Related Guides
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
- Museum of Fine Arts, Boston The MFA’s Asian art collection reflects the creative achievements of artists on the continent of Asia from 4000 BCE to the present. The collection of more than 115,000 objects includes works from Japan, China, Korea, South and Southeast Asia, and the Islamic world.
Arts of Japan
The MFA's holdings of Japanese art make up the most comprehensive collection outside of Japan. Over 160 of the Museum's woodblock prints, sculptures, plus a representative selection of postcards, textiles, ceramics, lacquer wares, sword-fittings and other decorative arts are illustrated and discussed.
Location: Mugar Stacks N7352 .M874 2008.
Other Image Collections
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Meiji Japan (AM Explorer) Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925) was a great polymath – notable for his work in natural history, ethnography and art history – but, perhaps most famous for his work in bringing Japan and the West closer together.
- eMuseum: National Treasures and Important Cultural Properties This site provides high-definition images of the National Treasures and Important Cultural Properties owned by the Tokyo National Museum, Kyoto National Museum, Nara National Museum, Kyushu National Museum and the Nara National Research Institute for Cultural Properties aligned under the National Institutes for Cultural Heritage, together with their descriptions in multiple languages (Japanese, English, Chinese and Korean).
- Asian Art Museum, San Francisco Home to one of the world’s finest collections of Asian art, boasting more than 18,000 awe-inspiring artworks ranging from ancient jades and ceramics to contemporary video installations. The Asian Art Museum celebrates, preserves, and promotes Asian and Asian-American art and cultures for local and global audiences.
- Peabody Essex Museum: Japanese Art, Salem, MA PEM’s remarkably long relationship with Japan extends back more than 200 years. With its holdings of everyday objects complemented by significant examples of the fine arts, the museum’s Japanese collection is distinguished for its range, from paintings and sculpture to decorative arts, costumes, and textiles. Spanning Hokkaido in the north to Okinawa in the south, and prehistoric periods to the present, these objects illuminate the country's varied artistic and cultural traditions.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York The Metropolitan Museum of Art collects, studies, conserves, and presents significant works of art across all times and cultures in order to connect people to creativity, knowledge, and ideas.
- Online Museum Educational Resources in Asian Art: Japan (Columbia University) OMuERAA (Online Museum EDUCATIONAL Resources in Asian Art) is an initiative of the Asia for Educators Program at Columbia University's Weatherhead East Asian Institute.
- Ukiyo-e Search The Ukiyo-e.org database and image similarity analysis engine, created by John Resig to aide researchers in the study of Japanese woodblock prints, was launched in December 2012. The database currently contains over 213,000 prints from 24 institutions.
