Tuttle Mini Japanese Dictionary by Yuki Shimada (Compiled by); Taeko Takeyama (Revised by)This is a completely up-to-date Japanese mini dictionary. Tuttle Mini Japanese Dictionary is ideal for any application where a handy and portable dictionary is required. Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to Japan who wish to learn Japanese prior to their trip or as a Japanese language study reference. Mini Japanese Dictionary is an essential tool for communicating in Japanese. It's useful pocket-sized format and easy-to read type will make translating Japanese much easier. In addition to being an excellent English to Japanese dictionary and Japanese to English dictionary Mini Japanese Dictionary contains important notes on the Japanese language, Japanese grammar and Japanese pronunciation. All Japanese words are written in a Romanized form as well as Japanese script (kanji and kana) so that in the case of difficulties the book can simply be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. This mini dictionary contains the following essential features: Bidirectional Japanese-English and English-Japanese. Over 13,000 essential Japanese words, as well as useful Japanese expressions and idioms. Headwords printed in blue for quick and easy reference. A basic overview of Japanese grammar and pronunciation. All the latest Japanese social media and computer terms.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PL679 .K388 1980 )
Publication Date: 1980
Kodansha's Communicative English-Japanese Dictionary by Peter Sharpe; Michael Staley (Editor); Keiko Yoshida (Editor)Long awaited, Kodansha's Communicative English-Japanese Dictionary is the result of 15 years of research and development. With over 22,000 entries and 19,000 example sentences and phrases, it is by far the most comprehensive and practical dictionary of its kind. Within the pages of this book are most of the words needed for ordinary and even sophisticated conversation. That is because great care has gone into the selection of the entry words and their meanings. This dictionary contains not only high-frequency English words with full Japanese equivalents, but also a number of technical terms, buzz words, and vocabulary related to Japanese culture. It also presents a large number of interjections, idioms, and phrasal verbsthe words/phrases at the very heart of the English language. More importantly, The Communicative strives to present only natural Japanese equivalents. The Japanese language in it, therefore, ranges from colloquial to formal, masculine to feminine, and humble to polite. Most of the equivalents are readily usable in everyday speech, making the book extremely useful as a tool for conversation. This dictionary also features furigana superscript. Furigana is the small script that appears above the kanji characters, indicating their pronunciation. Furigana is made up of hiragana, the basic Japanese syllabary, which most people learn in the first two weeks of studying Japanese. Thus, anyone who can read hiragana can use this book even if they do not know a single kanji character. Also included are 27 illustrations of items with parts labeled, a map of Japan, special entries on Japanese usage, and appendixes explaining the various forms of Japanese verbs and other grammar points.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PE1130.J3 S43 2006 )
Publication Date: 2006
The Oxford-Duden Pictorial Japanese and English Dictionary by Oxford (Editor)The Oxford-Duden Pictorial dictionaries are unique: in this paperback edition, over 28,000 objects are identified by means of numbered illustrations, offering at a glance their Japanese and English terms. Subjects are organized thematically, enabling the user to grasp the entire vacabularyrelevant to a given situation or context.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PL676 .O9 1997 )
Publication Date: 1997
The New Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary by John H. Haig; Dept. of East Asian Languages and Literatures, Unive (Revised by); Andrew N. Nelson"Unexcelled as a dictionary of basic Sino-Japanese characters. Extremely easy to use."--Japan Society This is the utmost classic and well regarded standard Japanese Kanji Dictionary available today. TheNew Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary is a complete revision ofThe Original Reader's Japanese-English Character Dictionary, published by Charles E. Tuttle Company in 1962. Long the foremost Japanese-English character dictionary, adopted by Japanese-study programs around the world and used at all levels of Japanese language study, the Nelson, as it is familiarly called, has been enhanced in this edition with several key changes. The Universal Radical Index, an important advance on the traditional character indices, has been created as a handy appendix that enables users to search for any main-entry character's reference number in Morohashi'sDai Kanwa Jiten. Over 1,200 characters have been added and more than 2,000 newon-kun entries included. Definitions have been modernized to reflect current usage and translation. Updated with additional characters, contemporary definitions, and an innovative radical index system, this revised editions sets new standards of excellence, easy-of-use, and reliability for Japanese language reference tools. This edition keeps pace with the evolution of the Japanese language and remains an indispensable tool for students and scholars of Japanese
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PL679 .H33 1997 )
Publication Date: 1997
The Kanji Dictionary = 漢字熟語字典 Kanji jukugo jiten by Wolfgang Hadamitzky; Mark SpahnThe acknowledged authority on Japanese Kanji,The Kanji Dicitonary makes written Japanese more accessible than ever before and is an absolutely vital tool for anyone seeking to learn Japanese at an intermediate or advanced level. This is the onlykanji dictionary of its kind to employ a revolutionary multiple-reference compound system. Everykanji compound, a word or phrase made up of two or more characters, is listed under each of its components characters. This unique, time-saving feature makes finding compounds fast and easy. Entries are arranged according to a radical based reference system, similar to that used in most other dictionaries, but is has been simplified to make it easier to learn and use. Also, the comprehensiveon/kun readings index and handy radical "overview lists" provide further means to find an entry. The focus of this reference work iskanji compounds, and the more than 47,000 entries in the main text include the most common and most important terms and expressions currently in use. The addition of newly coined terms, particularly those in new technical fields, is another key feature. Features over 47,000 entries with an emphasis on current expressions. Arranged for search from anykanji in a compound. Contains a completeon/kun (Chinese/Japanese) reading index. Includes and easy-to-use radical guide. Provides appendices of counters, historical periods, common Japanese surnames, etc.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL677.5 .S625 1996
Publication Date: 1996
JapanKnowledgeJapanKnowledge is an extensive database, mostly in Japanese, with information about Japanese language, culture, history, and more. It Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, ebooks, news articles, and multimedia.