Modern Japanese Grammar Workbook by Naomi Mcgloin; M. Endo Hudson; Fumiko Nazikian; Tomomi KakegawaThe Modern Japanese Grammar Workbook is an innovative book of exercises and language tasks for all learners of Japanese. The book is divided into two parts: Section A provides exercises based on essential grammatical structures Section B practises everyday functions (e.g. making introductions, apologizing, expressing needs). All sentences are written both in Romanization and in the Japanese script and a comprehensive answer key at the back enables the learner to check on their progress. Key features of the book include: Exercises graded on a 3-point scale according to their level of difficulty Cross-referencing to the related?Modern Japanese Grammar Topical exercises drawn from realistic scenarios to help learners develop their vocabulary and practical communication skills Opportunities to practise both written and spoken Japanese.
Publication Date: 2014
Japanese: A Comprehensive Grammar by Stefan Kaiser; Yasuko Ichikawa; Noriko Kobayashi; Hilofumi YamamotoJapanese: A Comprehensive Grammar is a complete reference guide to modern Japanese grammar. Accessible and systematic, it explores the complexities of the language thoroughly, filling many gaps left by other textbooks. Clear grammar points are put in context using examples from a range of Japanese media. The emphasis is firmly on contemporary Japanese as spoken and written by native speakers. Key features of the book include: coverage of colloquial and standard Japanese extensive cross-referencing detailed index of Japanese and English terms up-to-date real examples of current usage greater emphasis on structures that learners find particularly confusing glossary of linguistic terms.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PL685 .T37 1994 )
Publication Date: 1994
Tense and Aspect in Modern Colloquial Japanese by Matsuo SogaGoing beyond what has been previously written on tense and aspect in general and concerning Japanese in particular, this work lays the foundation for a systematization of aspectual categories on the basis of realized versus unrealized rather than completive and incompletive categories. Clearly presented and substantially documented, the material in this book makes a significant and original contribution to the study of Japanese linguistics.
Publication Date: 2007
A Reference Grammar of Classical Japanese Prose by Alexander VovinThis work is the first complete description of the language of the golden Heian period (794-1185) to be published in English. It presents an innovative morphological analysis arranged so as to facilitate reference usage and at long last provides a comprehensive reference work for learners and advanced students of classical Japanese. Each linguistic aspect and function, from particles to verb forms, is described in full and illustrated with copious examples. Free of linguistic jargon, the book is accessible not only to students of the language, but also to specialists in literature, history and culture. It features introductory sections on the historical and literary background, and on writing and phonology, a cross-referenced appendix of classical Japanese verb forms, and a detailed index.
Location: Asian ARC Stacks PL525.3 .V68 2003
Publication Date: 2002
A Guide to Reading and Writing Japanese: a comprehensive guide to the Japanese writing system by Florence Sakade; Janet Ikeda (Revised by)This is an essential study tool for students seeking to learn Japanese and dramatically improve their kanji and kana. Students have been reading and writing Japanese for centuries, and they build their knowledge most successfully when they rely on a trusted resource. Today's most trusted--and readily available--resource is A Guide to Reading and Writing Japanese. This classic, best-selling learning and reference work, trusted by beginning and intermediate students learning Japanese since 1959, is now being offered as a fourth edition and is thoroughly revised and up-to-date. Having a knowledge of the full set of General Use characters, which this guide includes, will allow reading of any Japanese newspaper with ease and confidence. Key features on this revised edition include: The most recent changes prescribed by the Japanese Ministry of Education. Covers all the 2,136 characters in the 'General Use' / Joyo Kanji set. Detailing coverage of the 1,009 'Essential' Japanese characters arranged by grade for children in the first six years of grade school. The Kanji characters based more on their frequency in everyday language than the complexity of their composition.
Publication Date: 2014
Japanese Kanji Power by John MillenJapanese Kanji Power is a workbook for mastering Japanese characters (Kanji) with the added power of a dictionary. This resource is essential for the serious student looking to get an A in Kanji class or the language enthusiast ready to take written Japanese to the next level. This new expanded edition teaches all 464 essential Kanji required for Levels 4 and 5 of the new Japanese Language Proficiency Test and the AP Japanese Language exam. Each Kanji is presented with the information needed to learn and remember the character and its many variations and uses. Cumulative exercises allow students to practice the Kanji and strengthen existing knowledge. An indexing feature allows Japanese Kanji Power to function as a Kanji dictionary. The presentation of each Kanji incorporates a number of key features, including: Several example sentences that introduce each kanji reading in context A list of frequently-used compounds and phrases that allows you to increase your practical vocabulary Background information, such as the original of the character of a mnemonic to aid in memorization Stroke count and a stroke-order diagram Writing hints and a writing practice grid Numerous exercises and frequent reviews for reinforcement
Publication Date: 2014
Let's Learn Japanese with Hiragana and Katakana by Masumi KaiThis book aims to teach Japanese characters step by step, whilst also simultaneously highlighting vocabulary needed by beginners. Each word comes with an illustration to facilitate the reader's visual learning. The book also contains information on how to write a sentence by using the characters and vocabulary presented to the reader and contains exercises that teachers can use as homework.
Publication Date: 2013
Japanese Katakana for Beginners by Timothy G. StoutThis is a user-friendly guide to learning Japanese Katakana and includes a set of 46 flash cards Japanese Katakana for Beginners makes learning of katakana fast and effective by using memorable picture mnemonics, along with clear explanations, examples and lots of fun exercises;a method that has helped thousands of students lean katakana successfully in the United States and Japan. Picture mnemonics enhance memory by associating the shape and sound of each katakana character with combinations of images and English words already familiar to students. This book is organized into three main sections: The first introduces the basic 46 katakana characters along with writing tips and opportunities to practice writing them.