexis Uni.
- 17th-18th century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. Date coverage: 1604-1804.
- American Jewish Newspapers This link opens in a new window American Jewish Newspapers provides scanned, searchable articles from four 19th and 20th century newspapers: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922); The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990); The American Israelite (1854-2000); and Jewish Exponent (1887-1990). Rights for use by Boston University community supported by the Ted Kyrios Memorial Book Fund.
Contemporary Newspapers
- Boston Globe 1980+ This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1980 - present. Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). For earlier editions use Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- PressReader This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International, searchable, full text coverage of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.) Date coverage: 1977 - present.
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Date coverage: 2008 to 2 months ago.
