Research: Japanese Language & Literature: Japanese Literature @ BU

Japanese Language & Literature at BU

BU Special Collections

Central Asian and Islamic Rare Book Collection
The Central Asian and Islamic Rare Book Collection at BU’s Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center Library combines four of the world’s best private scholarly libraries that were created by renowned Western scholars of the region.
more...less...
They include:

1. Iran & Central Asia: The Library of Richard N. Frye. Ca. 6,500 books, 110 journal titles (3,500 volumes)
2. Languages & Literatures of Central Asia: The Library of Karl H. Menges. Ca. 3,080 books, 50 journal titles (1,150 volumes), 5000 off-prints
3. The Cultures of the Karakorum Highway: The Library of Karl Jettmar. Ca. 6,500 books, 118 journal titles (2,500 volumes), 3,500 off-prints
4. The library of Professor Mohsin Mahdi
Donald Richie Collection
Manuscripts by Richie predominantly regard Japanese cinema, music, and literature, and include books; essays (1950-2009); reviews; speeches and lectures (1987-2001); short stories (1944-1968); dramatic works (1947-1978); book excerpts; musical scores (1946-1981); and outlines, notes, and fragments.
Yukio Mishima Collection
The Yukio Mishima collection consists of two manuscripts, both in holograph Japanese script and in notebook form. One manuscript is for a short story, “Great Sisters,” that was published in the magazine Shincho ; this item is dated Jan. 29, 1951. The other manuscript is a travel diary, dated Jan. 31, 1958.
Shiki kaishi Journal (子規会誌)
The Shiki kaishi (子規会誌) is the official journal of the Matsuyama Shiki Society (松山子規会) whose members study and promote the work of Masaoka Shiki (1867-1902), a major figure in the development of modern Japanese literature and the inventor of the modern haiku.
more...less...
The Matsuyama Shiki Society was founded in 1943 by Shiki’s contemporary Yanagihara Kyokudō and has met on the 19th of every month since then to share their research. The Shiki kaishi publishes the proceedings of these monthly meetings and research on Masaoka Shiki. It has been published continuously on a quarterly basis since April, 1979, and contains a wealth of writing on Shiki and his circle, including such figures as Natsume Sōseki, Takahama Kyoshi, Kawahigashi Hekigotō, and Naitō Meisetsu. The journal also features reviews of books on Shiki and bibliographies of Shiki scholarship. With the permission of the Society’s membership, Boston University makes its contents freely available here to researchers and haiku enthusiasts the world over.

Librarian

Barbara Maratos

Contact:

bkmarato@bu.edu
Room 501B
Mugar Library
(617) 353-9319

Subjects: Language & Linguistics, Literature